Venom, Black Widow & More Join Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite

A day before the release of Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite, Capcom has announced that Monster Hunter, Black Widow, Winter Soldier, and Venom will join the game later this year.

Officially revealed in December 2016, the sixth major installment in the franchise features new gameplay mechanics that focus on the use of the six Infinity Stones from the Marvel Universe. The game also takes players back to basics with two-on-two battles, a system that the franchise hasn't used since the 1998 game, Marvel vs. Capcom: Clash of Super Heroes. With a roster that includes no X-Men or Fantastic Four characters, the new game includes many returning characters from past installments, including Thanos, Ghost Rider, Hawkeye, Doctor Strange, Firebrand, Frank West, and Nemesis. The game's base roster also features new additions such as Gamora, Ultron, Captain Marvel, Mega Man X, and Jedah.

Related: Injustice 2 Brings Black Lightning to DC’s Fighting Game

Capcom announced on their Twitter page that Black Widow, Winter Soldier, Venom, and Monster Hunter would join Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite as part of the 2017 Character Pass, which includes six characters. The other two characters, Black Panther and Sigma, have already been announced. The six characters will release over the course of 2017. All four characters have been leaked at one point or another on various lists. It should be noted that only two of the six characters, Monster Hunter and Sigma, are Capcom characters.

Of the four new additions, only Venom is a returning character. Venom was playable in Clash of Super Heroes and Marvel vs. Capcom 2, but was absent in Marvel vs. Capcom 3. Black Widow is only the third female character on the Marvel side of the roster. The addition of Black Widow means that all six superheroes featured in the Marvel Cinematic Universe Avengers movies will be playable in the new game. Black Widow was the only MCU Avenger left out of the last installment.

No artwork has been released yet of any of the newly-announced characters, though fans can expect Black Widow, Venom, and Winter Soldier to wear traditional costumes. With Monster Hunter, however, it's not clear what fans should expect here, seeing as the character is customizable and available as both male and female in the Monster Hunter franchise. It could be that Capcom will use the female version of Monster Hunter, since only five female characters have been announced at this point.

Black Widow, Venom, Winter Soldier, and Monster Hunter will bring the roster up to 36 characters, with a starting roster of 30 characters.

NEXT: Marvel Vs. Capcom: Infinite Every Update You Need To Know

Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite launches tomorrow (Tuesday, September 19) for Playstation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

Source: Capcom

Dark Captain Marvel Evil in Comics
Captain Marvel is Turning EVIL To Kill The Avengers

More in Game News