Update: The full Solo: A Star Wars Story trailer is now online.

At long, long last, we’re getting a trailer for Solo: A Star Wars Story – but when exactly can you expect to see it? The Han Solo prequel was one of the first new Star Wars projects rumored after the Disney purchase of Lucasfilm in 2012, and in just a few short months we’ll finally get to see how exactly the iconic smuggler came to be. First, though, we need a trailer. The film has, notoriously, had a rather tricky journey to the big screen, with directors replaced and suggestions the studio is expecting a bomb, but all hopes are that finally seeing Alden Ehrenreich in Harrison Ford’s boots will finally set the record straight.

Of course, fans have been waiting for that first look for a long while now. A trailer was first rumored back in October and, now less than four months away from its May 25 release, we’re still yet to see a single frame of footage. That will change soon. A TV spot is expected to air during the Super Bowl, ahead of the full trailer on Good Morning America the day after. But when exactly should you tune in?

Related: Solo’s Trailer Delay Was Genius

The Super Bowl spot is hard to predict due to the nature of the game and wider event – it could drop in any of the commercial breaks after the 6:30pm EST/3:30pm PST start. It’ll most likely be in the first half, so before 8:30pm EST/5:30pm PST is a fair bet. It is also possible that Lucasfilm will release the tease early online. UPDATE: You can watch the Solo Super Bowl spot here.

As for the full Solo trailer on Monday 5, we can predict that based on previous form. Traditionally, when Disney drops a trailer on their ABC morning show, it arrives midway through the broadcast: expect the Solo: A Star Wars Story trailer around 8:30-9am EST/5:30-6am PST (that’s 1:30-2pm GMT). When exactly varies slightly, but that is the typical window. As well as airing during the broadcast, the trailer will be available immediately on Star Wars’ YouTube channel.

Solo A Star Wars Story Millennium Falcon  What Time Will The Solo: A Star Wars Story Trailer Release? [UPDATED]

This form of release is very novel – films market themselves at the Super Bowl and GMA all the time, but using the former as a hype-getter for the latter is unprecedented, ensuring a lot of excitement when Solo‘s trailer finally drops.

As for what fans can expect in the trailer, the big thing is a proper look at Alden Ehrenreich’s take on Han Solo, as well as Donald Glover’s Lando and the redesigned Millennium Falcon. We’re also hoping for Woody Harrelson’s Beckett and Emilia Clarke’s Qi’ra, although there’s sure to be some unexpected surprises too.

Keep with Screen Rant after the trailer drops for trailer breakdown as well as more deep-dive analysis of what we can expect for Solo: A Star Wars Story.

Next: The Biggest Misconceptions About Solo: A Star Wars Story

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
GO PREMIUM WITH SCREENRANT
Go Premium!

More Videos