screenrant.com

What Time Does The X-Men Dark Phoenix Trailer Release Tonight?

Update: Watch the first X-Men: Dark Phoenix trailer now!

The Dark Phoenix trailer is coming tonight - Wednesday, September 26 - but what time exactly can you expect it to release? The next (and possibly final) entry in Fox's X-Men series, Dark Phoenix will readapt the iconic comic storyline first seen on the big screen in X-Men: The Last Stand, centering on the growing power of Sophie Turner's Jean Grey. Being such a major arc, fans are naturally hungry for a trailer.

X-Men: Dark Phoenix (now known as just Dark Phoenix in the US) was originally meant to release November 2018, but was pushed back to February 2019 to allow for logistically tricky reshoots. That means the wait for the trailer has been particularly long (with some wildly incorrect rumors suggesting it was going to be pulled from the slate entirely). Now, though, it's finally confirmed to be coming very soon.

Related: X-Men: Dark Phoenix Reshoots: What's Really Going On

After a version of the Dark Phoenix trailer screened at a Russian event last weekend, a new trailer has been officially confirmed to drop on Wednesday's The Late Late Show during a Sophie Turner appearance. The Late Late Show starts at 9:37pm PST/12:37am EST/5:37am BST on CBS and runs for an hour. It's hard to pinpoint when exactly due to the structure of James Corden's show, but it will likely be midway through. This means we can expect the Dark Phoenix trailer to release around 10:00pm PST/1:00am EST/6:00am BST.

While trailers dropping on a late night show isn't unheard of - Jimmy Kimmel has debuted more than a few MCU movie trailers - it's a rarity on Corden's show. This is doubly unexpected given that CBS and Fox are independent companies, so there's no cross-branding advantage (as there is with the Disney-owned ABC premiering Marvel first looks). Still, it's happened, and so X-Men fans are likely setting their alarms for the drop.

As for what we can expect, we do have some information to go on. the Russian Dark Phoenix trailer leaked online yesterday, although whether it's representative of the English-language release is unclear. More officially, before that release date move, an EW cover story in late 2017 provided photos and information on the film's story. From that, we can glean certain big plot points sure to be teased - Jean's emergent Phoenix powers, a 1990s setting, as well as a mysterious funeral (possibly for Jean herself). The big questions will center on Jessica Chastain, whose character has been a long-standing mystery. There are also rumors that the mutant haven of Genosha will play a part, led by a reformed Magneto.

Whatever the Dark Phoenix trailer brings, Screen Rant will be here to provide you with a first look, as well as an in-depth breakdown of all the reveals.

Next: X-Men: Dark Phoenix: Every Update You Need To Know

Key Release Dates
  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019) release date: Jun 07, 2019
  • New Mutants (2020) release date: Apr 03, 2020
Star Wars 9 George Lucas Luke Skywalker R2-D2
Star Wars 9 Should End With George Lucas’ Original R2-D2 Twist

More in SR Originals