Nominees have been announced for the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards. Luca Guadagnino’s coming-of-age tale Call Me By Your Name led the way with six nominations, followed by Jordan Peele’s Get Out (is it a comedy or a drama?) and the Safdie Brothers’ Good Time with five each. Greta Gerwig’s directorial debut Lady Bird picked up four nominations – though, interestingly, Gerwig herself was not nominated for Best Director. Lily Collins and Tessa Thompson announced the nominations at a ceremony in West Hollywood.

The Spirit Awards are given each year to the best feature films produced in the United States for under $20 million. Chosen by the non-profit arts organization Film Independent, the Spirit Awards traditionally have not been seen as a great Oscar predictor, though in recent years Moonlight, Spotlight and Birdman all snagged Spirit Awards for Best Picture before going on to win the Oscar in the same category.

Related: Call Me By Your Name is a Beautiful Portrait of First Love

Here is the full list of 2018 Film Independent Spirit Award nominees:

Get Out 2017 Call Me By Your Name Leads 2018 Spirit Award Nominees

Best Feature

Call Me by Your Name (Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman)

The Florida Project (Producers: Sean Baker, Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou)

Get Out (Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele)

Lady Bird (Producers: Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill, Scott Rudin)

The Rider (Producers: Mollye Asher, Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Chloé Zhao)

Best First Feature

Columbus (Director: Kogonada; Producers: Danielle Renfrew Behrens, Aaron Boyd, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Andrew Miano, Chris Weitz)

Ingrid Goes West (Director: Matt Spicer; Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza, Tim White, Trevor White)

Menashe (Director/Producer: Joshua Z. Weinstein; Producers: Yoni Brook, Traci Carlson, Daniel Finkelman, Alex Lipschultz)

Oh Lucy! (Director/Producer: Atsuko Hirayanagi; Producers: Jessica Elbaum, Yukie Kito, Han West)

Patti Cake$ (Director: Geremy Jasper; Producers: Chris Columbus, Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Noah Stahl, Rodrigo Teixeira)

John Cassavettes Award (Best Feature produced for under $500,000)

Dayveon (Writer/Director/Producer: Amman Abbasi; Writer: Steven Reneau; Producers: Lachion Buckingham, Alexander Uhlmann)

A Ghost Story (Writer/Director: David Lowery; Producers: Adam Donaghey, Toby Halbrooks, James M. Johnston)

Life and Nothing more (Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza; Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, Pedro Hernández Santos)

Most Beautiful Island (Writer/Director/Producer: Ana Asensio; Producers: Larry Fessenden, Noah Greenberg, Chadd Harbold, Jenn Wexler)

The Transfiguration (Writer/Director: Michael O’Shea; Producer: Susan Leber)

Best Director

Sean Baker – The Florida Project

Jonas Carpignano – A Ciambra

Luca Guadagnino – Call Me by Your Name

Jordan Peele – Get Out

Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie – Good Time

Chloé Zhao – The Rider

Best Screenplay

Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird

Azazel Jacobs – The Lovers

Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Jordan Peele – Get Out

Mike White – Beatriz at Dinner

Best First Screenplay

Kris Avedisian (Story By: Kyle Espeleta, Jesse Wakeman) – Donald Cried

Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani – The Big Sick

Ingrid Jungermann – Women Who Kill

Kogonada – Columbus

David Branson Smith, Matt Spicer – Ingrid Goes West

Best Cinematography

Thimios Bakatakis – The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Elisha Christian – Columbus

Hélène Louvart – Beach Rats

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom – Call Me by Your Name

Joshua James Richards – The Rider

Best Editing

Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie – Good Time

Walter Fasano – Call Me by Your Name

Alex O’Flinn – The Rider

Gregory Plotkin – Get Out

Tatiana S. Riegel – I, Tonya

Best Female Lead

Salma Hayek – Beatriz at Dinner

Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Margot Robbie – I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Shinobu Terajima – Oh Lucy!

Regina Williams – Life and Nothing More

Best Male Lead

Timothée Chalamet – Call Me by Your Name

Harris Dickinson – Beach Rats

James Franco – The Disaster Artist

Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out

Robert Pattinson – Good Time

Best Supporting Female

Holly Hunter – The Big Sick

Allison Janney – I, Tonya

Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird

Lois Smith – Marjorie Prime

Taliah Lennice Webster – Good Time

Best Supporting Male

Nnamdi Asomugha – Crown Heights

Armie Hammer – Call Me by Your Name

Barry Keoghan – The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Benny Safdie – Good Time

Best Documentary

The Departure (Director/Producer: Lana Wilson)

Faces Places (Directors: Agnés Varda, JR; Producer: Rosalie Varda)

Last Men in Aleppo (Director: Feras Fayyad; Producers: Kareem Abeed, Søeren Steen Jespersen, Stefan Kloos)

Motherland (Director/Producer: Ramona S. Diaz; Producer: Rey Cuerdo)

Quest (Director: Jonathan Olshefski; Producer: Sabrina Schmidt Gordon)

Best International Film

BPM (Beats Per Minute) (France; Director: Robin Campillo)

A Fantastic Woman (Chile; Director: Sebastián Lelio)

I Am Not a Witch (Zambia; Director: Rungano Nyoni)

Lady Macbeth (U.K.; Director: William Oldroyd)

Loveless (Russia; Director: Andrey Zvyagintsev)

MORE: Lady Bird is a Coming of Age Romp That Delights

Winners will be announced March 3rd, 2017 in a ceremony televised by IFC.

Source: Independent Spirit Award

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!

More Videos