Star Wars 7 Soundtrack Track List Reveals Potential Spoilers

Star Wars Episode 7 Fan Logo

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens has its official PG-13 rating, all of its official full-length trailers have debuted, and the official galactic map of the Star Wars universe has been updated and shared this morning to reveal the new planetary locations the film will introduce and explore. And since we're just a few weeks away from Star Wars 7's theatrical release, we now also have what appears to be the track list for the official soundtrack.

It was announced in 2013 that legendary and award-winning composer John Williams - who helped bring to life all of the Star Wars movies to date with their iconic themes and melodies - would be returning to help director J.J. Abrams on Star Wars 7. Williams revealed that this first chapter in the return of the Star Wars saga would absolutely feature some classic, recognizable themes so let's take a look at the track titles for a hint of what to expect.

The Force Awakens soundtrack releases the same day as the film, December 18th, and the track list doesn't appear anywhere, even where official pre-orders are concerned.  We only have it thanks to one Amazon listing that could be a slip-up on the seller's part. We figure its official listing is being held back as to not reveal any potential details or hints of the plot or structure of the movie - similar to how the official tie-in Star Wars 7 book was delayed until after the movie releases.

*Warning: If this article's title didn't give it away, major potential plot spoilers ahead.*




You've been warned.

Official Star Wars: Episode 7 - The Force Awakens Soundtrack

Here are the titles for the 23 tracks in the official Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens soundtrack by John Williams:

  1. Main title and the attack on the jakku village
  2. The scavenger
  3. I can fly anything
  4. Rey meets bb-8
  5. Follow me
  6. Rey's thème
  7. The falcon
  8. That girl with the staff
  9. The rathtars!
  10. Finn's confession
  11. Maz's counsel
  12. The starkiller
  13. Kylo ren arrives at the battle
  14. The abduction
  15. Han and leia
  16. March of the resistance
  17. Snoke
  18. On the inside
  19. Torn apart
  20. The ways of the force
  21. Scherzo for X-wings
  22. Farewell and the trip
  23. The jedi steps and finale

Whether or not this track list is authentic remains to be seen as it appears only on Amazon France. If it's not legitimate - similar to the totally made-up Finn action figure description that namedropped his father - this list at least is very believable. It matches our best estimations at piecing together the chronology of sequences in the film from the marketing material, and certainly meets the criteria of the spoilerly plot rumors that have leaked out throughout the year.

The earlier songs are clearly for the Jakku desert planet sequences, including when Rey, Finn, and BB-8 seemingly hijack the Millennium Falcon to escape TIE Fighters. We know Rey and Finn join up with Han Solo and Chewbacca and head to the planet Takodana to meet the 1000 year-old Maz Kanata (Lupita Nyong'o) to presumably learn more about Luke Skywalker's whereabouts (since Han Solo will will recognize the blue lightsaber that Finn and Rey have).

Finn (John Boyega) Wallpaper for Star Wars 7
Finn wields a very familiar weapon

We also know The First Order, the re-formed galactic empire, has a new, more devastating Death Star dubbed the Starkiller base - an icy planet that doubles as a weapon that can eliminate entire star systems. It's this planet featured on the Star Wars 7 poster and where we can see an X-Wing squadron battling TIE Fighters in the TV spots and trailers so we expect to see it introduced at least midway in the film. Our heroes meet-up with the Resistance (the new Rebel Alliance), where Han and Leia presumably having their emotional hug sequence (also in the trailers) and they all must form a plan to take out the Starkiller base, similar to the events of A New Hope and Return of the Jedi.

Supreme Leader Snoke (Andy Serkis), who seems to be the new trilogy's analog of Emperor Palpatine, might be introduced in the third act as a background character, and if the last few track titles are as revealing as they sound - after the final climactic battle, the heroes bid farewell and head to Luke's location to meet the old Jedi which seems to be - again matching early rumors - the very end of the film. Luke Skywalker has not been in any of the merchandise or marketing for Star Wars 7 so far and that's very intentional. He's back for Episode VIII though so the end of this movie might just be setting that up.

We'll know soon enough if this tracklist is correct but it certainly reads as if it is. Share your thoughts in the comments!

Next: George Lucas Explains "Break Up" With Star Wars Franchise

The film is directed by J.J. Abrams and stars Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Max Von Sydow. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk are producing with Tommy Harper and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers. The screenplay is by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt.

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens hits theaters on December 18th, 2015, followed by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story on December 16th, 2016, Star Wars: Episode VIII on May 26th, 2017, and the Han Solo Star Wars Anthology film on May 25th, 2018. Star Wars: Episode IX is expected to reach theaters in 2019, followed by the third Star Wars Anthology film in 2020.

Source: Amazon (via Stitch Kingdom)

James Gunn Suicide Squad
Suicide Squad 2 Set Photos: John Cena & Idris Elba Wear Prison Orange

More in Movie News