Thor: Ragnarok Reveals A Major Truth About The Infinity Gauntlet

The Infinity Gauntlet Thanos Has Is The Real One

Marvel Studios and its boss Kevin Feige simply didn't know how massive and successful the MCU would really be at the time, and now all of those things could have actual plot use in future Marvel features. The Infinity Gauntlet certainly does and that's why Thor: Ragnarok specifically includes a sequence to rectify the confusion over there potentially being two Infinity Gauntlets.

This fits with what Kevin Feige said two years ago while doing press for Avengers: Age of Ultron where he confirmed that the gauntlet in Odin's Vault was not the same as the one Thanos put on in its post-credits button, and with Thor: Ragnarok they successfully turn the Easter Egg from the original Thor into just that.

So, Thanos has the gauntlet, has an alien army, and has his mighty minions known as the Black Order, now he just needs the six Infinity Stones scattered across the cosmos. Of the six, five have been introduced in the Marvel Cinematic Universe so far, leaving the location of the final one (the Soul Stone) still a mystery. We explore that here and explain why it's likely to be introduced in 2018's Black Panther, that film on the Marvel schedule before Avengers: Infinity War. And it's here in the third Avengers where Thanos will collect and use the Infinity Gauntlet. After all, directors (and brothers) Anthony and Joe Russo describe Avengers 3 as a Thanos-centric heist film.

What an amazing, long-term setup and payoff!

More: Thor: Ragnarok Post-Credits Scenes Explained in Detail

In Marvel Studios’ Thor: Ragnarok, Thor is imprisoned on the other side of the universe without his mighty hammer and finds himself in a race against time to get back to Asgard to stop Ragnarok—the destruction of his homeworld and the end of Asgardian civilization—at the hands of an all-powerful new threat, the ruthless Hela. But first he must survive a deadly gladiatorial contest that pits him against his former ally and fellow Avenger—the Incredible Hulk!

Thor: Ragnarok is directed by Taika Waititi and returns Chris Hemsworth starring as Thor and Tom Hiddleston reprising his role as Loki. They are joined by Cate Blanchett, Idris Elba, Jeff Goldblum, Tessa Thompson and Karl Urban, with Mark Ruffalo and Anthony Hopkins. Kevin Feige is producing with Louis D’Esposito, Victoria Alonso, Brad Winderbaum, Thomas M. Hammel and Stan Lee serving as executive producers. Eric Pearson and Craig Kyle & Christopher L. Yost wrote the screenplay.

Key Release Dates
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017) release date: Nov 03, 2017
  • The Avengers 4 / Avengers: Endgame (2019) release date: Apr 26, 2019
  • Avengers: Infinity War / The Avengers 3 (2018) release date: Apr 27, 2018
Doctor Strange MCU Powers
Every Comic Power Doctor Strange Has Used In The MCU

More in SR Originals