Suicide Squad (2016)

Suicide Squad Poster Joker and Task Force X
Release Date
David Ayer
Written by
Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Will Smith, Joel Kinnaman, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto, Cara Delevingne
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


In Suicide Squad, a government agency recruits some of the deadliest villains in DC Comics lore to embark on dangerous missions.

The 2016 movie features the ensemble of antiheroes commissioned by a secret
government agency to save the world from a supernatural ancient threat. David Ayer both wrote and directed the movie.

The Suicide Squad team is made up of villains, captured and kept in a secret prison, offered reduced sentences if they participate in dangerous missions. In the tradition of continuity within DCEU films, the event comes in the wake of Superman's death and the seclusion of Batman after the events that occurred in Batman V Superman.

Agency head Amanda Waller, played by award-winning actress Viola Davis, is the one striking deals with the inmates of Belle Reve Prison. Heading “Task Force X” is Joel Kinnaman’s Rick Flag, alongside actor Will Smith’s Deadshot, actress Margot Robbie’s Harley Quinn, actor Jai Courtney’s Captain Boomerang, actor Jay Hernandez’s El Diablo, actor Adewale Akinnuoye’s Killer Croc, and Adam Beach’s Slipknot. Actress Karen Fukuhara’s Katana also joins the mission to keep Rick safe from the villains. Actor Jared Leto’s Joker also appears, as does Cara Delevingne’s Enchantress.

Actor Ben Affleck’s Batman also appears briefly in the closing credits of the film as a teaser to DCEU’s upcoming Justice League.