The Avengers (2012)

avengers movie official poster
Release Date
Joss Whedon
Written by
Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Paul Bettany, Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Stellan Skarsgard, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Evans, Cobie Smulders, Samuel L. Jackson, Mark Ruffalo, Jeremy Renner, Clark Gregg
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


When the Tesseract, a cube of pure energy with the power to destroy the Earth, is stolen by the nefarious God of Mischief, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), S.H.I.E.L.D. leader Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) embarks on a daring recruitment effort spanning the globe to assemble a team of the world's most powerful superheroes to get it back.

Captain America (Chris Evans), Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) and The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo) are brought together to stop Loki. But unfortunately, it'll take more than just assembling them to save the world from the brink of destruction. First they'll have to learn to work together as a team, despite their individual struggles—like Captain America learning to adjust to life in the 21st century after being frozen for 70 years, Thor's internal conflict about fighting his evil brother, Loki, and Bruce Banner, who is trying to keep his raging alter ego under control.

Iron Man is Tony Stark, a billionaire genius philanthropist with no superpowers but uses technology turn himself into a war machine.

Captain America is Steve Rogers, a preserved American soldier who fought during the World War II and became part of an experiment that gave him superhuman strength.

Thor is the prince of Asgard, a god based on the Norse mythology with a hammer and control over lightning. 

Black Widow, whose name is Nataha Romanoff, is a superspy and expert combatant.

Hawkeye's real name is Clint Barton; he does not possess superhuman powers, but he is a master archer whose skills using a special bow and arrow earned him his nickname.

Other characters include Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg), Agent Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders), Erik Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard), Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow), and Jarvis (voiced by Paul Bettany).

The second installment, Avengers: Age of Ultron was released in 2015 and the third installment, Avengers: Infinity War is set for theatrical released in 2018.