In the lead up to Star Wars: The Force Awakens, much of the focus has been on either the two young leads – the mysterious scavenger, Rey (Daisy Ridley) and renegade stormtrooper, Finn (John Boyega) – or returning franchise veterans Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, and Mark Hamill. But much like how those actors were a trio of heroes in the first Star Wars, Rey and Finn are joined by Oscar Isaac’s Poe Dameron, forming a new trio of heroes for a new generation.

Of that trio, only Isaac’s character has had his last name publicly revealed, while both Rey and Finn’s surnames remain under wraps until the film’s release. The name Dameron may not be nearly as significant or as telling as the others, but it does crop up in The Force Awakens lead-in comic, Shattered Empire. Taking place not long after the Battle of Endor, Shattered Empire follows Poe’s mother: Shara Bey, rebel pilot and wife of Kes Dameron. So while Dameron may not carry the same weight as a name like Solo or Skywalker, the family has been involved with the Rebellion, now the Resistance, for just as long.

Beyond his name and parentage, all we know about Poe is that he’s an ace pilot for the Resistance, leading an elite squadron of X-Wing as “Black Leader.” It’s because of his skill that he’s tasked with a special mission from a “certain princess,” which then presumably puts him on a collision course with Rey and Finn.

Fittingly, given his rank and likely his reputation within the Resistance, Poe has finally scored his own character poster. Check it out below:

Poe Dameron Character Poster Star Wars The Force Awakens Star Wars 7: Poe Dameron Character Poster & Finn Motion Poster

Yes, I can easily see this emblazoned with “Join the Resistance” or some such patriotic message. And in the absence of Rebel poster boy, Luke Skywalker, it’s interesting to imagine the Resistance needing to craft new idols to inspire the next generation of recruits. Dameron, with his lineage and skills could very well be filling that role in The Force Awakens.

Along with Poe Dameron’s first character poster, there’s also a new motion poster with Finn wielding the blue lightsaber. Take a look:

Not until The Force Awakens will we know how Finn lays hands on that lightsaber, but its legacy is obviously significant, belonging first to Anakin then Luke. In many ways, the Skywalker legacy is all over the film, even represented in the three main leads. Finn has the lightsaber, Rey (possibly) has Skywalker blood in her veins, and Poe’s inherited the mantle of being the Resistance’s best and most celebrated pilot.

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens hits theaters on December 18th, 2015, followed by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story on December 16th, 2016, Star Wars: Episode VIII on May 26th, 2017, and the Han Solo Star Wars Anthology film on May 25th, 2018. Star Wars: Episode IX is expected to reach theaters in 2019, followed by the third Star Wars Anthology film in 2020.

Source: Lucasfilm

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos