Latest 3.5 star movies

  • Get on Up

    ‘Get on Up’ Review

    Anyone who’s interested in taking in a movie this weekend, but needs a break from the summer blockbuster offerings, should consider giving Get on Up a shot.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 month ago6 Comments

  • Transformers: Age of Extinction

    ‘Transformers: Age of Extinction’ Review

    Still, for audience members that enjoyed prior films in the series (even while acknowledging their faults), Transformers: Age of Extinction is the biggest Robots In Disguise movie yet.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 months ago240 Comments

  • Edge of Tomorrow

    ‘Edge of Tomorrow’ Review

    As it stands, the uniqueness of the time reset premise and sci-fi action distinguish the film from so many others in the genre, and it is at least worth a matinée viewing on the big screen.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 3 months ago95 Comments

  • Chef

    ‘Chef’ Review

    At the end of the day, though, Chef is successful in fulfilling its ambitions – offering a pleasant cinematic road trip, which also works as a palate cleanser for Favreau the filmmaker.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 months ago14 Comments

  • Belle

    ‘Belle’ Review

    Belle might be a little too polite, for those who prefer their period dramas to be more souped up; at the same time, though, it has an intelligence that should make it more appealing.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 months ago10 Comments

  • Locke

    ‘Locke’ Review

    Locke has its flaws, but manages to satisfy as a minimalist work of social realism that is both dramatically-rich and often quite engaging.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago6 Comments

  • Neighbors

    ‘Neighbors’ Review

    Neighbors is a smart blend of prior Stoller films – a likable mix of over-the-top comedy beats grounded with relatable characters and life scenarios.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago23 Comments

  • The Amazing Spider-Man 2

    ‘The Amazing Spider-Man 2′ Review

    All in all, this movie feels like a step in the right direction for the rebooted Spider-Man franchise – hopefully leading to better installments in the future.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago224 Comments

  • Under the Skin

    ‘Under the Skin’ Review

    For cinephiles that enjoy artistic debate more than concrete answers, the film allows an intriguing platform for discussion and reflection.

    by Ben Kendrick | 5 months ago45 Comments

  • Justice League: War

    ‘Justice League: War’ Review

    War is only slightly better than its slightly good source material – but hopefully it will serve as a good introduction for mainstream viewers.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 7 months ago112 Comments

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

    ‘The Secret Life of Walter Mitty’ Review

    Despite any setbacks, Stiller’s adaptation is an inspiring and beautifully shot character adventure – one that even manages to get a worthwhile message across without becoming too preachy.

    by Ben Kendrick | 8 months ago21 Comments

  • Philomena

    ‘Philomena’ Review

    Dench and Coogan are the beating heart of Frears’ cinematic social/political commentary, as their work together is enough to accommodate many of the flaws in storytelling.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 9 months ago3 Comments

  • The Best Man Holiday

    ‘The Best Man Holiday’ Review

    The Best Man Holiday is a worthwhile revisiting that manages to push its characters forward in a very mature and emotionally honest way.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago16 Comments

  • About Time

    ‘About Time’ Review

    Science fiction fans, along with anyone who is especially intrigued by the time travel premise, should temper certain expectations and, instead, focus on About Time’s endearing character moments.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months ago2 Comments

  • Thor: The Dark World

    ‘Thor: The Dark World’ Review

    Thor: The Dark World succeeds at building on the Thor (and Avengers) foundation to offer a bigger and more exciting adventure for Marvel’s God of Thunder.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months ago308 Comments

  • The Counselor

    ‘The Counselor’ Review

    The Counselor is a novelist-turned-screenwriter experiment likely to be met with mixed reception between the get it and don’t get it types in the audience.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago37 Comments

  • Rush

    ‘Rush’ Review

    Rush excels in its exploration of the Hunt and Lauda relationship as well as how the iconic rivalry helped shaped each racer – both on and off the track.

    by Ben Kendrick | 11 months ago18 Comments

  • The Family

    ‘The Family’ Review

    There are certainly worse ways to spend two hours at the theater than by watching De Niro play an old Mobster in a self-reflexive action/comedy.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 12 months ago7 Comments

  • Insidious: Chapter 2

    ‘Insidious: Chapter 2′ Review

    Wan’s prowess as a storyteller and director in this more interesting and well-plotted second chapter may ironically end up luring in those who weren’t even onboard with Insidious in the first place.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 12 months ago51 Comments

  • Riddick

    ‘Riddick’ Review

    Even as the film locks into a more familiar monster-killing/CGI action-thriller, Twohy has enough smart elements in the mix that keep the film sharp.

    by Ben Kendrick | 12 months ago88 Comments

  • The World's End

    ‘The World’s End’ Review

    The World’s End is another worthwhile team-up from Pegg and Wright as well as a welcome addition to their cult-favorite trilogy.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago46 Comments

  • Justice League: Flashpoint Paradox

    ‘Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox’ Review

    A worthy buy for any fan of the material (or the characters), and a good film for even casual fans (or those curious about the potential for future live-action films) to check out.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago82 Comments

  • The Wolverine

    ‘The Wolverine’ Review

    The Wolverine ranks among the better X-Men movies – along with Bryan Singer’s first two installments and Matthew Vaughn’s X-Men: First Class.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago170 Comments

  • Monsters University

    ‘Monsters University’ Review

    Monsters University proves to be as spiritually-uplifting and pleasant as Monsters, Inc., but isn’t equally strong as a creative accomplishment – and might not be as well-remembered in the long run.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago5 Comments

  • This Is the End

    ‘This Is the End’ Review

    Die-hard fans of Rogen, Franco and their merry band of foul-mouthed misfits will probably be more forgiving of the film’s weaknesses and just relish in the sheer comedic insanity.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago53 Comments

  • The Purge

    ‘The Purge’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Purge’ to find out if this film is a thought-provoking horror-thriller, or just a gimmicky dud.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago68 Comments

  • Now You See Me

    ‘Now You See Me’ Review

    Read our ‘Now You See Me’ movie review and find out if the illusionist heist thriller is an entertaining work of cinematic magic.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago33 Comments

  • Epic

    ‘Epic’ Review

    Read our ‘Epic’ movie review to find out if the 3D animated fantasy-adventure (with a star-studded voice cast) lives up to its name.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago27 Comments

  • Fast & Furious 6

    ‘Fast & Furious 6′ Review

    Read our ‘Fast & Furious 6′ review to find out if director Justin Lin has delivered a bigger, better, and smarter sequel to the racing-action franchise.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago39 Comments

  • The Iceman

    ‘The Iceman’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Iceman’ to find out if Michael Shannon is able to provide insight on the sordid life of infamous mob hitman Richard Kuklinski.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago19 Comments

  • Iron Man 3

    ‘Iron Man 3′ Review

    Read our ‘Iron Man 3′ review to find out if director Shane Black delivers entertaining superhero action in Tony Stark’s first post-’Avengers’ solo film.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago356 Comments

  • Mud

    ‘Mud’ Review

    Read our ‘Mud’ review to find out if ‘Take Shelter’ director Jeff Nichols’ new indie drama makes good use of Matthew McConaughey and his young co-stars.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago14 Comments

  • Oblivion

    ‘Oblivion’ Review

    Read our ‘Oblivion’ movie review to find out if Tom Cruise and ‘Tron: Legacy’ director Joseph Kosinski deliver a smart as well as exciting sci-fi film story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago173 Comments

  • Evil Dead

    ‘Evil Dead’ Review

    Read our ‘Evil Dead’ review to find out if director Fede Alvarez has crafted a twistedly fun remake of Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell’s cult-classic horror flick.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago66 Comments

  • Spring Breakers

    ‘Spring Breakers’ Review

    Read our ‘Spring Breakers’ review and find out if writer-director Harmony Korine’s film succeeds at artistic expression in a story of parties, crime, and exploitation.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago32 Comments

  • The Croods

    ‘The Croods’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Croods’ to find out if Dreamworks’ new animated feature is a fun and touching prehistoric adventure for the whole family.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago4 Comments

  • Oz the Great and Powerful

    ‘Oz the Great and Powerful’ Review

    Read our ‘Oz the Great and Powerful’ review to find out if director Sam Raimi delivers a return to Oz that will satisfy both longtime fans and newcomers.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago67 Comments

  • Stoker

    ‘Stoker’ Review

    Read our ‘Stoker’ review to find out if ‘Oldboy’ director Park Chan-wook’s American debut is a gripping Hitchcockian thriller.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago16 Comments

  • The Last Stand

    ‘The Last Stand’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Last Stand’ to find out if Arnold Schwarzenegger’s first leading role in 10 years delivers a fun mix of memorable one-liners and hard-hitting action.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago32 Comments

  • Django Unchained

    ‘Django Unchained’ Review

    Read our ‘Django Unchained’ review to find out if the slavery-revenge spaghetti western offers enough stylized action and sharp dialogue to rank among Quentin Tarantino’s best films.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago127 Comments

  • Jack Reacher

    ‘Jack Reacher’ Review

    Read our ‘Jack Reacher’ review to find out if Tom Cruise lives up to the heavy-hitting Lee Child character and delivers an exciting action-drama experience.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago50 Comments

  • Killing Them Softly

    ‘Killing Them Softly’ Review

    Read our ‘Killing Them Softly’ review to see if the re-teaming of Brad Pitt and Andrew Dominik results in a thrilling mob movie drama.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago26 Comments

  • Anna Karenina

    ‘Anna Karenina’ Review

    Read our ‘Anna Karenina’ review to find out if director Joe Wright and Keira Knightley provide an innovative re-telling of the Leo Tolstoy masterpiece.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 years ago12 Comments

  • Seven Psychopaths

    ‘Seven Psychopaths’ Review

    Read our ‘Seven Psychopaths’ review to find out if director Martin McDonagh has created a worthy comedy follow-up to his 2008 debut, ‘In Bruges.’

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago32 Comments

  • Sinister

    ‘Sinister’ Review

    Read our ‘Sinister’ review to find out if director Scott Derrickson and star Ethan Hawke deliver a smart horror movie with plenty of scares.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago110 Comments

  • End of Watch

    ‘End of Watch’ Review

    Our ‘End of Watch’ review reveals whether writer/director David Ayer (Training Day) and stars Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Peña offer a captivating look at the world of LAPD cops.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago30 Comments

  • ParaNorman

    ‘ParaNorman’ Review

    In our ‘ParaNorman’ review we reveal whether the makers of ‘Coraline’ have brought the same smart Gothic fun and imagination to their latest stop-motion feature-film.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago79 Comments

  • The Expendables 2

    ‘The Expendables 2′ Review

    Read our ‘Expendables 2′ review to find out if the sequel is the action-movie extravaganza it purports itself to be, while also improving on the flaws of first film.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago68 Comments

  • Killer Joe

    ‘Killer Joe’ Review

    Is ‘Killer Joe’ the best performance of Matthew McConaughey’s career? And why did the movie earn an NC-17 rating? Read our review to find out.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago12 Comments

  • The Amazing Spider-Man

    ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ Review

    Read our review to find out if ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ is a worthy reboot of the Spider-Man movie franchise – or just the same old Spider-Man origin story with better special effects.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago250 Comments

  • People Like Us

    ‘People Like Us’ Review

    After scripting some of Hollywood’s hottest sci-fi films, Alex Kurtzman is releasing his debut directorial effort, ‘People Like Us.’ Is the fan favorite writer as good behind the camera as he is on the page? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago7 Comments

  • Ted

    ‘Ted’ Review

    Does Seth MacFarlane’s (Family Guy) live-action directorial debut, ‘Ted,’ deliver laugh out loud (albeit raunchy) comedy? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago41 Comments

  • Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

    ‘Seeking a Friend for the End of the World’ Review

    Do Steve Carell and Keira Knightley make for a delightful odd-pair? Or is ‘Seeking a Friend for the End of the World’ a film that isn’t worth the precious moments of your life? Read our review.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago30 Comments

  • Brave

    ‘Brave’ Review

    Does, Pixar’s ‘Brave,’ successfully deliver an enjoyably modern take on classic Disney fairy tales? Read our review to find out.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago41 Comments

  • Men in Black 3

    ‘Men in Black 3′ Review

    The Men in Black are back to save the day once again – this time from a dangerous (time traveling) alien threat. Does ‘Men in Black 3′ deliver or is the film just another uninspired sequel? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago60 Comments

  • Get the Gringo

    ‘Get the Gringo’ Review

    Mel Gibson returns to the screen for ‘Get the Gringo’, a hard-boiled crime-thriller set in Mexico. Available exclusively on Video On Demand services (not in theaters).

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago21 Comments

  • The Five-Year Engagement

    ‘The Five-Year Engagement’ Review

    Judd Apatow is back in the producer’s seat for another romantic comedy but is ‘The Five-Year Engagement,’ worthy of your time and commitment? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago6 Comments

  • Think Like a Man

    ‘Think Like a Man’ Review

    Is ‘Think Like a Man’ another superficial ensemble rom-com? Or does it manage to offer a lighthearted look at the 21st century battlefield of love? Read our review.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago10 Comments

  • Comic-Con Episode IV: A Fan's Hope

    ‘Comic-Con Episode IV: A Fan’s Hope’ Review

    Is Morgan Spurlock’s (Super-Size Me) new documentary, ‘Comic-Con Episdoe IV: A Fan’s Hope’ an insightful look at the strange and wonderful mecca of geek culture? Read our review.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago9 Comments

  • The Cabin in the Woods

    ‘The Cabin in the Woods’ Review

    Is the intriguing setup for Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard’s long-delayed horror film ‘The Cabin in the Woods’ enough to warrant a trip to the theater? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago132 Comments

Be Social, Follow Us!!