'Guardians of the Galaxy' Soundtrack Revealed

Marvel has released the tracklist and album cover for the 'Guardians of the Galaxy' soundtrack, which includes hits from the trailers like 'Hooked on a Feeling.'

Guardians of the Galaxy Poster Art

Marvel has released a number of comic book movies over the years, but none is expected to be as different and out of this world as Guardians of the Galaxy. Even Thor with its godly Asgardians and Norse mythology can't hold a candle to the weirdness in store for audiences this August.

Starring Rocket (Bradley Cooper), a talking raccoon; Groot (Vin Diesel), a talking tree; alien assassin Gamora (Zoe Saldana); warrior Drax (Dave Bautista); and outlaw Star-Lord (Chris Pratt), the plot behind the space adventure and how it will connect to The Avengers 2 is still kind of a mystery. In fact, all we've been able to glean from promos so far is that this gang of misfits will attempt to save the galaxy from Ronan the Accuser (Lee Pace), and they'll apparently have a good time doing it.

Instead of explaining a potentially confusing intergalactic war, trailers have chosen to lure viewers in by focusing on the more grounded aspects of the movie, like the lead characters in action and the feel-good music (“Hooked on a Feeling” and “Spirit in the Sky,” for example).

It's no surprise then that the rest of the soundtrack also features other similar classics from Star-Lord's time on Earth as Peter Quill. Check out the newly released tracklist below:

  1. Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
  2. Raspberries – Go All the Way
  3. Norman Greenbaum – Spirit in the Sky
  4. David Bowie – Moonage Daydream
  5. Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
  6. 10Cc – I’m Not in Love
  7. Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
  8. Redbone – Come and Get Your Love
  9. The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
  10. Rupert Holmes – Escape (The Pina Colada Song)
  11. The Five Stairsteps – O-O-H Child
  12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

And here's the soundtrack cover:

Guardians of the Galaxy Soundtrack

Now the first thing you'll notice about the soundtrack is that it definitely pays homage to the 1980s when Quill grew up, even though most of the songs on it were actually released in the '60s and '70s, ten to fifteen years before he would have created this mixtape. The best part, however, is how the album cover actually looks like the mixtape cassette that Quill listens to and carries in the movie.

It's been clear from the start that director James Gunn has been lucky enough to exert a lot of influence over the creative decisions on Guardians of the Galaxy. This soundtrack is further proof of that, as Gunn recently applauded Marvel on Facebook for having "the balls to go with this simple design" he conceived before sharing a photo of the same Walkman, which he actually used on the front page of his original pitch treatment for the film.

What do you think, Screen Ranters? Is it a good soundtrack? Let us know in the comments.

Guardians of the Galaxy releases in theaters on August 1st, 2014. The soundtrack will be available July 29th.

Source: JoBlo

Emily Blunt in A Quiet Place 2
Quiet Place 2 Trailer Released With Black Christmas In Theaters Only