Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Captain America Civil War Divided We Fall Poster Robert Downey Jr
Action, Thriller, Sci-Fi
Release Date
Anthony Russo, Joe Russo
Written by
Robert Downey Jr., Paul Bettany, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Evans, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Martin Freeman, William Hurt, Paul Rudd, Elizabeth Olsen, Emily VanCamp, Frank Grillo, Chadwick Boseman, Daniel Bruhl, Tom Holland
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


This third Captain America film adapts the "Civil War" storyline from Marvel Comics, and sees Steve Rogers and Tony Stark at an impasse over who governs super heroes and how. Captain America: Civil War pits two teams of Avengers against one another and introduces new superheroes Black Panther and Spider-Man.

The divide between the two perceived leaders of the Avengers caused the other members to choose sides. It all started when the UN decided to take control of the superheroes’ involvement in fighting crimes. Steve disagreed with the UN’s proposal while Tony supported the decision. Things turn for the worst when Steve’s friend Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan), also known as the Winter Soldier, becomes the prime suspect in a terrorist bombing.

On Iron Man’s side are Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), War Machine (Don Cheadle) and Vision (Paul Bettany). Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman) joined their side and Tony recruited Spider-Man (Tom Holland). On Captain America’s side are Falcon (Anthony Mackie), Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) and Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen). Bucky also fought alongside them, as did Ant-Man (Paul Rudd) who Falcon recruited.

A short-lived reconciliation happened between Tony and Steve until the former discovered a secret about his past that the latter knew of for some time. The movie ended with Captain America leaving his shield embedded in the Iron Man armor. 

Brothers Anthony and Joe Russo directed the film with screenplay written by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely. Captain America: Civil War is the third installment of the Captain America franchise, and the 13th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), released on May 6, 2016.

In the post credit scenes, it is shown that Winter Soldier will be kept in a high-grade facility owned by Black Panther in Wakanda. Captain America, Iron Man and the rest of the Avengers will soon be seen in Avengers: Infinity War to be shown in May 2018.