Every Song On The Guardians of the Galaxy 2 Soundtrack

With the Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2 soundtrack the pressure was on for Marvel’s blockbuster to top the awesome mixtape of the original movie – here's every song featured in the sequel. Guardians Of The Galaxy was one of the more obscure Marvel comics prior to director James Gunn’s live-action adaptation, with the cosmic side of the property considered a risk. The success of the movie proved the cynics wrong, with audiences quickly growing attached to Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) and his rogue band of space misfits.

Guardians Of The Galaxy also made music an integral part of the story, with Quill maintaining a connection to his late mother and Earth itself through his Awesome Mix Vol. 1 tape. This mixtape featured classic song like “I’m Not In Love” by 10cc and “Cherrybomb” by The Runaways. The soundtrack became almost as popular as the movie, eventually turning platinum and becoming the second best-selling soundtrack album of 2014 in the U.S. behind Frozen. In addition to matching the quality of the first movie, the Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2 soundtrack also needed to meet the expectations of fans too.

Related: Guardians Of The Galaxy 2: Adam Warlock Tease Explained

Thankfully, James Gunn gathered an impressive list of famous, and some obscure, songs for Quill’s Awesome Mix Vol. 2. The Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 soundtrack song list is as follows:

1. Mr. Blue Sky (Electric Light Orchestra)

2. Fox On The Run (Sweet)

3. Lake Shore Drive (Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah)

4. The Chain (Fleetwood Mac)

5. Bring It On Home To Me (Sam Cooke)

6. Southern Nights (Glen Campbell)

7. My Sweet Lord (George Harrison)

8. Brandy (Looking Glass)

9. Come A Little Bit Closer (Jay And The Americans)

10. Wham Bam Shang-A-Lang (Silver)

11. Surrender (Cheap Trick)

12. Father And Son (Cat Stevens)

13. Flash Light (Parliament)

14. Guardians Inferno (The Sneepers Featuring David Hasselhoff)

It should be noted that while it features on the Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 soundtrack, Sweet’s “Fox On The Run” isn’t played during the movie - it did feature in a trailer for the sequel though. According to Gunn, the hardest song to acquire was ELO’s "Mr. Blue Sky," with Gunn having to make a personal appeal to Jeff Lynne for its inclusion. The director also feels “The Chain” and “Brandy” are the most thematic songs on the soundtrack, and their placement in the film is important to the story.

The final song on the Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 soundtrack is "Guardians Inferno," an original song featuring vocals from David Hasselhoff. Hasselhoff is a noted hero of Peter Quill and the song was intended as a retro disco throwback. A music video was also released for this song, featuring guest appearances from almost every member of the Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2 cast. Sadly, neither Vin Diesel (Groot) nor Bradley Cooper (Rocket) made an appearance to complete the line-up.

Gunn did a great job putting together the Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol.2 soundtrack, but while the director had seemingly selected most of the songs for Guardians Of The Galaxy 3, he was removed from the project following the re-surfacing of controversial tweets. Perhaps Gunn could put together an Awesome Mix Vol. 3 separate of the sequel, but with the filmmaker signing on for DC’s The Suicide Squad, he definitely won’t be back for the Guardian’s next outing.

Next: How & Why Marvel’s Phase 3 Slate Changed So Much

Key Release Dates
  • Captain Marvel (2019) release date: Mar 08, 2019
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) release date: Jul 02, 2019
  • The Avengers 4 / Avengers: Endgame (2019) release date: Apr 26, 2019
the fast and the furious leon
Fast & Furious: What Happened To Leon After The Original Movie?

More in SR Originals