American Horror Story: Cult Clip & Episode Titles Tease 'A New Truth'

Ryan Murphy's American Horror Story: Cult gets a new teaser, while its first four episode titles hint at the election-themed season.

Ryan Murphy's FX horror anthology's seventh season, American Horror Story: Cult, has dropped a new clip and its first four episode titles teasing the election-themed season. Unlike last season, American Horror Story: Roanoke, which released tons of teasers that kept fans on their toes guessing what the theme was for months, Cult isn't beating around the bush letting its "followers" know exactly what they're getting into when the season premieres this September.

So far, we known the cast consists of returning AHS alums Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, Cheyenne Jackson, Adina Porter, Mare Winningham and Frances Conroy, plus newcomers Lena Dunham, Billy Eichner, Billie Lourd, Alison Pill and Colton Haynes. As for the plot, we know that Paulson and Peters' characters Ally and blue-haired Kai will be involved in a "love story for the ages" teased by Murphy through the first artwork showing the characters in a recent Instagram post. We also know that the season will feature actual footage from the 2016 election, will explore the backstories and mythologies of several Freak Show characters - most notably Twisty the Clown who, based on the clown-filled teasers, may be the idol/leader of the clown-dressed cult.

Related: AHS: Cult Concept Art Features Ally & Kai

In a new report on Bloody Disgusting, the first four episode titles of Cult are revealed, teasing "a new truth" that follows along with the election theme, plus a look at a new teaser urging new cult members that "your thoughts and fears are an illusion, surrender to a new truth, wake up". You can watch said teaser above, then check out the first handful of Cult episode titles below:

  • Episode 7.01 – ‘Election Night’
  • Episode 7.02 – ‘Don’t Be Afraid of The Dark’
  • Episode 7.03 – ‘Neighbors from The Hell’
  • Episode 7.04 – ’11/9′

Even though we don't have episode descriptions yet, the titles are pretty revealing in themselves. The first episode, 'Election Night', is no surprise, as Murphy teased a while ago that the first episode would take place the night of the 2016 U.S. presidential election and the rest of the season would be the fallout of that election. The second episode, titled 'Don't Be Afraid of The Dark', is less revealing, but it sounds as if the cult is telling its potential followers not to be afraid of things that are more sinister than the norm. The third episode, titled 'Neighbors from The Hell', is a bit more intriguing because it reminds us of Jessica Lange's character, Constance Langdon from Murder House in season 1, considering she literally was the "neighbor from hell' for the Harmon family. The last episode title we are given, '11/9', could very well be referencing a date, November 9th, which is three days after the American election day of November 6th.

All in all, we think fans should expect some sort of season-defining event to happen during the '11/9' episode of Cult. Perhaps the eponymous cult will make its first strike on the community after the election, and/or a major political figure will be targeted by the cult. Either way, this is all just speculation of course. American Horror Story fans and new cult members alike, are going to have to wait until September to see what these titles actually mean.

NEXT: American Horror Story: Cult Comic-Con Trailer

American Horror Story: Cult premieres on FX on September 5th.

Source: Bloody Disgusting

Justice League: Snyder Cut Image Shows Cavill's Black Suit Superman