5 Movies We’re Looking Forward To: September 2014

Published 2 weeks ago by , Updated August 31st, 2014 at 3:35 pm,

September Movie Preview1 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

Summer is officially over and with that comes the doldrums of early fall. But even as moviegoers recover from Guardians of the Galaxy, Transformers, and X-Men, the industry marches on and tries its best to draw audiences in this month. Unfortunately, finding worthwhile releases for September is easier said than done.

This month features an eclectic mix of YA adaptations, gritty crime thrillers, stop motion animation, and even an offbeat horror flick. It also boasts two A-listers playing well within their comfort zones. That being said, not all of these films are going to be winners and most will probably only do middling business at the box office. But we think there are still a handful worth seeing.

Here are the 5 movies we’re looking forward to in September.

 -

The Maze Runner (Release Date: September 19th)

September Movie Preview Maze Runner 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

YA adaptations have been mostly hit or miss, but more often than not the ones that do hit deal with some sci-fi element. It’s for that reason that we’re keeping an eye on The Maze Runner, based on the novel by James Dashner. At the same time, we’re also prepared for this one to disappoint.

For those who might not be familiar with the story, The Maze Runner follows a group of teens living just outside an ever-changing and mysterious maze. What’s in the maze? Why are these kids chosen to run the maze? These are all questions with answers that could add up to an intriguing sci-fi picture…if done well. Fans of the book are certainly hoping the property catches on, but we’ll have to wait and see whether casual audiences turn out.

Check out the trailer for The Maze Runner.

 -

Tusk (Release Date: September 19th)

September Movie Preview Tusk 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

A Kevin Smith-directed horror film about a guy being slowly transformed into a walrus has all the makings of either a bizarrely awesome fall flick or B-movie schlock. About a decade ago we would have been lining up to see Tusk on day one, but Smith’s standing among the fan community has tapered off considerably as of late. Granted, the director has ventured into more daring cinematic territory, but to mostly mixed results.

Tusk is no different, and as a result it teeters somewhere in the middle. The concept certainly sounds interesting, and the cast is strong, but there’s no telling whether Smith’s writing style will mesh with darker material. Color us curious, but cautiously optimistic.

Check out the trailer for Tusk.

 -

A Walk Among the Tombstones (Release Date: September 19th)

September Movie Preview A Walk Among Tombstones 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

Liam Neeson has already had two hits this year with Non-Stop and The LEGO Movie, and he’s very likely to have another with A Walk Among the Tombstones, based on the novel by Lawrence Block. Some have begun to criticize Nesson for playing very same-y characters, but so far that has worked for the Oscar-nominated actor. However, putting him in a gritty R-rated film might either be the shot in the arm fans were looking for, or it could be the thing that turns them off completely.

There’s also the question of the source material, and whether Lawrence Block fans believe Neeson is the right for the Matt Scudder character. From our perspective, he seems like a perfect fit to play the reckless, alcoholic ex-cop. And if this one hits, Neeson will have likely secured his next action franchise after Taken.

Check out the trailer for A Walk Among the Tombstones.

-

The Boxtrolls (Release Date: September 26th)

September Preview Boxtrolls 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

Laika’s stop motion animated features are something of an anomaly. Critically acclaimed but oftentimes overlooked, these films usually offer something a little different and struggle as a result. Laika’s latest film, The Boxtrolls, is based on the children’s book Here Be Monsters!, about a boy raised by underground creatures with makeshift clothing.

That premise in and of itself might not hold a grand appeal with kids, but the stop motion animation could draw in adults. Laika has done well to get the world out early, and so far critics appear to be singing The Boxtrolls‘ praises. Now if only they can get it to hit with audiences…

Check out the trailer for The Boxtrolls.

 -

The Equalizer (Release Date: September 26th)

September Movie Preview The Equalizer 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

Although few will remember the ’80s TV series, The Equalizer was something special back in its day. Essentially, the series was like a solo A-Team, where an ex-Spec Ops officer named Robert McCall helped even the odds for people in need. As far as we can tell, this 21st century adaptation retains all of those key elements, but condenses them into a single feature-length adventure. Oh, and it features Denzel Washington in the lead role.

That alone should be enough to get the people in the seats, but in case you need something more, we should note that The Equalizer reunites Washington with his Training Day director Antoine Fuqua. And the last time those two teamed up, Denzel Washington came away with an Oscar.

Check out the trailer for The Equalizer.

 -

September Movie Preview Conclusion 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: September 2014

Slim pickings doesn’t even begin to describe September, but such is the way of the business in early fall. We figure that The Equalizer and A Walk Among the Tombstones should have no problem finding success thanks to their leads, but the rest is up in the air. The Maze Runner could be a surprise hit, or it could be a huge flop. The Boxtrolls has that family-friendly appeal, but Laika productions don’t always hit. We also wouldn’t be surprised if No Good Deed or Dolphin Tale 2 squeaked out a decent opening weekend, even if they didn’t make our list.

Readers will also note that this is a very back-loaded month, with practically nothing to offer for the first two weeks. So while there may be some films worth seeing, it’s going to be an agonizing wait to get to them.

Once again, here are the 5 films we’re interested to see:

  • September 19th: The Maze Runner, Tusk, A Walk Among the Tombstones
  • September 26th: The Boxtrolls, The Equalizer

__________________________________________________

Follow Anthony on Twitter @ANTaormina

Get our free email alerts on the topics and author of this article:
TAGS: a walk among the tombstones, The Boxtrolls, the equalizer, the maze runner, tusk

37 Comments

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

  1. The Drop

  2. Maze runner and equalizer for me

  3. The Drop.

    No thank you to that other cr@p. Garbage….all of it. Except boxtrolls. That could be promising.

  4. The Drop and Boxtrolls sound great. I’m a little pessimistic about the rest

  5. Why do Denzels last ten or so films feel like the same movie over and over (excluding Flight, which was great)? I don’t get it- how is that interesting for people? Denzel pissed off with a gun- again…

    • I agree, most of his films in the last 10 years or so have been crap. I haven’t seen Flight but I’ve heard good things about it. Before that, maybe Man on Fire?

      I also think he looks a bit too old to be playing the gun-wielding badass action hero. What happened to the guy who played Malcolm X.

      Its almost as if these huge stars choose more and more action roles as they get older to try and prove how relevant and virile they are.

      • Yet, you give The Expendables franchise a pass as well as Liam Nielson, Bruce Willis, Arnold, Sly etc…… You’re not one to be biased, huh?

      • Actually…I disagree. While not everything Denzel Washington’s done over the last ten years has been great, they haven’t all (or mostly) been “Denzel pissed off with a gun”. Denzel certainly WAS pissed off in ‘Unstoppable’…but he was gun-less.
        As mentioned…Flight was a terrific performance, and while his Manchurian Candidate wasn’t as thrilling as the original (to say the least), it was another strong outing by him. In ’2 Guns’, the film was loud with a lot of shooting and killing…but it was supposed to be a buddy film (not a good one, I admit).

        But Washington’s (overlooked) gem in the last decade, is ‘Inside Man’.
        Of course, the entire cast was strong (particularly Clive Owen).
        You want to see a bunch of top notch actors feeding off of each other? This is film delivers that.

        But back to the September films…Yep, I want to see The Equalizer.

        • American Gangster. Probably his best role since Malcolm X or Training Day.

      • TheFutureEmbrace apparently you must be too young to remember the TV show The Equalizer.My wife and I watched it religiously. It was great from day one. It starred the British actor Edward Woodward who was 55 when the show started and you are gonna complain about Denzel being old? Give me a break kid. Denzel is 3 years my junior and in much better health than I am. So don’t act as if he is washed up, not by any measure is he. Trust me, it ought to be a great film.

        • I wasn’t acting like he was washed up, just making bland and boring movie choices, especially for someone of his caliber. Its not even like he’s doing interesting action movies (a la Tom Cruise).

          And I don’t see the point in him being 3 years your junior, of course he’s going to be in better shape. He has millions of dollars and probably an two-dozen strong entourage designed to keep him fit and healthy… hell he’s probably fitter than me and I’m 26.

          I just think he could choose his projects better, didn’t mean for so many people to get on the defensive.

      • The star of the tv show “the Equalizer” had gray hair and was in his 60s, so Denzel isn’t too old for it. Though that show wasn’t as much about running and gunning, this movie may be.

        • You guys should check out ’2 Guns’ , where Denzel and Wahlberg are a fun duo with a gun.
          It was a fun summer action flick.

  6. Going to see the Maze Runner on Wednesday I really hope it’s good! I’ve been looking forward to it since last summer.

  7. Summer is officially over in three weeks, on September 23rd, the equinox, when night and day are just about the same length. ;)

    • True. I mean summer in terms of the movie-going season. Everything else doesn’t matter. :)

    • Yes Lisa, daddy is a teacher.

  8. ‘The Boxtrolls’ and ‘Maze Runner’ for me, and there is Liam Neeson so of course ‘A Walk among the Tombstones’ is on my to-watch list as well.

  9. The maze runner for me. I enjoy Sci-fi and mystery, so I’m looking foward to it.

  10. If, and only if, the Maze Runner stays close to the book, it will be unbelievable. Trust me, the book was written to be a movie. Some of the most intensity I have ever experienced in a book. The problem is, the book ends with far more questions than answers. Heck, I’m almost to the end of the second book and there are still some questions left over from the Maze Runner. But IF they stay close to the book and IF they portray some key sequences correctly, and can do them half as well as the book did…prepare to have your mind blown.

    I concede that it cannot be as good as the book. No movie is ever better than the book it is based on. The Lord of the Rings movies are the closest any book has ever gotten. But it can still be an interesting and entertaining movie…if they do the book justice.

    Sept. 19th cannot get here fast enough.

    • I have heard of a few changes from the book but so far they all seem fairly reasonable. SPOILERS!Thomas and Teresa won’t speak telepathicly and we will see some of Thomas’s memories. Wonder how that will turn out.

    • “No movie is ever better than the book it is based on. The Lord of the Rings movies are the closest any book has ever gotten.”

      Not to be a d**k, but IMHO, “The green mile” was also very close to the book and very well done.

  11. “About a decade ago we would have been lining up to see Tusk on day one, but Smith’s standing among the fan community has tapered off considerably as of late.”

    It has? I like Kevin Smith, and I know nothing of a diminishing fanbase.

  12. Tusk better have I Am The Walrus by The Beatles in it.

    • Sadly no. This is a small budget movie. Smith couldn’t afford to pay licensing for that Beatles song.

  13. I want to see all of these but will only see them all if they all get at least a 3 when reviewed. I see them all delivering.

  14. On this list, the only one I’m truly excited for is Maze Runner. Beyond that, The Boxtrolls and The Equalizer intrigue me, but I’ll have to see reviews before deciding if I want to see them. Not on this list though, and a movie that actually looks like it could be enjoyable, is Hector and the Search for Happiness. I’m probably a little biased because I like Simon Pegg, but still.

  15. I can’t wait for The Maze Runner! I am so excited and am hoping it will be as good as the book. I am also hoping that others will like it who haven’t read the book. I think they will because this will appeal to people who like science fiction and action. Come on September 19th!!! :)

  16. 10 films opening in September im looking forward to watch the most are
    1-Tusk
    2-The Equalizer
    3-The Skeleton Twins
    4-A Walk Among Tombstones
    5-This Is Where I Leave You
    6-The Drop
    7-The Maze Runner
    8-The Boxtrolls
    9-Dolphin Tale 2
    10-Two Night Stand(with Miles Teller)

  17. Honestly as long as The Maze Runner doesnt take creative liberties and just brings the world to life the story is going to sell its self.

  18. Training Day was a dog of a film and they only gave Denzel the oscar that year because they decided to go with a black theme for the Oscars which to me came off as condescending and ironically racist.

    Don’t get me wrong, Denzel Washington is an A grade actor who has many Oscar worth performances under his belt. I just thought the way they did it was very patronising.

    I am however looking forward to The Equalizer. Looked good from the trailer.

    • So when White people win Oscars is it a “White theme?” The history of racism in the Academy is legendary and yet when black actors finally do win, it’s a “theme”. Even though I had problems with some parts of the movie Training Day, Denzel, was nevertheless,a force of nature in it.

  19. The Maze Runner has an amazing cast, so it has that going for it. I have high hopes for it and I know book adaptations either explode or flop, so I am hoping for the former. I gotta hope that a cast like that and with such a great source material they managed to make something amazing.

  20. The Drop, definitely.

    I was lucky enough to get tickets for TIFF, so I’ll be seeing it early :3

  21. I was a huge fan of the equalizer show in the 80s. This movie is much different in tone as the original RObert McCall, took on the bad guys with more subtle espionage spy type tone (not a very good description I know) while Denzel is taking the bad ass Jason Bourne type approach.

    But I love it. Denzel is Denzel and could make a movie about paint drying good. Plus the action scenes seem very well done. Denzel can be such a good bad-ass, that I actually like this approach than if they wrote him in the TV show type approach. Count me in.

  22. Summer isn’t over until September 21st

  23. Denzel beating up bad guys for all the right reasons, always reluctant about it but “…its all I can stands, cause I can’t stands no more”. H-ll, I’ll see a Denzel film just to watch him walk. Does anybody walk cooler? Just hope Fuqua doesn’t have him spittin all over himself this time though.

Be Social, Follow Us!!