Suicide Squad: Original Soundtrack List Released

Suicide Squad IMAX poster and banner

With its nationwide release just a week away, we're in the midst of the final promotional push for Suicide Squad. Already an almost ridiculous level of hype surrounds the film, grown primarily out of its frenetic and fun trailers - each paired with a catchy pop tune, be it "I Started A Joke", "Bohemian Rhapsody" or "Ballroom Blitz". The choice of music for these trailers has undoubtedly played a large role in ramping up excitement, but will that enthusiasm carry over into the actual film?

As good as it is, the music heard in the trailers is not the music audiences will hear while watching Suicide Squad, though the film will likely feature a mix of pop songs and orchestral score. A couple of the songs from the tie-in album have been released ahead of the film's opening, like Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa and Imagine Dragons's "Sucker for Pain" (which also came with a music video) and Skrillex and Rick Ross' "Purple Lamborghini". Though, as is often the case with tie-in pop songs, it's unclear whether they'll be heard in the film itself or just over the credits.

Instead, the majority of the music accompanying Suicide Squad will be the score from composer Steven Price (Gravity, Fury). We heard a preview track from his Suicide Squad score yesterday, and now the full track list has been (officially) released. Take a look, below:

Suicide Squad Score Soundtrack Steven Price

1. Task Force X

2. Arkham Asylum

3. I’m Going To Figure This Out

4. You Make My Teeth Hurt

5. I Want To Assemble A Task Force

6. Brother Our Time Has Come

7. A Serial Killer Who Takes Credit Cards

8. A Killer App

9. That’s How I Cut and Run

10. We Got A Job To Do

11. You Die We Die

12. Harley and Joker

13. This Bird Is Baked

14. Hey Craziness

15. You Need a Miracle

16. Diablo’s Story

17. The Squad

18. Are We Friends Or Are We Foes?

19. She’s Behind You

20. One Bullet Is All I Need

21. I Thought I’d Killed You

22. The Worst Of The Worst

23. June Moone *

24. Did That Tickle? *

25. You Know The Rules Hotness *

26. Enchantress In The War Room *

27. Introducing Diablo and Croc *

28. Task Force X Activated *

29. Can Everyone See This Trippy Stuff? *

30. I Promised My Friends *

(* Available on digital configurations only)

There was a leaked tracklist earlier for Price's Suicide Squad score, and for the most part it appears as if that info was right on the money. Scanning through the names of each track, fans can begin extrapolating what moments likely occur to which tune - "Arkham Asylum" is likely a look at the famed institution, possibly revealing the Joker in custody there; "I Want to Assemble a Task Force" probably comes around the time Amanda Waller is explaining her plan behind the team; "Harley and Joker" - which itself previously leaked online - clearly comes when the two "elope", and so forth. The tracks with titles like "A Serial Killer Who Takes Credit Cards" and "This Bird Is Baked" are less clear, but will no doubt all make sense within the context of the film.

Suicide Squad Character Posters

Along with the official details on the score, Price also released a statement expressing how much enjoyed exploring theses characters and their weird world:

"David [Ayer]’s film invited me to find a way to bring all of these incredible misfit outsiders together as a united force, with a thematic score that goes from moments of quiet emotion to huge action sequences. The character’s themes interact and develop as the film progresses, and we witness the birth of the Suicide Squad. The score was a huge challenge, but a fantastic amount of fun to write!"

Even amidst a decidedly mixed response to Batman V Superman, its score has still been widely celebrated, with almost everyone enjoying what Hans Zimmer and Junkie XL crafted for Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman. Hopefully, Price continues that trend with Suicide Squad, and the themes we'll first hear in this movie carry over into all the subsequent appearances it's almost guaranteed these characters will make throughout DC's Extended Universe.

Suicide Squad is scheduled to arrive in theaters on August 5, 2016; Wonder Woman is slated for release on June 2, 2017; followed by Justice League on November 17, 2017; Aquaman on July 27, 2018; an untitled DC Film on October 5, 2018; Shazam on April 5, 2019; Justice League 2 on June 14, 2019; an untitled DC film on November 1, 2019; Cyborg on April 3, 2020; and Green Lantern Corps on July 24, 2020. The Flash is without release date.

Spider-Man Far From Home Mask
Spider-Man: Far From Home Is Sony’s Highest Grossing Film Ever

More in Movie News