Harry Potter

Not Yet Rated
Emma Watson, Danielle Radcliffe, Rupert Grint
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


British author J.K. Rowling’s fictional world of wizardry comes to life with the movie adaptation of her best-selling Harry Potter series. The book series is made up of seven novels and the movie is made up of eight installations. All books were brought to life on the big screen with the last novel divided into two movies.

The story follows the adventure of titular character as he discovers a world of magic he never imagined he was part of. In the fictional world of Harry Potter, wizards live among non-magical humans who they refer to as “muggles.” Even more surprising than discovering the world of magic is discovering how popular he is in that world. He is the sole survivor of an attack done by a much feared wizard because of a magic his mother and father covered him with before they died.

Harry Potter is portrayed by actor Daniel Radcliffe, and his best friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley are portrayed by Emma Watson and Rupert Grint respectively. They are his main allies together with Hagrid (Robbie Coltrane), Albus Dumbledore (Richard Harris, and later Michael Gambon) and Professor McGonagall (Maggie Smith). 

Harry’s parents James (Adrian Rawlins) and Lilly (Geraldine Somerville) were considered two of the greatest wizards when they were alive. A power-hungry wizard named Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) received prophecy that a child born on July 31, 1980, the same date Harry was born, will eventually defeat him. He sought every child born on that day and successfully killed all except Harry.

Despite dark forces working against him and the doubt of some wizards about his capacity, Harry proved he is more than just the “boy who lived.” Creator Rowling was a consultant for all the movies made and while cinematic adaptations require an amount of deviation from written source materials, the movie is very much the world the author created.