Mark Hamill Finally Receives Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame

Mark Hamill

Mark Hamill is "speechless" at receiving the honor of a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The actor, best known for his portrayal of Luke Skywalker in the Star Wars franchise, has recently returned to the big screen in the franchise. After more than 30 years, Hamill reprised his role in Star Wars: The Force Awakens in 2015, and is back again this year in Star Wars: The Last Jedi, much to the delight of long time fans. In addition to playing Skywalker, Hamill has become something of a nerd icon thanks to other roles as the voice of the Joker in the DC Animated Universe, the Trickster on The Flash, and an impressive number of other voice roles within animated series and video games.

Now, he will be getting a much deserved star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, where the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce honors icons of the entertainment industry. The latest additions to the Walk of Fame were announced this week, including Hamill, and the Star Wars actor shared his reaction to the news on social media.

Related: Mark Hamill Clarifies His Star Wars 8 Criticisms

Hamill posted a tweet, linking to a news story stating that he will be getting a star, captioning it only "#Speechless". The link reveals that Hamill will be joined by Minnie Mouse, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Zoe Saldana, Jeff Goldblum, Shonda Rhimes, and Anthony Anderson. Other actors who were also announced as getting stars in 2018 include Jennifer Lawrence, Taraji P. Henson, Jack Black, Kirsten Dunst and Lynda Carter.


— Mark Hamill (@HamillHimself) June 23, 2017

This news may come as a surprise to Star Wars fans, who would be forgiven for assuming that a film icon like Hamill already had a star on the Walk of Fame - although he's far from the only star involved in the franchise that hasn't been honored (yet). Carrie Fisher is also not on the Walk of Fame, which led to fans creating a makeshift star for her after her tragic passing, and George Lucas himself is also noticeably absent, although Harrison Ford and Billy Dee Williams appear along the famous stretch.

What many fans may not realize, of course, is that there is more to the Walk of Fame than simply deciding who is worthy of inclusion. Honorees have to be nominated or apply for a star, and then pay around $40,000 for the privilege (although this is usually paid by the nominating studio/fan club/etc). The cost of the star aside, it's high time that Hamill (and the rest of the Star Wars cast) are honored in this way, and Star Wars fans are sure to be thrilled at having a new star to visit in LA.

Next: Star Wars 8 to Finish Post-Production This Summer

Source: Mark Hamill (Twitter)

Key Release Dates
  • Star Wars 8/Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017) release date: Dec 15, 2017
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018) release date: May 25, 2018
  • Star Wars 9 / Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019) release date: Dec 20, 2019
Jay and Silent Bob Reboot Header
Jay & Silent Bob Reboot Clip is a Perfect Batman V Superman Parody

More in Movie News