More Star Wars 7 Characters Join Disney Infinity 3.0

Disney Infinity Kylo Ren

With only two months to go until the release of Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens, anticipation for the film is at an all-time high. Disney has thrown the full weight of their marketing team behind the movie, releasing everything from a prequel comic series to an app-controlled miniature BB-8 - everyone's newest favorite droid.

Joining the ever-increasing list of Star Wars VII merchandise is the upcoming Disney Infinity 3.0 The Force Awakens play-set. The set will include figures of the characters Finn and Rey, along with a new adventure based on the film. This will be the third Star Wars play-set to be released since 3.0 launched, joining Twilight of the Republic and Rise Against the Empire. The previously released play-sets cover the full range of the existing Star Wars canon, featuring fan-favorite characters such as Ahsoka Tano and Han Solo.

Disney Interactive and Lucasfilm recently revealed two new characters would be released separately alongside the play-set: the Resistance pilot Poe Dameron and the villainous Kylo Ren. Additionally, the release date of the newest play-set was revealed to be December 18th, 2015, coinciding with Episode VII's release in theaters. Currently, it's the only game planned to launch alongside the movie and will allow players to "experience key moments from the film."

Check out the newly announced figures below:

Both Oscar Isaac and Adam Driver (who play Dameron and Ren respectively), will be reprising their roles for the game, as will John Boyega and Daisy Ridley for Finn and Rey. Notably, all previously released Star Wars figures will be compatible with the new play-set, via unlock coins. Players will be able to unite the greatest pilots the Star Wars galaxy has ever known, or see Darth Maul and Kylo Ren fight side by side against the light side.

This isn't the only film tie-in set that Disney Interactive has planned. The company recently announced a new Marvel Battleground set, an arcade brawler compatible with the full range of Marvel figures released to date. While it hasn't been explicitly tied to Captain America: Civil War, the set will be released sometime in March 2016.

Star Wars Disney Infinity Twilight Obi-Wan Tatooine

Disney Infinity 3.0 has been an incredibly successful venture for Disney, but it's also a great service to fans of all ages. It not allows characters from across Disney's massive collection of properties to exist within a single game, but the figures share a unique, uniform style that makes them all the more irresistible to collectors.

It helps the newly announced Force Awakens figures to stand out among a slew of other merchandise - because they're already the missing pieces in everyone's Disney Infinity collection.

NEXT: Star Wars 7 Trailer Arriving With Early Ticket Sales?

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens hits theaters on December 18th, 2015, followed by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story on December 16th, 2016, Star Wars: Episode VIII on May 26th, 2017, and the Han Solo Star Wars Anthology film on May 25th, 2018. Star Wars: Episode IX is expected to reach theaters in 2019, followed by the third Star Wars Anthology film in 2020.

Source: Disney Interactive/Lucasfilm

Legend Zelda Links Awakening Switch Remake Review Roundup
The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening Switch Review Roundup - A Whole New World

More in Game News