screenrant.com

What Time Does Aquaman's Comic-Con Trailer Release Online?

The very first trailer for James Wan's Aquaman will debut during Warner Bros.' Hall H panel at San Diego Comic-Con, on Saturday 21, and will release online at around the same time. The panel is two hours long, kicking off at 10:30am PST/1:30pm EST, and attendees can also expect to be treated to a teaser for next year's Shazam!, and potentially some Wonder Woman 1984 footage as well (though those may be Comic-Con exclusive).

Anticipation is high for Aquaman, which was first announced all the way back in 2014 and will arrive in theaters on December 21, 2018. The movie will see Aquaman going on a quest to find King Atlan's trident, while contending with classic comic book villains Ocean Master (Patrick Wilson) and Black Manta (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II).

Related: Aquaman Character Guide

Star Jason Momoa, who returns to the role of Arthur Curry after making his debut in last year's Justice League, literally threw himself into promoting the upcoming trailer with a video on social media, in which he jumps off a cliff into the ocean. This may also be a covert form of advertising for whatever phone he's using, since it manages to survive both the fall and the underwater swim. The Aquaman trailer could drop online at any point during the panel, but DC is typically in the second hour, meaning the trailer will likely drop online some time after 11:30am PST/2:30pm EST/7:30pm BST on Saturday 21 July.

Although the DC Extended Universe has had mixed success, and Justice League was among its most-maligned entries, Momoa's Aquaman was generally warmly received by audiences - bringing a great deal of enthusiasm and bro-ish energy to the role. The success of Wonder Woman also renewed excitement for DC's upcoming live-action movies, which look to be widely diversifying in terms of tone. Aquaman seems to be a classic superhero origin story and adventure, while Shazam! will lean into a comedic tone and feature a cast of youngsters. Meanwhile, Martin Scorsese is producing a mid-budget Joker solo movie starring Joaquin Phoenix, with Todd Phillips (The Hangover) set to direct.

Beyond the Aquaman trailer, there could be plenty of other surprises in store during Warner Bros.' Hall H panel - including new movie announcements, casting news, and more. Unfortunately, unlike some Comic-Con panels, Hall H panels are kept exclusive for attendees and therefore won't be live-streamed, but there are usually some exciting tidbits made available online as the panel unfolds. Stay tuned for all the latest news and updates on Screen Rant!

More: DC at SDCC 2018: Panel Time, Trailer Expectations & Other Details

Key Release Dates
  • Aquaman (2018) release date: Dec 21, 2018
  • Shazam! (2019) release date: Apr 05, 2019
  • Wonder Woman 1984 (2020) release date: Jun 05, 2020
Twilight Zone A Traveler Header
The Twilight Zone: "A Traveler" Ending Explained

More in SR Originals