DCEU Complete Movie Timeline (From Man of Steel To Shazam)

The Justice League heroes may be the stars of the DCEU, but the history that brought them together stretches back thousands of years. Across the planet Krypton, through ancient Greek mythology, and to a time when Atlantis was the most advanced society above water, the timeline of the DC movies may seem too ancient to identify using specific years. But Man of Steel, Wonder Woman, and Justice League have all given enough evidence to create one massive chain of events. And with Aquaman and Shazam! adding the final pieces of the puzzle, a solid DCEU timeline is taking shape.

Fans may be suspicious of a concrete DCEU timeline, since many of the films never actually make their exact year known, let alone relevant to the story. But as the movies multiply, the approximate dates have been narrowed down. Even if it feels like any ancient empire or dynasty in the DCEU is measured in "thousands of years" to be intentionally vague, Wonder Woman and Aquaman have locked in a more complete picture. And surprise: some of that history is nowhere near as ancient as fans might assume.

Related: How Every DCEU Movie Has Led Up To Aquaman

For now, the DC movie universe is easy enough to lay out from beginning to end, at least where the films' "modern" periods are set. So to start with dates everyone can agree on before diving into the past, the modern Era of the DCEU and its biggest events are confirmed to take place in the canon timeline as such:

  • 1918: Wonder Woman
  • 1984: Wonder Woman 1984
  • 2013: Man of Steel
  • 2015: Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
  • 2016: Suicide Squad
  • 2016: Justice League
  • 2016-2017: Aquaman
  • 2019: Shazam!

That's the DCEU timeline so far, but every new movie is guaranteed to bring new events and parallel storylines to light. And if the newly released Shazam! is any indication, the mythology of DC's biggest heroes is going to be expanded in not only the present day, or the future, but in the ancient history, with new figures and formative events being introduced only when their stories are necessary. Based purely on the films already released, and ones reportedly in development, the history of the New Gods, Apokolips, New Genesis, Atlantis, Themyscira, and perhaps even Krypton are still subject to change.

What makes it so difficult to accept one timeline as canon is that films like Man of Steel, Wonder Woman, and Aquaman have all relied on the "accepted story" being revealed as not the whole truth. That being said, putting together a concrete timeline based on what Aquaman adds to the history of King Atlan, the Atlantean Empire and the sinking of the city is no easy task. Which is why we're breaking it down into one DCEU timeline for fans who need to know.

Page 2 of 4: The Beginning of The DCEU Timeline

Key Release Dates
  • Aquaman (2018) release date: Dec 21, 2018
Netflix Eli Ending Explained
Netflix’s Eli Ending Explained

More in SR Originals