Hasbro's Star Wars Black Series Adds General Leia & Maz Kanata

Carrie Fisher as General Leia in Star Wars The Force Awakens

Hasbro unveiled new additions to their Star Wars Black Series, including characters from The Clone Wars and The Force Awakens. San Diego Comic-Con is the ideal place for big studios to reveal new releases, concept art, footage, and more, but it’s also a good event for toy companies to share their new products.

Fans and collectors can always rely on Hasbro for quality and variety when it comes to toys, and naturally, the company has a big presence at the convention with panels and booths to display their latest products. Among the big announcements and reveals during their panel is that of the new additions to their Star Wars Black Series, with figures from both the original and new film trilogy, as well as the animated series The Clone Wars.

Related: Star Wars: The Last Jedi Unveils SDCC Display

Hasbro’s Star Wars Black Series will expand its catalogue with a figure of General Leia Organa, with the costume she wore in Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Also from The Force Awakens comes Maz Kanata – the humanoid alien with orange skin that Finn, Rey, Han, and Chewbacca meet at her tavern – along with the chest containing Luke’s lightsaber. The Clone Wars’ main character, Captain Rex, is also joining the Black Series in full armor.

Hasbro Black Series General Leia #SDCC

— Screen Rant (@screenrant) July 21, 2017

Hasbro Black Series Maz Kanata #SDCC

— Screen Rant (@screenrant) July 21, 2017

Hasbro Black Series Captain Rex #SDCC

— Screen Rant (@screenrant) July 21, 2017

Hasbro Black Series Dewback #SDCC

— Screen Rant (@screenrant) July 21, 2017

Rebel Fleet Trooper Black Series figure #SDCC

— Screen Rant (@screenrant) July 21, 2017

Humans and aliens are not the only characters getting a figure: dewbacks are getting theirs as well. These thick-skinned reptiles from Tatooine will also get their figures, accompanied by a Stormtrooper, just like in Episode IV: A New Hope. Last but not least, a Rebel Fleet Trooper figure is on the way as well. 

The Black Series includes action figures, vehicles, Force FX lightsabers, and collectable items based off characters from the original trilogy, the prequels, the new trilogy, and also the Expanded Universe, which includes the animated series The Clone Wars, Star Wars Rebels, and various video games.

Star Wars fans are currently preparing for the next installment of the new trilogy, and while the new characters and their stories so far have been well-received by the audience, nostalgia will always be part of the Star Wars fandom, and figures of characters such as Leia (either as Princess Leia or General Organa) and classic creatures like the dewbacks are always appreciated. Once Star Wars: The Last Jedi is out, fans will want to keep an eye on Hasbro and the new characters they will bring to the Black Series and other toy lines.

Next: Star Wars’ THRAWN Coming To Marvel Comics

Key Release Dates
  • Star Wars 8/Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017) release date: Dec 15, 2017
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018) release date: May 25, 2018
  • Star Wars 9 / Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019) release date: Dec 20, 2019
Bruce Willis and M Night Shyamalan on the Glass set
M. Night Shyamalan Reveals He's Started Working On A New Sci-fi Film

More in Movie News