We’re less than two months away from the home video release of the most successful superhero film of all-time and in anticipation of The Avengers coming to a home theater near you, Disney has released several key clips from the film. Three highlight a key moment of the film, relating to the heroes coming together to work as a team, with the fourth clip coming from after the credits began to roll.

We’re of course referring to the infamous mid-credits button for The Avengers which confirms the long-rumored appearance of Thanos and teases Phase Two of the Marvel cinematic universe.

Avid fans will recognize the first three clips as big areas of focus for the pre-release marketing. Parts of these scenes made up the most impactful moments of The Avengers trailer, specifically seeing the entire team together and the confrontation between Robert Downey Jr.’s Tony Stark and Tom Hiddleston’s Loki.

Listing The Avengers Roster

Suiting up as Heroes

The Hulk Just in Time

Working Together

Captain America takes command of The Avengers

Courting Death and Teasing the Future

Item 47

The last scene is from the Item 47 short film that screened during Comic-Con 2012 and that will come with the Blu-ray.

This marks the first official release of the post-credits scene featuring Thanos. Why highlight a character who doesn’t utter a single word in the film for the home video release? Because he’s a big part of the upcoming Phase Two of the Marvel cinematic universe. He’ll likely be the villain of Guardians of the Galaxy, and could potentially show up in Thor: The Dark World before that, and The Avengers 2 after.

If you’re interested in purchasing The Avengers on home video, it’s releasing in four difference versions, including DVD, Blu-ray combo packs, and of course, the 10-disc Phase One collection – featuring all six Marvel Studios movies to date. Artwork from the disc sleeves from the 10-disc set can be seen below. The Avengers releases on home video September 25th.

The Avengers is directed by Joss Whedon and stars Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Jeremy Renner, Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson, Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, Clark Gregg, Cobie Smulders, Stellan Skarsgård, Gwyneth Paltrow and Paul Bettany.

Iron Man 3 releases May 3, 2013, Thor: The Dark World on November 8, 2013, Captain America: The Winter Soldier on April 4, 2014 and Guardians of the Galaxy on August 1, 2014.

Follow Rob on Twitter @rob_keyes.

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos