LEGO Marvel's Avengers Gets Civil War & Ant-Man DLC Free on PlayStation

Lego Marvel Avengers Team Cap

TT Games is back this month with the release of their latest LEGO title - LEGO Marvel's Avengers. This will mark the second appearance of Marvel characters in a LEGO game, as the characters were not included in the recently released toys-to-life game LEGO Dimensions. It was disappointing, though not entirely surprising considering TT is owned by Warner Bros.

The upcoming LEGO Marvel title, one of our most anticipated of 2016, will not be a sequel to the previously released LEGO Marvel Super Heroes, but will instead adhere to the overarching plotlines of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The game will include over 200 playable Marvel characters, including newcomers like Kamala Khan, the new Ms. Marvel.

While the game promises to be one of the biggest LEGO titles yet, Warner Bros. Interactive is already looking to the future. Today, the publisher announced two new DLC (downloadable content) packs coming to the game, one based on the upcoming Captain America: Civil War and the other based on the latest Marvel film Ant-Man. Both packs will be available for free, for a limited time, exclusively on PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4.

Available on launch day, the Civil War DLC pack doesn't contain any new levels, in the interest avoiding spoilers for the film. Instead, the pack only features nine playable characters:

  • Agent 13
  • Black Panther
  • Captain America
  • Crossbones
  • Falcon
  • Iron Man (MK 46)
  • Scarlet Witch
  • War Machine
  • Winter Soldier
Lego Marvel Avengers Team Iron Man

The Ant-Man DLC pack isn't scheduled to be released until later in the spring, but the pack will be more substantial than its predecessor. In addition to more playable characters, the pack will feature a new level from the film - most likely with an emphasis on the characters' shrinking mechanic. The characters included are:

  • Ant-Man (Scott Lang)
  • Yellowjacket
  • Hope Van Dyne
  • Hank Pym
  • Cassie Lang
  • Scott Lang
  • Darren Cross
  • Luis
  • Ant-Man (Hank Pym)
  • The Wasp (Janet Van Dyne)
  • Ant-Thony

Most importantly, players will have the opportunity to fly Ant-Thony around the Ant-Man level as well as bring him into the main game. Perhaps the strangest character to be included in the DLC pack is Cassie Lang, Scott's young daughter. She does eventually grow up to be a superhero in her own right, code-named Stature, but that character will be included in the main game. It's unknown what abilities Cassie will have in the game, but the film version doesn't have powers so far in the MCU.

With the release of these two DLC packs, the total number of films explored in LEGO Marvel's Avengers is now eight - with the other, previously announced titles being both Avengers films, Captain America: The First Avenger, Captain America: Winter Soldier, Thor: The Dark World and Iron Man 3. There's no word yet on other, future additions to the game, but with Doctor Strange coming up later in the year, there's a good chance the title character will be featured in a DLC pack of his own.

LEGO Marvel's Avengers launches on January 26th, 2016 on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Wii U, Nintendo 3DS and PC.

Source: TT Games

FFXIV Patch 5-11 Epic Alexander Ultimate Ishgardian Restoration
Everything New in FFXIV Patch 5.11 (Including The Epic of Alexander)

More in Game News