Avengers: Infinity War Officially Rated PG-13

As expected, Avengers: Infinity War has been officially rated PG-13 by the MPAA. The rating comes as no surprise, considering that all films in the MCU have begin given the same rating. Only a select few superhero blockbusters, such as Logan and Deadpool, have been rated R.

The biggest superhero team-up movie of all-time is almost here, which is made apparent by all the promos that have been making the rounds on TV and the internet. Infinity War is tracking for a $200 million debut in North America. As the "culmination" of ten years of storytelling, Avengers: Infinity War is set to release on April 27th, one week ahead of its original date. The highly-anticipated film will see Earth's Mightiest Heroes team up with the Guardians of the Galaxy, Doctor Strange, Spider-Man, and Black Panther in a bid to stop Thanos from gathering all six Infinity Stones and destroying the universe.

Related: Thanos Threatens to Wipe Out the Avengers in New Infinity War TV Spot

The MPAA's official rating for Avengers: Infinity War is PG-13. The MPAA cites "intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action throughout, language, and some crude references" as the reasons for the rating. Though the mention of violence isn't surprising at all, the inclusion of language and "crude references" is a first for an Avengers film. While movies like Guardians of the Galaxy and Spider-Man: Homecoming have been given the PG-13 rating for "some language", The Avengers and Age of Ultron contained substantially less profanity.

In terms of its MPAA rating, Avengers: Infinity War appears to be more in line with Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, which pushed the envelope with "language, and brief suggestive conduct".  The Guardians movies do tend to have more crude humor and profanity than most films set in the MCU. It's possible that the presence of Rocket Raccoon, Star-Lord, Drax, and others will lead to more questionable dialogue and humor than parents may be used to in an Avengers movie.  

Other than the language, fans can expect plenty of violence, but nothing that should be too extreme for a PG-13 action film. The violence may be intense at times, as we know there will be a torture scene involving Doctor Strange. There's also the possibility that one - or several - heroes may meet their end in the battle against Thanos, especially since fans are already being warned to be prepared for "heartbreak".

More: Avengers: Infinity War Directors Want a Secret Wars Movie

Source: MPAA

Key Release Dates
  • Avengers: Infinity War / The Avengers 3 (2018) release date: Apr 27, 2018
  • Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) release date: Jul 06, 2018
  • Captain Marvel (2019) release date: Mar 08, 2019
  • The Avengers 4 / Avengers: Endgame (2019) release date: Apr 26, 2019
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) release date: Jul 02, 2019
Robert Downey Jr. in Iron Man 2008
Watch Marvel’s Infinity Saga Trailer From SDCC

More in Movie News