screenrant.com

What Time Does A Series of Unfortunate Events Season 2 Drop On Netflix?

Neil Patrick Harris as Count Olaf in A Series of Unfortunate Events Season 2

Season 2 of acclaimed Lemony Snicket adaptation A Series of Unfortunate Events arrives this week. But what time exactly is Netflix releasing the new episodes?

Last year's Season 1 of A Series of Unfortunate Events - which introduced Neil Patrick Harris's wicked rendition of Count Olaf - consisted of a mere eight episodes, tackling the first four books in Lemony Snicket's long-running series. Season 2 runs an expanded ten episodes in length, seeing as it takes on an extra book - the second set includes books five through nine.

Related: A Series of Unfortunate Events Season 2 Trailer Unravels a Mystery

So, when can you plop down on the couch to take in A Series of Unfortunate Events' second batch of episodes? As with all Netflix Originals, it's midnight PST on the day of release: 12am PST on Friday, March 30. That’s 3am EST, 2am CST, and 8am GMT. Is staying up until the wee hours of the morning advisable for those who have things they need to do the next day? No, probably not. Regardless, many diehard Snicket fans will probably do just that, with the most dedicated possibly opting to binge the entire, ten-episode season in one continuous shot, interrupted only for bathroom breaks and meals.

Netflix's take on the plight of the Baudelaire orphans (written by Daniel Handler, the author better known by pen name Lemony Snicket) has been a smash hit, giving fans what was missed with 2004's A Series of Unfortunate Events film adaptation. We're now well beyond the purview of the film, with Season 2 taking on The Austere Academy, The Ersatz Elevator, The Vile Village, The Horrible Hospital and The Carnivorous Carnival, each getting two episodes apiece. This season, the mystery of the Baudelaire parents' deaths will deepen, with a secret organization and confusing motivations revealed.

Fans won't have to worry about Unfortunate Events being canceled before it can wrap up its story, as Netflix has already ordered a third season, adapting the final books ten through thirteen. And, unlike some overstuffed book to screen adaptations, fans should take comfort in knowing that A Series of Unfortunate Events will not overstay its welcome. As recently confirmed by star Harris, Season 3 is planned to be the final run, and producers have no desire to try and continue past the main events (despite the world expansion done elsewhere by Handler). It's always best to leave fans wanting more but also not push one's luck, and if Seasons 2 and 3 turn out as well as Season 1, Netflix's A Series of Unfortunate Events looks poised to do just that.

More: A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Parents Twist Explained

MCU Phase 5 Slate
Did Marvel Secretly Announce MCU Phase 5 Movies At SDCC?

More in SR Originals