screenrant.com

What Time Will Iron Fist Season 2 Release?

The second season of Marvel's Iron Fist hits Netflix this week. But what time exactly can you start binging the new episodes?

Iron Fist season 1 was hardly a critical and popular success. The show was criticized for bad writing uneven pacing, and poor fight choreography. In spite of these flaws, however, the show was a hit in terms of viewing figures. Despite the poor reviews, the Marvel faithful still turned out for the series' "opening weekend." So it was hardly a surprise when Marvel and Netflix renewed Iron Fist for a second season, albeit with a new showrunner, Raven Metzner.

The ultimate question, of course, is whether or not Marvel has managed to fix the show's flaws? We'll find out at midnight PST on Friday, September 7. That's 3am EST, 2am CST, and 7am GMT, just for reference. It's become traditional for a lot of Marvel fans to take the day off in order to watch the latest Marvel Netflix show, so no doubt a fair number of viewers will be streaming the series in the wee hours of the morning. Looking beyond that, though, it will be interesting to see how successful Iron Fist season 2 really is. The first season was underwhelming, but Marvel wisely marketed it as an essential step on the road to The Defenders. This time around, the marketing has really focused on persuading viewers Marvel has learned its lessons from season 1.

Iron Fist season 2 premiere

Iron Fist season 2 will see the continuation of the story of Danny Rand and Davos, the Steel Serpent. Danny's rival for the power of the Iron Fist in K'un-Lun, Davos will return to New York in order to claim the power he believes is rightfully his. The show will also introduce viewers to the MCU version of Typhoid Mary, a character who's usually a Daredevil villain. In the comics, Typhoid Mary suffers from dissociative identity disorder; each personality has access to different superhuman abilities, making her a terrifying threat. It will be fascinating to see how Marvel adapts Typhoid Mary, given her powerset will outstrip the typical Marvel Netflix villains.

2018 is proving to be an exciting year for lovers of Marvel's Netflix shows. Iron Fist season 2 is the third series to stream this year, and it's already been confirmed that Daredevil season 3 will be released in the winter. The relationship between Marvel and Netflix is clearly going well, and hopefully they'll keep up that level of output next year as well.

More: All 10 Superhero Shows Returning Or Premiering In Fall 2018

Ant-Man & The Wasp Was The MCU's Biggest Missed Opportunity

More in SR Originals