LEGO Marvel's Avengers DLC Includes Black Panther & Doctor Strange

Lego Marvel's Avengers

Since it was acquired by Warner Bros. back in 2007, game developer/publisher TT Games has worked exclusively on LEGO games, bringing multiple licensed properties to life brick by brick. Over the years, the company has produced games based on everything from the Star Wars universe to the Harry Potter series to Jurassic World. Though they're owned by DC Comics' parent company Warner Bros., the studio has also produced games set in both the DC and Marvel universes.

The developer's most recent game, LEGO Marvel's Avengers, took a new approach to the Marvel license. Where the first game in the LEGO Marvel series was based on an original story and included everyone from the X-Men to the Fantastic Four, the latest game is based on the films of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Covering the events through Avengers: Age of Ultron, with free DLC released based on Ant-Man and Captain America: Civil War, the game presents players with familiar events and characters with the trademark LEGO charm.

Warner Bros. Interactive recently announced further details about their DLC plans and the content of the Lego Marvel's Avengers season pass. The pass costs $9.99 and will include five separate DLC packs as well as additional characters packs. The DLC is all based in the MCU, with installments based on existing characters such as the Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and future inclusions including Black Panther, Captain Marvel, and Doctor Strange. All packs will include a single level as well as new playable characters and vehicle.

Lego Marvel Avengers DLC Season Pass

The first pack is called the Classic Captain Marvel pack and introduces Carol Danvers as she fights to save New York. The pack includes Captain Marvel's Skycycle and Helen Cobb's plane, as well as eight new characters including: Captain Marvel, Kang the Conquerer, Magnitron, Moonstone, Poundcakes, Tic, Warbird and Wonder Man.

The second pack is called the Classic Masters of Evil pack and introduces Baron Zemo and his allies as the seek to destroy the Avengers. This new level will be a retelling of the classic storyline found in Avengers #6 (1963) where the Masters of Evil were first introduced to Marvel Comics continuity. The pack will also include the following eleven characters: Baron Zemo, Black Knight (Dane Whitman), Black Knight (Nathan Garrett), Enchantress, Executioner, Iron Man (Classic), Melter, Radioactive Man, Thor (Classic) Valinor, and Whirlwind.

Both packs will launch on March 29th, 2016. The three additional DLC packs will be launching later in the spring.

Lego Black Panther Avengers

The first of these later additions is the Classic Black Panther pack, which will tell the origin story of T'Challa. The level will see him joined by his sister Shuri as their nation Wakanda is invaded. The two will work together to save their mother from the villainous Ulysses Klaw. The pack will include the Black Panther Skybike and the following nine characters: Aragon, Black Knight (Augustine du Lac), Black Panther, Dora Milaje Warrior, Killmonger, Man-Ape (M'Baku), Shuri, Ulysses Klaw (Classic) and White Wolf.

The next is the All-New, All-Different Doctor Strange Pack and will tell the story of Doctor Strange and the sorceress Clea and their journey to the Dark Dimension. There they will face off against the villainous Baron Mordo and Dormammu, the Lord of Chaos. The pack will include the following eight playable characters: Baron Mordo, Clea, Doctor Strange, Doctor Voodoo, Dormammu, Jennifer Kale, Mindless One Warrior, and Night Nurse.

The final announced pack is based on the ABC show Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and their relationship with the Inhumans. After the team fails to make peace with the mysterious Inhumans, the group occupies the S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier. The agents must then oust them from the ship and discover the secret of Afterlife. The pack comes with the Bus as a new vehicle and the following 13 characters: Agents Daisy Johnson, Leo Fitz, Eric Keonig, Melinda May, Bobbi Morse, Jemma Simmons as well as Mr. Hyde (Cal Johnson), Deathlok, Gordon, Grant Ward, Jiaying, Lincoln, and Raina.

Lego Marvels avengers agents of shield

Each pack of DLC individually will cost players $2.99, but at $9.99 the season pass for the game seems to be a sound investment. The LEGO superhero games typically have a large amount of downloadable content, but the sheer number of playable characters available in Lego Marvel's Avengers is impressive. While the absence of mutants and the iconic Spider-Man (for now) might leave some wary of investing in the title, the diversity of characters and content is sure to have something for everyone.

LEGO Marvel's Avengers is available now on Playstation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation Vita, Nintendo 3DS, Wii U and PC.  The season pass is available on all platforms excluding handhelds.

Source: Warner Bros Interactive

Ghostbusters 2020 trailer
Ghostbusters 2020 is Officially Done Filming

More in Game News