The West Coast Avengers Return To Marvel Comics

The Marvel comic book series West Coast Avengers is making a comeback. After almost 25 years out of publication, the Los Angeles-based team of Earth's Mightiest Heroes is finally re-assembling for a new generation.

Published in 1984 as a four-issue limited series, West Coast Avengers was Marvel's first Avengers spin-off series. Beginning in 1986, Marvel gave the team their own ongoing series, which lasted until 1994. West Coast Avengers marked the first time Marvel was willing to run two Avengers titles at the same time. It gave comic book readers a chance to see some of their favorite heroes who had been missing from the main Avengers series.

Related: Marvel's New Avengers Are One Million Years In The Making

Marvel has announced a relaunch of West Coast Avengers, with the new series being written by Kelly Thompson. The team will be lead by Hawkeye, the leader of the original team, along with Kate Bishop, the female Hawkeye. Joining them are Quentin Quire/Kid Omega, Gwenpool, Fuse (Kate's boyfriend), and America Chavez. Unlike the original team who got their funding from Tony Stark, this new team will receive their funding by starring in a reality TV show, which will certainly be something new for the Avengers.

Readers may note that every character on the new team is from a recently canceled title, with half of the group—Clint, Kate, and Fuse—being carried over from Thompson's Hawkeye series. America Chavez and Gwenpool both had books canceled in December, and Quentin Quire makes his return after disappearing as part of Generation X. The new comic will give fans a chance to see a bit more of these heroes.

Based on the roster, the new West Coast Avengers will be making some serious changes from the original version of the team. When they made their debut in the 1980s, Hawkeye was joined by a group consisting of several classic Avengers. Even then it was a mixture of heroes old and new, calling upon the likes of Iron Man, Wonder Man, Hank Pym, Scarlet Witch, and Vision, rounding out the roster with a variety of newcomers, such as Mockingbird, U.S. Agent, Moon Knight, and War Machine.

The new iteration of the team brings a whole new flavor to the West Coast Avengers brand by being a group of young superheroes. The title may also please fans of the classic series with the inclusion of Clint Barton's Hawkeye as group leader. Fans will have to wait and see if Hawkeye will cross paths with any of his old teammates.

More: Marvel's Old Man Hawkeye Takes on a Family of Venoms

West Coast Avengers #1 goes on sale August 22.

Source: Marvel

Henry Cavill Insists He's Still DCEU Superman

More in Comics News