Disney Infinity 3.0 Getting New Marvel Battlegrounds Playset

Disney Infinity 3.0: Play Without Limits is releasing the Marvel Battlegrounds Play Set, introducing a new character and an updated Captain America.

Captain America, Spider-Man and Venom in Marvel Battlegrounds

The Marvel superhero franchise continues to expand with successful comic books, blockbuster movies, and numerous television shows dominating across the pop culture landscape. As we enter into Marvel's Phase 3 with the upcoming Captain America: Civil War, new merchandise is also being released, adding more stories and details to the MCU.

A new play set for Disney Infinity 3.0 is set to be released in March 2016 - coinciding with the release of Civil War - that not only boosts an all new storyline, but will also feature a new Captain America figure, and introduce a new character from the films into the game.

Disney Infinity 3.0: Play Without Limits' new upcoming release is the sprawling Marvel Battlegrounds. This play set will feature Captain America in a new costume - and striking a new pose - alongside Hulkbuster, and Ultron. This four-player game has an arcade brawler style, and an original Marvel storyline. All of the existing figures from Disney Infinity 2.0 will still be compatible with this set, some with different abilities that allow them to perform better in this updated style of play.

CaptainAmerica_FirstAvenger_Action Figure

Vice President of Marvel Games Jay Ong commented on the new game ahead of its release.

“We worked closely with the Disney Infinity development team to come up with new gameplay and storyline for Marvel Battlegrounds that is unique to the platform. We’ve created an authentic Marvel story that will give players the freedom to choose any Marvel figure in Disney Infinity and have them face off against each other in an arena style combat.”

The previous story featured a powerful alliance between Ultron and Loki, as they worked together to acquire the much desired Infinity Stones, using robot copies of the Avengers and having them fight one another against iconic Marvel backdrops like S.H.I.E.L.D’s Lunar Base. New storyline details for 3.0 have not yet been released. 

The addition of a new character to this game set is an interesting development. It seems probable that this will be a major player from the Civil War film, perhaps Wanda Maximoff - aka The Scarlet Witch - will make an appearance and add more magic to the game. Regardless of who is added in, this will likely be a popular game as its gives fans yet another way to interact with these characters, and immerse themselves in the MCU.

Captain America: Civil War will release on May 6, 2016, followed by Doctor Strange - November 4, 2016; Guardians of the Galaxy 2 - May 5, 2017; Spider-Man - July 28, 2017; Thor: Ragnarok - November 3, 2017; Black Panther - February 16, 2018; The Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 - May 4, 2018; Ant-Man and the Wasp - July 6, 2018; Captain Marvel - March 8, 2019; The Avengers: Infinity War Part 2 – May 3, 2019; Inhumans – July 12, 2019; and as-yet untitled Marvel movies on May 1, July 10 and November 6, 2020.

Source: Marvel

DC Movies After Joker
DC's Upcoming Movie Slate Is More Exciting Than Marvel's