Star Wars: The Last Jedi Earns Critics' Choice Seal of Distinction

Star Wars: The Last Jedi has received the Critics' Choice Seal of Distinction. While blockbusters typically have trouble gaining traction on the awards circuit, the Star Wars franchise does have a long history of being award-winners as well as moneymakers. For instance, A New Hope was nominated for 10 Academy Awards (including Best Picture) and won six. This is an impressive achievement for any movie, let alone a work of science fiction, which traditionally performs poorly with professional critics and members of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The latest film in the Star Wars saga - The Last Jedi - seems poised to continue this tradition of award-winning excellence heading into its opening weekend. Reviews for the movie are largely positive, with the movie having earned a 93% fresh rating on Rotten Tomatoes. It also earned its first professional critical accolade on the morning of its official wide release in North America.

Related: Read Screen Rant's The Last Jedi Review

The Critics' Choice Awards announced today that The Last Jedi has been awarded the distinguished Critic's Choice Seal Of Distinction. You can check out their tweet with the announcement below:

The Critics' Choice Awards are presented yearly by the BTJA (Broadcast Television Journalists Association) and BFCA (Broadcast Film Critics Association) to honor artistic achievement in the fields of film and television. The BFCA is the largest professional critics' association in North America, made up of over 300 television, radio and Internet critics. Their sister organization, The BTJA, is made up of television, radio and Internet journalists who focus their reporting on television series.

It is worth mentioning that there is a difference between a Critics' Choice Award and the Critics' Choice Awards Seal of Distinction. The Seal Of Distinction is awarded in recognition of those movies which gain a significant percentage of positive reviews from the BFCA membership. The Critics' Choice Awards are presented once a year in early January and awarded to the finest films and television series, based on a secret vote among the BFCA and BTJA membership.

The Last Jedi failed to score any nominations for the 2018 Critics' Choice Awards, which were announced before the film screened for anybody. However, Star Wars fans should not lose hope that the latest film in the franchise will prove as worthy of professional accolades as its predecessors. Winning a Critics' Choice Awards Seal of Distinction is still a proud achievement. More importantly, it is seen by many Hollywood insiders as a good indication of an upcoming Academy Award nomination.

MORE: The Last Jedi Getting Full Oscar Campaign From Disney

Source: Critics Choice Awards 

Key Release Dates
  • Star Wars 8/Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017) release date: Dec 15, 2017
  • Star Wars 9 / Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019) release date: Dec 20, 2019
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018) release date: May 25, 2018
Rian Johnson Explains Why The Last Jedi Had to Go Beyond Lucas' Ideas

More in Movie News