All 30 DC Universe Animated Movies Being Released as Single Box Set

Warner Bros. has announced plans to release every original DC Comics animated movie into an epic box set later this year. It's no secret that the studio's live-action comic book universe -- the DC Extended Universe -- has struggled to find its footing, despite each installment proving to be successes at the worldwide box office. Aside from editing issues, many people have complained that the filmmakers have misrepresented the publisher's iconic characters on the big screen, chief among them being Batman and Superman.

Despite convincing arguments supporting both sides, one thing most people can agree on is that DC's animated movies seldom find themselves struggling with the same issues. Some of the best comic book stories have been adapted into animation, and few of them can actually be considered to be better than their respective source material. In fact, the original DC Animated Universe productions, such as Batman: The Animated Series, have become so influential that some of the characters and stories depicted on the show have transferred over to the comics.

Warner Bros. Animation and DC Comics have created 30 animated films over the course of the past decade; some have achieved critical acclaim (e.g. Batman: Under the Red Hood, Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox), while others have been heavily criticized (Batman: The Killing Joke). Regardless of their critical and commercial successes, the studio has decided to celebrate the last decade by releasing the DC Universe Original Movies: 10th Anniversary Collection, an epic box set consisting of all 30 movies (below), set to release on November 7 - ten days before Zack Snyder's Justice League hits theaters.

The collection will include the following films:

  1. Superman: Doomsday
  2. Justice League: The New Frontier
  3. Batman: Gotham Knight
  4. Wonder Woman Commemorative Edition
  5. Green Lantern: First Flight
  6. Superman/Batman: Public Enemies
  7. Justice League: Crisis On Two Earths
  8. Batman: Under The Red Hood
  9. Superman/Batman: Apocalypse
  10. All-Star Superman
  11. Green Lantern: Emerald Knights
  12. Batman: Year One
  13. Justice League: Doom
  14. Superman Vs. The Elite
  15. The Dark Knight Returns, Part 1
  16. The Dark Knights Returns, Part 2
  17. Superman: Unbound
  18. Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox
  19. Justice League: War
  20. Son Of Batman
  21. Batman: Assault On Arkham
  22. Justice League: Throne Of Atlantis
  23. Batman Vs. Robin
  24. Justice League: Gods and Monsters
  25. Batman: Bad Blood
  26. Justice League Vs. Teen Titans
  27. Batman: The Killing Joke
  28. Justice League Dark
  29. Teen Titans: The Judas Contract
  30. Batman and Harley Quinn

Aside from including every animated movie DC Entertainment has produced over the past decade, the box set notably splits Jay Oliva's adaptation of Frank Miller's The Dark Knight Returns into two parts. Audiences may remember that the animated film's first part originally released in September 2012, while the second part hit home video in January 2013. Furthermore, the box set includes the upcoming film, Batman and Harley Quinn, an original story created by DCAU shepherd Bruce Timm, featuring the return of Kevin Conroy as Batman.

Just because Warner Bros. has decided to release the animated movie collection now, that doesn't mean the studio doesn't plan on producing more animated movies in the future. It's unclear, though, what those movies will end up being about since the studio hasn't confirmed any future movie. If they had their way, Conroy and Mark Hamill would love to adapt Batman: Hush and Batman: A Death in the Family story arcs, the last of which is considering one of the most iconic and defining Batman stories ever told.

Source: Warner Bros.

Tom Holland as Peter Parker and Robert Downey Jr as Iron Man
Tom Holland Posts Cryptic Photo With RDJ, Ignores Spider-Man Situation

More in Movie News