Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

Captain America First Avenger Poster Chris Evans
Action, Sci-Fi, Adventure
Release Date
Joe Johnston
Written by
Chris Evans, Samuel L. Jackson, Hayley Atwell, Sebastian Stan, Richard Armitage, Hugo Weaving, Stanley Tucci, Dominic Cooper, Tommy Lee Jones, Toby Jones, Neal McDonough
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


Rejected military soldier Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) transforms into superhero Captain America after taking "Super Soldier Serum" in a military experiment. Becoming Captain America and joining World War II comes at a cost, as Rogers tries to take down the HYDRA terrorist organization.

Captain America: The First Avenger is the fifth movie released as part of Marvel Cinematic Universe’s (MCU) Phase 1 Timeline. The movie was released on July 22, 2011 and follows the journey of Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) to becoming Captain America, the first of the Avengers.

The origin of Captain America starts during World War II, when he is initially rejected by the military recruitment because of his frail physical appearance and various health problems. However, he has a relentless heart that wants to serve the nation. Dr. Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci) knew of this and convinces Colonel Chester Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones) that Steve is the right candidate for the super-soldier experiment.

The procedure changes Steve’s physical appearance and gives him super strength. With a costume patterned to America’s flag colors, Steve becomes known as Captain America goes on a tour to promote war bonds.

When news about his friend, James Buchanan ‘Bucky’ Barnes’ (Sebastian Stan) death during a battle reaches him, he asks for the help of Agent Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell) and engineer Howard Stark to search for him.

He finds Barnes and enlists his help along with other soldiers Dum Dum Dugan (Neal McDonough), Gabe Jones (Derek Luke), Jim Morita (Kenneth Choi), James Montgomery Falsworth (JJ Field) and Jacques Dernier (Bruno Ricci) to destroy known HYDRA bases. Howard creates a vibranium shield for him which becomes his signature weapon. Barnes, however, falls to his death in the course of a mission.

The Tesseract which is also a part of subplots on Iron Man, The Avengers, Thor, Guardians of the Galaxy and other Marvel movie franchises is also featured in the film.

Captain America: The First Avenger has two sequels as of this writing. Captain America: The Winter Soldier shown in 2014 and Captain America: Civil War shown in 2016. Steve is also part of three Avengers movies, Marvel’s The Avengers (2012), Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) and the upcoming Avengers: Infinity War scheduled for release in 2018.