9What are the Infinity Stones?

Benicio del Toro as The Collector with Infinity Stones

The Infinity Stones are the actual source of the Infinity Gauntlet’s power, with each possessing considerable power on their own. With all six gems combined using the Infinity Gauntlet, the wearer possesses near unlimited abilities within the universe that the gems were created in (more on this


The Infinity Stones are also known as the Infinity Gems in the comics, and are sometimes referred to as the “Soul Gems,” but in the MCU they are being referred to as “Stones,” so that’s how we’ll refer to them going forward in order to avoid confusion.

Each Infinity Stone has its own specialization:

Space Stone: Provides the ability to travel through space via teleportation and can interfere with the motion of objects.

Mind Stone: Near limitless psionic/psychic abilities, including telepathy and telekinesis.

Soul Stone: Allows the user to attack or steal another’s soul and can be used to revert an individual to their natural state.

Time Stone: The ability to time travel, slow down or speed up the flow of time, and even slow or accelerate aging. Also allows sight into the future.

Reality Stone: Ability to alter all of reality.

Power Stone: Gives the user the ability to manipulate energy, as well as enhancing strength and durability. It can also enhance any superhuman power one already has.

Together these stones mean a bad time for whoever doesn’t possess them, especially if/when Thanos gets his hands on them. And in case you haven't been paying attention, we’ve already seen a few of these stones on the big screen.

Thor's Vision of the Infinity Stones
Next 8 Infinity Stones in the MCU

More in Lists