‘Star Trek 2′ Extended IMAX Preview Coming in December [Updated]

Published 1 year ago by , Updated February 15th, 2014 at 4:28 pm,

Star Trek Into Darkness Fan Poster Header Star Trek 2 Extended IMAX Preview Coming in December [Updated]

[UPDATE: Find out where the December 14th Star Trek Into Darkness IMAX Preview is playing in your area by going HERE.]

Sci-fi fans are still eager to discover what J.J. Abrams and writers Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci and Damon Lindelof have done with the sequel to 2009 Star Trek reboot, which we now know will be titled Star Trek Into Darkness. Abrams jokingly premiered a single frame of footage from the film during a recent talk-show segment – but we’re pretty sure that annoyed more people than it amused. After several delays and a thick fog of mystery clouding things, suffice to say that Trekkies the world over are starving for some substantial reveals.

Well, that hunger will soon be sated, as we now learn that an extended preview of Star Trek 2 will be shown to moviegoers in December 2012 – and it will showcase the film’s new digital IMAX 3D format.

Check out the official press release from Paramount:

WORLD PREMIERE EXTENDED PREVIEW OF J. J. ABRAMS’ “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” TO DEBUT IN IMAX 3D ON DECEMBER 14th

THE FIRST 9-MINUTES FROM THE ANTICIPATED SEQUEL WILL BE RELEASED EXCLUSIVELY IN DIGITAL IMAX 3D THEATRES WORLDWIDE

HOLLYWOOD, CA (November 14, 2012) – Paramount Pictures will release the first 9 minutes from J.J. Abrams’ eagerly-awaited “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” exclusively in IMAX 3D months prior to the film’s official release in May 2013. This first-look at the movie will play in approximately 500 digital IMAX 3D theatres beginning December 14th.

“STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS,” the sequel to Abrams’ 2009 hit film that redefined the Star Trek universe for a new generation, marks the first time exclusive footage has played in IMAX 3D and only the third time a first-look will be released in IMAX.

o further the IMAX experience, “STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” used IMAX cameras to capture several sequences. Exclusively in IMAX theaters, sequences filmed with the extremely high-resolution cameras will expand to fill more of the screen with unprecedented crispness and clarity, putting moviegoers right into the explosive action and vast scope of the film.

Aside from kicking the usual hype machine into gear, this preview event also marks an opportunity for Paramount and Abrams to quell doubts that fans have expressed (some more vocally than others) regarding the decision to post-convert the film into 3D. While the use of actual IMAX cameras in filming was seen as a step forward – as opposed to just stretching standard film to IMAX size, compromising shot quality – the decision to convert the movie into 3D – even though it wasn’t filmed in the format – was conversely seen as a step back. There are still plenty of skeptics who need to be won over, and the studio is likely attempting to do just that.

Star Trek 2 3D IMAX Star Trek 2 Extended IMAX Preview Coming in December [Updated]

There is still a lot we don’t know about Star Trek Into Darkness: is Benedict Cumberbatch’s (Sherlock)  villain role Khan? Gary Mitchell? Or something altogether different? How, exactly, will the sequel be ‘bigger and bolder?’  What kind of threat will test the Enterprise crew and their bond as a team? Will there really be no cameos from original series actors? Etc…

Hopefully this preview gives us enough material to actually discuss, because all the unanswered questions are stacking up higher than a season of Lost. (Hopefully, the forthcoming answers are more satisfying.)

Star Trek Into Darkness will premiere its extended digital IMAX preview on December 14, 2012 at select theaters. Find out where it’s playing in your area by going HERE. The actual film hits theaters on May 17, 2013.

Source: Paramount

Image Source: Fan-Made Header Image Courtesy of Tumblr

TAGS: star trek, star trek into darkness

19 Comments

Post a Comment

  1. Hobbit anyone? good god im getting imax tix if it is in hobbit.

    • Idk if it will be since they are different companies

  2. hopefully they will release a trailer around then to?

  3. It’s going to be in 3D? Well… guess I’ll have to look for the 2D showing… again…

  4. So it’s going to play ahead of whatever IMAX movie is playing at the time? Hmm…

    • Oh, so in front of the Hobbit. Checked the release date. :)

  5. Yea I think the hobbit is best bet considering it is being released the same day!

  6. So, I assume this is not pure filmed in imax camera which will be prologued? I thought he is doing it partially w/ imax camera and prologue won’t be filmed in that? What is the point then?

  7. Looking forward to this movie

  8. I am take a passing interest in the next film. All I care about is when they are going to allow another Star Trek show. Screw waiting 2-3 years at a time for a new movie that lasts 2 hours. Let us have a damn show again.

    • Last I hear, they planned or are planning Captain Worf.

    • All depends on JJ…He is now the gurdian of Star Trek so to speak, and as such he has to approve a new series.

      But giving the fact that Bad Robot does some pretty decent TV Shows, I would have to think, Why not.

    • Forget about it, they have officially destroyed the Star Trek that most of us knew. It is now nothing more than a machine for spitting out dollars with no concern for ideas.

  9. I heard they partially shot some of this in Imax and in 3D. They’ve had enough time in post production to make the upconverted footage to look good.

  10. How about releasing a trailer first?

    I haven’t heard/read anything about this movie since summer.

    It better be f****** good, if Abrams so wanted to kept it in secret.

  11. I’ll just wait for the scene to appear online, just like I found with the Dark Knight Rises, although to be fair I saw it first in Theatre with Ghost Protocol. I don’t have any interest in the Hobbit.

  12. Their “extended preview” will be released on Dec 21st 2012.

    Watch, what they mean by “extended,” they mean “extended” from 3 frames. It will be only 1 second long. An “extended preview” from the frames we were given.

  13. He has redefined Star Trek for a new generation by bastardizing everything that Gene Rodenberry created.

    • So, obviously, you aren’t happy with the new version of Star Trek. Good thing that you have about seven movies, hundreds of television episodes, and dozens of books to enjoy.

      Now, instead of doing the same thing over and over again, the rest of us have been presented with a fun version of the Star Trek universe. Instead of the same thing over and over again.

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

Be Social, Follow Us!!