X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)

X-Men: Apocalypse Poster Art from Comic-Con 2015
Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Release Date
Bryan Singer
Written by
Michael Fassbender, Evan Peters, Jennifer Lawrence, James McAvoy, Nicholas Hoult, Rose Byrne, Olivia Munn, Oscar Isaac, Tye Sheridan, Sophie Turner, Stan Lee, Josh Helman, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Alexandra Shipp, Lucas Till
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


Worshipped as a god since the dawn of time, the original mutant En Sabah Nur becomes immortal as he gathers the powers of other mutants and awakens after thousands of years in the 1980s. Unimpressed with the state of the world, he gathers a new Four Horsemen (Angel, Magneto, Psylocke, and Storm) to cleanse the world of the weak and lead it. It's up to the surviving First Class of X-Men and new recruits, led by Raven (Jennifer Lawrence) and Professor X (James McAvoy), to save mankind from Apocalypse.

An ancient and very powerful mutant has awakened and wants to rule the world. En Sabah Nur ruled Egypt in the olden times until some of his worshippers decided to put an end to his rule. After being awakened in 1983 he sees the many changes and does not like that normal humans are ruling the world and mutants are in hiding. He recruits Storm, Psylocke, Angel and Magneto to serve as his four horsemen in his plans to cleanse the world of human which he considers inferior.

X-Men: Apocalypse is the sequel to X-Men: Days of Future Past where a new batch of Marvel Cinematic Universe X-Men were introduced to play the younger selves of the character introduced in 2000, for the first trilogy of the franchise. The film served as a reset to the story viewers have previously known to welcome a retelling of the X-Men adventures.

Actors James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Nicholas Hoult, Lucas Till and Josh Helman reprise their roles as Professor Charles Xavier, Magneto, Beast, Havok and Col. William Stryker respectively. Actresses Jennifer Lawrence and Rose Byrne reprise their roles as Mystique and Moira Mactaggert as well.

Actor Oscar Isaac plays the main villain En Sabah Nur, also known as the ancient mutant Apocalypse. Introduced in the film are Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan, Kodi  Smit-McPhee, Ben Hardy, Alexandra Shipp and Olivia Munn as Jean Grey, Cyclops, Nightcrawler, Angel, Storm and Psylocke respectively.

The film was made under the direction of Bryan Singer who developed the story alongside Bryan Singer, Simon Kinberg, Michael Doughtery and Dan Harris. Sreenplay was written by Simon Kinberg. Another sequel is in the works titled, X-Men: Dark Phoenix which will deal largely on how the group will deal with the transition to the dark side of their very own, Jean Grey.

X-Men: Dark Phoenix is scheduled to debut on the big screen on November 2, 2018.