Suicide Squad Movie Soundtrack Revealed

Suicide Squad (2016) movie preview

Warner Bros. launched the DC Comics Extended Universe earlier this year with Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice, which will soon hit home media with an extended cut that many fans are anticipating. But, the next big entry in the DCEU is David Ayer's Suicide Squad, which will move away from the heroes of the universe and fully engross fans in a team of villains. Or, rather, the Worst. Heroes. Ever.

As one of the major superhero blockbuster tentpoles of the year - and the last of the summer season, arriving after Captain America: Civil War and X-Men: Apocalypse - there are understandably plenty of tie-ins to the movie being released. Action figures, statues, LEGO sets, and a massive product line of merchandise from Warner Bros. themselves have already been announced. Now, we can add an official movie soundtrack to the list of related merchandise.

Amazon unveiled the track listing for Suicide Squad: The Album [h/t], which is currently available for pre-order with the expected release date the same as the film's. The soundtrack includes eight original songs from artists like twenty one pilots, Kehlani, Grimes, and Skylar Grey - as well as the song for which Skrillex and Rick Ross recorded a music video with Jared Leto dressed as the Joker: "Purple Lamborghini."

Suicide Squad movie characters - Harley Quinn

Take a look at the full track listing:

  1. Purple Lamborghini [Explicit] by Skrillex & Rick Ross
  2. Sucker For Pain (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors) [Explicit] by Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons
  3. Heathens by twenty one pilots
  4. Standing In The Rain (feat. Mark Ronson) [Explicit] by Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys)
  5. Gangsta [Explicit] by Kehlani
  6. Know Better [Explicit] by Kevin Gates
  7. You Don't Own Me (feat. G-Eazy) by Grace
  8. Without Me by Eminem
  9. Wreak Havoc by Skylar Grey
  10. Medieval Warfare by Grimes
  11. Bohemian Rhapsody by Panic! At The Disco
  12. Slippin' Into Darkness by War
  13. Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival
  14. I Started a Joke (feat. Becky Hanson) by ConfidentialMX

In addition to the new songs, Suicide Squad: The Album will include an officially released version of Panic! At The Disco's cover of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody," which the band has been known to play at their live concerts, as well as previously released tracks. It should be noted that certain non-original songs on the soundtrack, like Grace's "You Don't Own Me (feat. G-Eazy)" and ConfidentialMX's "I Started a Joke (feat. Becky Hanson)," were used in trailers for Suicide Squad.

Additionally, though Suicide Squad: The Album isn't expected to be released until August, twenty one pilots have debuted their song, "Heathens," on Spotify. It's unclear if any other original songs from the Suicide Squad movie soundtrack will be made available online ahead of the album's official release date later in the summer.

Suicide Squad Colorful Logo

Of course, while the soundtrack for Suicide Squad doesn't give away any plot details, music has been a talking point of the movie's marketing, with many fans praising the song choices of the trailers. In fact, rumors surfaced that the reshoots for Suicide Squad were at the request of Warner Bros. to lighten the tone in order to be more in line with the trailer that featured Queen's version of "Bohemian Rhapsody."

That being said, Ayer and co-star Jai Courtney (Captain Boomerang) both responded to the reshoots rumors by clarifying that they weren't attempting to add more humor and were instead shooting more action scenes. Certainly, the addition of Eminem's "Without Me" seems to hint at the more humorous tone of Suicide Squad - especially since the music video for "Without Me" featured the rapper and his frequent collaborator Dr. Dre dressing up as parodies of DC Comics heroes.

So, though Suicide Squad: The Album doesn't reveal much about the next entry to the DCEU, it does offer insight into the tone of the film, which seems to be in line with that of the trailers. Still, we'll need to wait until Suicide Squad is released to know for sure whether the movie will live up to the buzz surrounding it - though early reactions have ben positive.


Suicide Squad: The Album is expected to be released August 5th, 2016.

Suicide Squad opens in U.S. theaters on August 5, 2016, followed by Wonder Woman on June 2, 2017; Justice League on November 17, 2017; The Flash on March 16, 2018; Aquaman on July 27, 2018; an untitled DC Film on October 5, 2018; Shazam on April 5, 2019; Justice League Part Two on June 14, 2019; an untitled DC film on November 1, 2019; Cyborg on April 3, 2020; and Green Lantern Corps on July 24, 2020.

Source: Amazon [via], Spotify

Brightburn Star Believes Brandon Is Not Alone On Earth

More in Movie News