Latest 3 star movies

  • It Follows

    ‘It Follows’ Review

    The film might not be as deep as it aspires to be, but It Follows is one retro horror movie that’s quite creepy and has style to spare.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 hours ago8 Comments

  • Get Hard

    ‘Get Hard’ Review

    The combined power of Kevin Hart and Will Ferrell is enough to make ‘Get Hard’s raunchy and juvenile look at prison life a whole lot of depraved fun.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 16 hours ago19 Comments

  • Insurgent

    ‘The Divergent Series: Insurgent’ Review

    Insurgent falls short of hitting the bar set by superior YA film adaptations but is a step in the right direction for the Divergent series.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 week ago28 Comments

  • Run All Night

    ‘Run All Night’ Review

    ‘Run All Night’ marks a slight uptick in the stock of ‘Liam Neeson With a Gun’ action movies.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 weeks ago8 Comments

  • Cinderella (2015)

    ‘Cinderella’ Review

    Cinderella plays it overly-safe in transitioning from cartoon-to-live-action but is sure to entertain Disney’s go-to juice box crowd.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 weeks ago35 Comments

  • Chappie

    ‘Chappie’ Review

    Chappie succeeds in Blomkamp’s principle goal: exploring a heightened version of childhood development told through the lens of gritty science-fiction and gangster stereotypes.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 weeks ago79 Comments

  • Focus

    ‘Focus’ Review

    Despite its ‘never lose focus’ catchphrase, unnecessary tangents and underwhelming reveals make Focus a somewhat unfocused, though still enjoyable, viewing experience.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 weeks ago10 Comments

  • The Duff

    ‘The Duff’ Review

    The Duff makes timely points about self-love, body image, and modern relationships but falls short of becoming a teen drama classic.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 month ago10 Comments

  • McFarland, USA

    ‘McFarland, USA’ Review

    McFarland, USA is by-the-numbers underdogs sport fare, but good direction and performances make it a respectable addition to the genre.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 month ago5 Comments

  • Hot Tub Time Machine 2

    ‘Hot Tub Time Machine 2′ Review

    ‘Hot Tub Time Machine 2′ is basically a sillier version of an already silly concept – but that doesn’t mean it isn’t still fun.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 month ago2 Comments

  • The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water

    ‘The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water’ Review

    ‘The SpongeBob Movie’ is essentially a kid-friendly stoner comedy, but also one that’s clever and inspired enough to keep SpongeBob fans entertained.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 months ago21 Comments

  • A Most Violent Year

    ‘A Most Violent Year’ Review

    A Most Violent Year is not the next great mob movie it’s been advertised as; it’s a thoughtful character drama with a solid cast – no more, no less.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 months ago25 Comments

  • Black Sea

    ‘Black Sea’ Review

    It isn’t the smartest or most exciting thriller that viewers will have seen but, thanks to a quality cast and a fresh setup, Black Sea is still an entertaining watch.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 months ago3 Comments

  • Black or White

    ‘Black or White’ Review

    It’s far from ground-breaking in its social statements, but ‘Black or White’ is still a solid comedy/drama buoyed by good performances all around.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 months ago5 Comments

  • Project Almanac

    ‘Project Almanac’ Review

    Even though Project Almanac does not reinvent the found footage format, the movie still manages to tell a gripping (and stylish) time travel story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 months ago29 Comments

  • Justice League: Throne of Atlantis

    ‘Justice League: Throne of Atlantis’ Review

    ‘Justice League: Throne of Atlantis’ is solid DC superhero entertainment and a great introduction to the Aquaman character.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 months ago52 Comments

  • The Wedding Ringer

    ‘The Wedding Ringer’ Review

    The Wedding Ringer is a mixed but overall enjoyable dramedy – one that includes a number of laugh-out-loud scenes couched in an often clumsy story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 months ago19 Comments

  • Big Eyes

    ‘Big Eyes’ Review

    Tim Burton buttons down his kooky expressiveness with Big Eyes, but the resulting film is one of his better (and more self-reflective) in recent memory.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 months ago12 Comments

  • Into the Woods

    ‘Into the Woods’ Review

    ‘Into the Woods’ struggles in fine tuning prior iterations for the big screen, and finding its own identity as a film, but it’s still an overall enchanting and entertaining musical experience for all ages.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 months ago88 Comments

  • Night at the Museum 3

    ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’ Review

    ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’ is a fun enough trilogy-capper for every family or fan that has followed the series.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 3 months ago14 Comments

  • The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies

    ‘The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies’ Review

    Peter Jackson’s Battle of the Five Armies ends his Hobbit trilogy on a somewhat underwhelming note, but it’s worth taking that final trip to his Middle-earth.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 months ago61 Comments

  • Exodus: Gods and Kings

    ‘Exodus: Gods and Kings’ Review

    Exodus: Gods and Kings is not an offensive Hollywood cash-grab, nor is it a particularly inventive revision of the Exodus story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago109 Comments

  • Penguins of Madagascar

    ‘Penguins of Madagascar’ Review

    Its stars didn’t need their own movie, but there’s enough kid-friendly wit and non-stop humor to justify Penguins of Madagascar’s existence.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago4 Comments

  • Horrible Bosses 2

    ‘Horrible Bosses 2′ Review

    Horrible Bosses 2 is another fun time with the crazy trio we met in the first film – only it’s a party that definitely feels exhausted by the end.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago15 Comments

  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

    ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1′ Review

    It’s a solid entry in the series, and lays an intriguing foundation for Part 2, but on its own Mockingjay – Part 1 is rarely as entertaining or rewarding as its predecessors.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago65 Comments

  • Whiplash

    ‘Whiplash’ Review

    Whiplash is a tense (but somewhat hollow) psycho-thriller that features a ferocious performance to remember from J.K. Simmons.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago33 Comments

  • Foxcatcher

    ‘Foxcatcher’ Review

    ‘Foxcatcher’ is an interesting character study that struggles to convey insightful conclusions about its subjects.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago15 Comments

  • Rosewater

    ‘Rosewater’ Review

    Rosewater is emotionally sincere and thoughtful, but Jon Stewart’s movie also very much feels like a first-time director’s work.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago5 Comments

  • Interstellar

    ‘Interstellar’ Review

    Interstellar is an imaginative movie, but a heavy-handed mix of personal sacrifice and theoretical physics doesn’t leave much room for subtle storytelling.

    by Ben Kendrick | 5 months ago172 Comments

  • St. Vincent

    ‘St. Vincent’ Review

    St. Vincent is ultimately derivative of other (and better) indie filmmakers’ work, but thanks to Bill Murray’s performance, it’s still a pleasant and funny viewing experience.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 5 months ago2 Comments

  • John Wick

    ‘John Wick’ Review

    ‘John Wick’ excels, unapologetically, at what it seeks to be: a fun, pulpy, violent B-movie action romp, built upon a cool mythology within a compelling Noir world.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 5 months ago29 Comments

  • The Book of Life

    ‘The Book of Life’ Review

    The Book of Life works as a visually dazzling celebration of Mexican culture, though its conventional kids’ movie elements leave something to be desired.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 5 months ago11 Comments

  • Hector and the Search for Happiness

    ‘Hector and the Search for Happiness’ Review

    Hector and the Search for Happiness includes laughs and relatable drama but struggles to find successful balance between engaging journeys and thought-provoking destinations.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago3 Comments

  • The Boxtrolls

    ‘The Boxtrolls’ Review

    While The Boxtrolls doesn’t represent the studio’s best work, it’s nonetheless another visually-inventive, witty, and energetic fairy tale adventure to add to Laika’s mantlepiece

    by Sandy Schaefer | 6 months ago4 Comments

  • The Equalizer

    ‘The Equalizer’ Review

    The Equalizer is a slow-burn, B-movie hero origin story propped up by a great lead actor and some unique stylistic flourishes.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 6 months ago37 Comments

  • The Maze Runner

    ‘The Maze Runner’ Review

    The Maze Runner leans heavily on its premise, to the detriment of individual characters, but still succeeds as one of Hollywood’s better young adult adaptations.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago75 Comments

  • The Drop

    ‘The Drop’ Review

    The Drop is ultimately a solid mood piece, with strong performances that help elevate it above its derivative story elements.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago4 Comments

  • As Above, So Below

    ‘As Above, So Below’ Review

    ‘As Above, So Below’ milks a surprising amount of richness from its premise and found-footage format, but is hampered by its inability to fully develop both.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 7 months ago9 Comments

  • If I Stay

    ‘If I Stay’ Review

    If I Stay’s blend of teen romance and supernatural melodrama doesn’t break the YA mold, but it’s a decent addition to the genre nonetheless.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago11 Comments

  • Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

    ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’ Review

    ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’ is a jumbled but still enjoyable followup that, for most moviegoers, arrives on the scene too late.

    by Ben Kendrick | 7 months ago36 Comments

  • The Hundred-Foot Journey

    ‘The Hundred-Foot Journey’ Review

    The Hundred-Foot Journey is a by the numbers, yet charming, handsome, and well-acted dramedy that the whole family can enjoy.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 8 months ago7 Comments

  • Wish I Was Here

    ‘Wish I Was Here’ Review

    Wish I Was Here definitely suffers from some sophomore stumbles but still possesses enough memorable performances, biting wit, and thought-provoking insights to be a worthwhile viewing.

    by Ben Kendrick | 8 months ago6 Comments

  • Earth to Echo

    ‘Earth to Echo’ Review

    In the end, Earth to Echo is surprisingly more fun and heartfelt than the stigma it earned for being a found-footage knock-off.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 9 months ago27 Comments

  • Deliver Us From Evil

    ‘Deliver Us From Evil’ Review

    Horror movie fans that are looking for traditional paranormal suspense and jump scares will probably find that Deliver Us From Evil offers more drama than demonic thrills.

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago18 Comments

  • Transformers: Age of Extinction

    ‘Transformers: Age of Extinction’ Review

    Still, for audience members that enjoyed prior films in the series (even while acknowledging their faults), Transformers: Age of Extinction is the biggest Robots In Disguise movie yet.

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago249 Comments

  • Jersey Boys

    ‘Jersey Boys’ Review

    It’s a quality film – albeit one that doesn’t explore enough new ground (in the story or the musical film medium) to excite casual moviegoers looking for a fresh song and dance drama experience.

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago14 Comments

  • Edge of Tomorrow

    ‘Edge of Tomorrow’ Review

    As it stands, the uniqueness of the time reset premise and sci-fi action distinguish the film from so many others in the genre, and it is at least worth a matinée viewing on the big screen.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago101 Comments

  • Chef

    ‘Chef’ Review

    At the end of the day, though, Chef is successful in fulfilling its ambitions – offering a pleasant cinematic road trip, which also works as a palate cleanser for Favreau the filmmaker.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago13 Comments

  • Belle

    ‘Belle’ Review

    Belle might be a little too polite, for those who prefer their period dramas to be more souped up; at the same time, though, it has an intelligence that should make it more appealing.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago10 Comments

  • Locke

    ‘Locke’ Review

    Locke has its flaws, but manages to satisfy as a minimalist work of social realism that is both dramatically-rich and often quite engaging.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 11 months ago10 Comments