Captain America: Civil War Characters Get LEGO Marvel's Avengers Trailer

Lego Marvel Iron Man

LEGO Marvel’s Avengers ventured into slightly new territory when it released earlier this year. Not replicating comic book heroes into colorful bricks - it’s been doing that for a while now with LEGO Marvel Superheroes and three LEGO Batman titles, but this was the first time that a LEGO game would follow the lore of the Marvel cinematic universe. The game includes levels based on both Avengers movies, as well as ones that follow the action of Iron Man 3, Thor: A Dark World and Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

2016 is a big year for the Marvel Cinematic Universe as many of the heroes we’re used to seeing fight side by side on the big screen will square off against each other. A new character pack is available now and for free, based on the upcoming and eagerly anticipated movie Captain America: Civil War, which hits screens May 6. You can have a look at the latest variants in action thanks to a new trailer released by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment.

The base game already has an impressive roster of playable characters but it’s about to get a whole lot bigger. The Civil War character pack includes Agent 13, Black Panther, Captain America, Crossbones, Falcon, Iron Man (Mark 46), Scarlet Witch, War Machine, and Winter Soldier. The pack marks the debut of the MCU versions of Black Panther and Crossbones, with both variants appearing in a console video game for the first time. While this particular piece of DLC was originally labelled as a PlayStation exclusive, it is now reported that is available to download on all platforms - because everyone needs to decide whether they are Team Iron Man or Team Captain America.

Lego Marvel Iron Man

There is one character missing from that list and the trailer: Spider-Man. The character makes a dramatic entrance into the MCU in Civil War and fans got their first glimpse of him and his much talked about costume in the most recent trailer. It’s unfortunate that he seems to be missing from this character pack, but perhaps he'll appear in a future DLC. At the end of the trailer, there is also a logo for an Ant-Man level and character pack. While there is no confirmation on when that will be available, a post on the PlayStation blog stated that it will arrive some time in spring 2016, and that it will include 11 more characters.

LEGO Marvel’s Avengers will have a number of paid for DLC packs as part of a season pass. They will enable even more playable characters as well as unique levels. The first two paid for add-ons will be Masters of Evil and Captain Marvel packs. Other expected DLC packs will include one based on TV show Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. as well as others based on classic comic book variations of Black Panther and Doctor Strange, who will each have their own movies in the near future.

If only Deadpool could find his way as part of the MCU, he could get the LEGO DLC that he obviously deserves.

LEGO Marvel’s Avengers is available now on PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One and PC.

luigis mansion 3 release date halloween
Luigi's Mansion 3 Release Date is Perfect

More in Game News