The Lord Of The Rings

Not Yet Rated
Peter Jackson
Ian McKellen, Andy Serkis, Elijah Wood, Viggo Mortensen, Sean Astin
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


The Lord of the Rings film series is based on J.R.R. Tolkien's novels. The film series is made up of three sequels titled The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001), The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002) and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003).

It was director and co-writer Peter Jackson who initiated the making of the trilogy after watching the novel’s 1978 animated film adaptation also titled, The Lord of the Rings. He went on to write the screenplay together with Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens. Stephen Sinclair joined them for the second installment.

The events take place in a fictional place called Middle-earth. The story follows the quest of the hobbit Frodo Baggins (Elijah Wood) to destroy One Ring. Destruction of the ring would also destroy its creator, the Dark Lord Sauron (Sala Baker). Joining him in his quest are his friends Sam (Sean Astin), Merry (Dominic Monaghan), Pippin (Billy Boyd), Gandalf (Ian McKellen), Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen), Gimli (John Rhys-Davies), Legolas (Orlando Bloom) and the treacherous Gollum (voiced by Andy Serkis). The One Ring was given to Frodo by his uncle Bilbo, and the only way to destroy it is to throw it into the fires of Mount Doom. 

All three instalments are in the Top 100 Highest Grossing Films of All Times, according to the Box Office Mojo. It is also one of the most nominated and most awarded film series in history. The final installment, subtitled The Return of the King, won 11 out of 11 nominations in the Academy Awards 2004 and 4 out of 4 nominations in the Golden Globes 2004.