‘King’s Speech’ & ‘Social Network’ Win Big at BAFTAs

The King's Speech and The Social Network Win at BAFTAs

The British Academy Film Awards – or as most Americans refer to them, “the British version of the Academy Awards” – were held last night. As one of the more respected entertainment awards shows, the BAFTA film awards tend to, but don’t always, predict the big winners for the subsequent Oscars, which will be held in two weeks’ time on February 27th.

In an unsurprising turn, Tom Hooper’s favored film, The King’s Speech, starring Colin Firth, Helena Bonham Carter, and Geoffrey Rush, and David Fincher’s The Social Network, starring Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield, were the big winners of the night.

Without further adieu, the 2011 BAFTA Film Awards went to:

Academy Fellowship


  • Sir Christopher Lee


Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema


  • The Harry Potter Films


Best Film


  • The King’s Speech
  • Black Swan
  • Inception
  • The Social Network
  • True Grit

Outstanding British Film

  • The King’s Speech
  • 127 Hours
  • Another Year
  • Four Lions
  • Made in Dagenham

Best Director


  • David Fincher – The Social Network
  • Danny Boyle – 127 Hours
  • Darren Aronofsky – Black Swan
  • Christopher Nolan – Inception
  • Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

  • Four Lions
  • The Arbor
  • Monsters
  • Exit Through the Gift Shop
  • Skeletons

Original Screenplay


  • David Seidler – The King’s Speech
  • Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg – The Kids Are All Right
  • Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, John McLaughlin – Black Swan
  • Christopher Nolan – Inception
  • Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson – The Fighter

Adapted Screenplay


  • Aaron Sorkin – The Social Network
  • Michael Arndt – Toy Story 3
  • Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy – 127 Hours
  • Joel Coen, Ethan Coen – True Grit
  • Rasmus Heisterberg, Nikolaj Arcel – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Film Not in the English Language


  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Søren Stærmose, Niels Arden Oplev
  • Biutiful – Alejandro González Iñárritu, Jon Kilik, Fernando Bovaira
  • I Am Love – Luca Guadagnino, Francesco Melzi D’Eril, Marco Morabito, Massimiliano Violante
  • Of Gods and Men – Xavier Beauvois, Pascal Caucheteux, Etienne Comar
  • The Secret in Their Eyes – Mariela Besuievsky, Juan José Campanella

Animated Film


  • Toy Story 3
  • Despicable Me
  • How to Train Your Dragon

Leading Actor


  • Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
  • Javier Bardem – Biutiful
  • Jeff Bridges – True Grit
  • Jesse Eisenberg – The Social Network
  • James Franco – 127 Hours

Leading Actress


  • Natalie Portman – Black Swan
  • Annette Bening – The Kids Are All Right
  • Julianne Moore – The Kids Are All Right
  • Noomi Rapace – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • Hailee Steinfeld – True Grit

Supporting Actor


  • Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech
  • Christian Bale – The Fighter
  • Andrew Garfield – The Social Network
  • Pete Postlethwaite – The Town
  • Mark Ruffalo – The Kids Are All Right

Supporting Actress


  • Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech
  • Amy Adams – The Fighter
  • Barbara Hershey – Black Swan
  • Lesley Manville – Another Year
  • Miranda Richardson – Made in Dagenham

Original Music


  • Alexandre Desplat – The King’s Speech
  • Danny Elfman – Alice in Wonderland
  • John Powell How to Train Your Dragon
  • A.R. Rahman – 127 Hours
  • Hans Zimmer – Inception


  • Roger Deakins – True Grit
  • Danny Cohen – The King’s Speech
  • Anthony Dod Mantle, Enrique Chediak – 127 Hours
  • Matthew Libatique – Black Swan
  • Wally Pfister – Inception



  • Angus Wall, Kirk Baxter – The Social Network
  • Tariq Anwar – The King’s Speech
  • Jon Harris – 127 Hours
  • Lee Smith – Inception
  • Andrew Weisblum – Black Swan

Production Design


  • Guy Hendrix Dyas, Larry Dias, Doug Mowat – Inception
  • Thérèse DePrez, Tora Peterson – Black Swan
  • Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh – True Grit
  • Eve Stewart, Judy Farr – The King’s Speech
  • Robert Stromberg, Karen O’Hara – Alice in Wonderland


Costume Design


  • Colleen Atwood – Alice in Wonderland
  • Jenny Beaven – The King’s Speech
  • Louise Stjernsward – Made in Dagenham
  • Amy Westcott – Black Swan
  • Mary Zophres – True Grit



  • Richard King, Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo, Ed Novick – Inception
  • Glenn Freemantle, Ian Tapp, Richard Pryke, Steven C. Laneri, Douglas Cameron – 127 Hours
  • Ken Ishii, Craig Henighan, Dominick Tavella – Black Swan
  • Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland, Douglas Axtell – True Grit
  • John Midgley, Lee Walpole, Paul Hamblin, Martin Jensen – The King’s Speech

Special Visual Effects


  • Chris Corbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Peter Bebb – Inception
  • Tim Burke, John Richardson, Nicolas Aithadi, Christian Manz – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1
  • Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Sean Phillips, Carey Villegas – Alice in Wonderland
  • Guido Quaroni, Michael Fong, David Ryu – Toy Story 3

Make Up & Hair

  • Valli O’Reilly, Paul Gooch – Alice in Wonderland
  • Judy Chin, Geordie Sheffer – Black Swan
  • Lizzi Yianni Georgiou – Made in Dagenham
  • Frances Hannon – The King’s Speech
  • Amanda Knight, Lisa Tomblin, Nick Dudman – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

Short Animation


  • The Eagleman Stag – Michael Please
  • Matter Fisher – David Prosser
  • Thursday – Matthias Hoegg

Short Film


  • Until the River Runs Red – Paul Wright, Poss Kondeatis
  • Connect – Samuel Abrahams, Beau Gordon
  • Lin – Piers Thompson, Simon Hessel
  • Rite – Michael Pearce, Ross McKenzie, Paul Welsh
  • Turning – Karni Arieli, Saul Freed, Alison Sterling, Kat Armour-Brown

Orange Wednesdays Rising Star Award (Voted by the Public)

  • Tom Hardy
  • Gemma Arterton
  • Andrew Garfield
  • Aaron Johnson
  • Emma Stone

All in all, The King’s Speech went home with seven awards while The Social Network and Inception went home with three awards each – though, of the two, the former’s awards are considered to be more prestigious.

According to conventional wisdom, you can expect something similar to happen with regard to the Oscars. The big awards are down to The King’s Speech and The Social Network, with Speech the odds on favorite to win Best Picture, and David Fincher and Network the odds on favorite to win Best Director. Then again, nothing’s set in stone, and the Academy has been known (very, very, very rarely) to buck expectations.

The 83rd Annual Academy Awards premiere Sunday, February 27th, 2011 at 8pm on ABC. Who do you want to see walk away with the big awards? Let us know in the comments.

Source: British Academy of Film and Television Arts

Melissa McCarthy's Superintelligence Heads to HBO Max
Melissa McCarthy Sci-Fi Comedy Superintelligence Heads to HBO Max

More in Movie News