Disney XD's Avengers: Secret Wars Gets a Premiere Date & New Team

Disney XD's hit Avengers Assemble animated series is returning this summer for a fourth season and will be kicking off the one-hour season premiere on June 17 with Avengers: Secret Wars, diving into the popular Secret Wars storyline inspired by the Marvel Comics event of the same name.

Prior to the premiere, fans will also be introduced to the new team members, their powers and how they became superheros in the first place. This will be revealed via flashback sequences in a series of six animated shorts (premiering on Disney XD June 2), exploring Captain Marvel, Black Panther, The Wasp, Ms. Marvel, Vision, and Ant-Man's histories.

Avengers: Secret Wars begins with a two-part episode titled “Avengers No More- Part 1”, which will take place following the events of Avengers: Age of Ultron - with Tony Stark missing, after being trapped in another dimension and the other Avengers being scattered through time and space by the Leader and his new Cabal. This spurs Black Panther to form a New Avengers to take their place and help track down the missing heroes. You can check out key art for the TV version of Secret Wars, below:

During an interview with CBR back in January, Marvel Animation Vice President Stephen Wacker revealed some details about the upcoming special and the new season. Here is what Wacker had to offer, regarding the storyline for the animated TV iteration of Secret Wars:

“We will see Battleworld. Much like this season, we will see a collection of stories that at first might seem like standalone adventures that we come to realize are all related to each other. We kick off the season with a focus on our new characters, including Ms. Marvel, Captain Marvel, Black Panther, Vision, Ant-Man and Wasp, and they become very important as the season goes on.”

The Secret Wars animated TV show event will feature Mick Wingert as the voice of Iron Man, as well as Travis Willingham as Thor, Troy Baker as Hawkeye, Fred Tatasciore as the Hulk, Roger Craig Smith as Captain America, Laura Bailey as Black Widow, Bumper Robinson as Falcon, David Kaye as The Vision, James Matthis III as Black Panther, Kathreen Khavari as Ms. Marvel, Josh Keaton as Ant-Man, Kari Wahlgren as Wasp, and Grey Griffin as Captain Marvel.

NEXT: Marvel's Spider-Man TV Series Artwork Spotlights New Villain Costumes

Avengers: Secret Wars premieres with the one-hour installment “Avengers No More- Part 1” on Saturday, June 17th on Disney XD at 11: 30 AM EST.

Source: Disney XD

Sean Bean Will Now Turn Down Roles If His Character Is Killed

More in TV News