Fear the Walking Dead Web Series Premieres After Season 1 Finale

Fear The Walking Dead Flight 462 AMC

As October rapidly approaches, there are few (if any) series returning that are more anticipated than The Walking Dead. The series is unquestionably the most successful show on AMC, so it came as little surprise when Fear the Walking Dead, a spinoff/prequel series, was announced for 2015. The series premiered a few weeks ago with impressive ratings, capitalizing on the strength of its name and the long wait for The Walking Dead's sixth season premiere.

Though the first season of Fear the Walking Dead is drawing to a close, the story is far from over. The show was renewed for a second season before it ever aired, similar to AMC's other prequel series Better Call Saul. The second season is set to tell an even more expansive story, taking place over the course of fifteen episodes as opposed to the six-episode first season.

However, for fans who don't want to wait for more, Fear the Walking Dead will have its own companion web series titled Fear the Walking Dead: Flight 462. The series will focus on a group of passengers on a commercial flight during the beginning of the outbreak. The danger increases dramatically with the revelation that there's an infected passenger on board. The series is produced by Fear the Walking Dead showrunner Dave Erickson and co-executive producer David Wiener.

The web series will be made up of 16 episodes, each less than a minute long. The first episode of Flight 462 will be available on on Sunday October 4th, alongside the season finale of Fear the Walking Dead. The episode will also be aired as a promo during The Walking Dead season premiere on October 11th, 2015. The episodes of the web series will be released online every Sunday and will also air as promos during every episode of The Walking Dead for the duration of its sixth season.

Those invested in the lore of The Walking Dead will want to watch the Flight 462 series, as it not only gives a new perspective on the beginning of the infection, but it will affect the second season of Fear the Walking Dead. The producers confirmed that one of the characters shown in the short web series will be joining the second season of the prequel series.

Flight 462 is the fourth web series to be released based in the world of The Walking Dead, preceded by Torn Apart, Cold Storage, and The Oath. Though Torn Apart showed the origin of the zombie that came to be known as "Bicycle Girl," from The Walking Dead, Flight 462 will mark the first time a character crosses from a web series into the main series. By promoting the web series connection to the main show, as well as airing each installment during The Walking Dead, AMC is essentially guaranteeing that this will be their most successful web series to date.

NEXT: Andrew Lincoln Talks Walking Dead Season 6

Fear The Walking Dead: Flight 462 premieres on October 4th, 2015. The Walking Dead returns for its sixth season on October 11th, 2015.

Source: AMC

Corey 90 Day Fiance:The Other Way
90 Day Fiancé: The Other Way Star Corey Breaks Up With Evelin Due to Cheating

More in TV News