screenrant.com

'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes' Early Reactions - A Blockbuster Masterpiece?

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes - Caesar with warpaint

When Rise of the Planet of the Apes released in 2011, audiences and critics alike were as surprised by its emotional beats as they were the heartlfelt performance Andy Serkis managed to bring to his motion-captured, digitally-rendered ape, Caesar. The film wasn't without its flaws - as we noted in our own review - but the film proved to be more than mindless, science fiction camp.

Its sequel, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, releases in two weeks and expectations are high for the film to not only raise the stakes for the apes and humans trying to coexist, creating more turmoil between the two groups, but to also provide bigger and more bombastic action set pieces as every trailer, teaser, and poster hints at the oncoming war.

Earlier this week Fox premiered the film to a group of critics and their reactions are already making their way online. A handful of those who caught the early screening have since tweeted their first impressions.

UPDATE: Here's the biggest reaction to consider - the one from our own Editor-in-Chief, Kofi Outlaw!

Seriously, @ApesMovies is stunning. Reeves made TDK of POTA movies. @andyserkis & Toby Kebbell deserve awards for mo-cap performance. SEE IT

— Kofi Outlaw (@ppnkof) July 1, 2014

Check them out below (via CBM):

Brilliant direction, amazing performances & a great script make DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES one of the years best films. Reeves nailed it

— Steven Weintraub (@colliderfrosty) June 27, 2014

We can talks apes now? Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is my favorite movie this summer. Great, great film - can't wait to see it again.

— Ryan Turek (@_RyanTurek) June 27, 2014

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is fantastic. An ambitious character-driven drama that totally nails the spirit of the original series.

— Jack Giroux (@JackGi) June 27, 2014

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to tell you "Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes" is awesome. I should find out.

— Drew McWeeny (@DrewAtHitFix) June 27, 2014

DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES is absolutely awesome, incredibly smart and has a truly APES-worthy ending.

— Devin Faraci (@devincf) June 27, 2014

DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES is a true cinematic masterpiece disguised as a summer blockbuster. I could not have been more impressed.

— Silas Lesnick (@silaslesnick) June 27, 2014

(You can read more comments at each critics' Twitter account.)

This is all high praise for a film some will still write off as that 'silly monkey movie.' It's only the opinion of a select few, but it's all positive, with many even calling Dawn of the Planet of the Apes their favorite film of the summer!

Fans of Rise will surely be pleased to hear the sequel builds upon and exceeds what made the first film so memorable. But it's equally pleasing to hear such praise for director Matt Reeves, who's taking over for Rises' director Rupert Wyatt. Then again, anyone who saw Reeves' Let Me In -  a remake of the Swedish film Let the Right One In - knows the director can handle intense, emotional moments.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes FX featurette

What's perhaps the best news from these early reactions is how many are calling Dawn of the Planet of the Apes not simply a visual spectacle, but a real character-driven drama. Serkis' performance in Rise was a real stand out, but his human co-stars were all rather flat and one-dimensional. Dawn appears to have done a better job with its performances from both humans and humans-as-apes, which is likely a big reason why the film and its messages are resonating more strongly.

If these early reactions hold true once the film is released, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes could be the real surprise hit of the summer. With the universal praise of the film's visuals, performances, direction - basically everything - Dawn of the Planet of the Apes could be a sequel that doesn't just rival its predecessor, but surpasses it in every way.

Are you surprised to hear such universal acclaim for Dawn of the Planet of the Apes? Will Dawn become this summer's smash hit blockbuster? Sound off in the comments below!

_________________________________________________

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is out in theaters on July 11th, 2014.

Star Wars - Emperor Palpatine
Star Wars Fan Guessed Episode 9 Title & Emperor Return In 2012

More in Movie News