Battlestar Galactica (2004 - 2009)

Battlestar Galactica poster
Action, Drama, Adventure
Glen A. Larson, Ronald D. Moore
Katee Sackhoff, Alessandro Juliani, Edward James Olmos, Mary McDonnell, Jamie Bamber, James Callis, Tricia Helfer, Grace Park, Michael Hogan, Aaron Douglas, Tahmoh Penikett, Kandyse McClure
  • Latest News
  • Synopsis


When an old enemy, the Cylons, resurface and obliterate the 12 colonies, the crew of the aged Galactica protect a small civilian fleet - the last of humanity - as they journey toward the fabled 13th colony, Earth.

The 2004 science fiction TV series Battlestar Galactica is a reimagining of the 1978 series of the same title. Created by Glen A. Larson, the original Battlestar Galactica features a fictional human civilization living in distant star system called the Twelve Colonies. They are in constant battle against a cybernetic race called the Cylons, who wants to exterminate the human race. A massive attack was launched and only those who made it onboard the Battlestar Galactica and its fleet survive. They navigate space in search for the mythical 13th colony, called Earth. Battlestar Galactica is under the command of President Laura Roslin (Mary McDonnell) and Colonial Fleet Officer, Admiral William Adama (Edward James Olmos).

The 2004 series was developed by Ronald D. Moore, who also serve as it co-executive producer alongside David Eick.

The origins of Cylons differ in the two series. In the original version of the show, they are depicted as creation of an advanced reptilian race that are at odds with the human race. In the remake, they were created by humans to serve as workers and soldiers. They eventually develop an advanced artificial intelligence who wants to rule over the galaxies. One of the main characters,  Dr. Gauis Baltazar (James Callis) was seduced into giving information about the security system of the Twelve Colonies, giving the Cylons access to the system’s defenses.

Battlestar Galactica ran for four seasons, premiering on  October 18, 2004 and ending on March 20, 2009.