Latest 3 star movies

  • Night at the Museum 3

    ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’ Review

    ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’ is a fun enough trilogy-capper for every family or fan that has followed the series.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 6 hours ago6 Comments

  • The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies

    ‘The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies’ Review

    Peter Jackson’s Battle of the Five Armies ends his Hobbit trilogy on a somewhat underwhelming note, but it’s worth taking that final trip to his Middle-earth.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 days ago46 Comments

  • Exodus: Gods and Kings

    ‘Exodus: Gods and Kings’ Review

    Exodus: Gods and Kings is not an offensive Hollywood cash-grab, nor is it a particularly inventive revision of the Exodus story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 week ago105 Comments

  • Penguins of Madagascar

    ‘Penguins of Madagascar’ Review

    Its stars didn’t need their own movie, but there’s enough kid-friendly wit and non-stop humor to justify Penguins of Madagascar’s existence.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 weeks ago3 Comments

  • Horrible Bosses 2

    ‘Horrible Bosses 2′ Review

    Horrible Bosses 2 is another fun time with the crazy trio we met in the first film – only it’s a party that definitely feels exhausted by the end.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 3 weeks ago14 Comments

  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

    ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1′ Review

    It’s a solid entry in the series, and lays an intriguing foundation for Part 2, but on its own Mockingjay – Part 1 is rarely as entertaining or rewarding as its predecessors.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 weeks ago59 Comments

  • Whiplash

    ‘Whiplash’ Review

    Whiplash is a tense (but somewhat hollow) psycho-thriller that features a ferocious performance to remember from J.K. Simmons.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 month ago13 Comments

  • Foxcatcher

    ‘Foxcatcher’ Review

    ‘Foxcatcher’ is an interesting character study that struggles to convey insightful conclusions about its subjects.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 month ago13 Comments

  • Rosewater

    ‘Rosewater’ Review

    Rosewater is emotionally sincere and thoughtful, but Jon Stewart’s movie also very much feels like a first-time director’s work.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 month ago5 Comments

  • Interstellar

    ‘Interstellar’ Review

    Interstellar is an imaginative movie, but a heavy-handed mix of personal sacrifice and theoretical physics doesn’t leave much room for subtle storytelling.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 month ago145 Comments

  • St. Vincent

    ‘St. Vincent’ Review

    St. Vincent is ultimately derivative of other (and better) indie filmmakers’ work, but thanks to Bill Murray’s performance, it’s still a pleasant and funny viewing experience.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 months ago2 Comments

  • John Wick

    ‘John Wick’ Review

    ‘John Wick’ excels, unapologetically, at what it seeks to be: a fun, pulpy, violent B-movie action romp, built upon a cool mythology within a compelling Noir world.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 months ago24 Comments

  • The Book of Life

    ‘The Book of Life’ Review

    The Book of Life works as a visually dazzling celebration of Mexican culture, though its conventional kids’ movie elements leave something to be desired.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 months ago9 Comments

  • Hector and the Search for Happiness

    ‘Hector and the Search for Happiness’ Review

    Hector and the Search for Happiness includes laughs and relatable drama but struggles to find successful balance between engaging journeys and thought-provoking destinations.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 months ago3 Comments

  • The Boxtrolls

    ‘The Boxtrolls’ Review

    While The Boxtrolls doesn’t represent the studio’s best work, it’s nonetheless another visually-inventive, witty, and energetic fairy tale adventure to add to Laika’s mantlepiece

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 months ago4 Comments

  • The Equalizer

    ‘The Equalizer’ Review

    The Equalizer is a slow-burn, B-movie hero origin story propped up by a great lead actor and some unique stylistic flourishes.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 3 months ago36 Comments

  • The Maze Runner

    ‘The Maze Runner’ Review

    The Maze Runner leans heavily on its premise, to the detriment of individual characters, but still succeeds as one of Hollywood’s better young adult adaptations.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 months ago74 Comments

  • The Drop

    ‘The Drop’ Review

    The Drop is ultimately a solid mood piece, with strong performances that help elevate it above its derivative story elements.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 3 months ago4 Comments

  • As Above, So Below

    ‘As Above, So Below’ Review

    ‘As Above, So Below’ milks a surprising amount of richness from its premise and found-footage format, but is hampered by its inability to fully develop both.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago8 Comments

  • If I Stay

    ‘If I Stay’ Review

    If I Stay’s blend of teen romance and supernatural melodrama doesn’t break the YA mold, but it’s a decent addition to the genre nonetheless.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago11 Comments

  • Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

    ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’ Review

    ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’ is a jumbled but still enjoyable followup that, for most moviegoers, arrives on the scene too late.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago35 Comments

  • The Hundred-Foot Journey

    ‘The Hundred-Foot Journey’ Review

    The Hundred-Foot Journey is a by the numbers, yet charming, handsome, and well-acted dramedy that the whole family can enjoy.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago7 Comments

  • Wish I Was Here

    ‘Wish I Was Here’ Review

    Wish I Was Here definitely suffers from some sophomore stumbles but still possesses enough memorable performances, biting wit, and thought-provoking insights to be a worthwhile viewing.

    by Ben Kendrick | 5 months ago6 Comments

  • Earth to Echo

    ‘Earth to Echo’ Review

    In the end, Earth to Echo is surprisingly more fun and heartfelt than the stigma it earned for being a found-footage knock-off.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 6 months ago25 Comments

  • Deliver Us From Evil

    ‘Deliver Us From Evil’ Review

    Horror movie fans that are looking for traditional paranormal suspense and jump scares will probably find that Deliver Us From Evil offers more drama than demonic thrills.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago18 Comments

  • Transformers: Age of Extinction

    ‘Transformers: Age of Extinction’ Review

    Still, for audience members that enjoyed prior films in the series (even while acknowledging their faults), Transformers: Age of Extinction is the biggest Robots In Disguise movie yet.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago246 Comments

  • Jersey Boys

    ‘Jersey Boys’ Review

    It’s a quality film – albeit one that doesn’t explore enough new ground (in the story or the musical film medium) to excite casual moviegoers looking for a fresh song and dance drama experience.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago14 Comments

  • Edge of Tomorrow

    ‘Edge of Tomorrow’ Review

    As it stands, the uniqueness of the time reset premise and sci-fi action distinguish the film from so many others in the genre, and it is at least worth a matinée viewing on the big screen.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 7 months ago101 Comments

  • Chef

    ‘Chef’ Review

    At the end of the day, though, Chef is successful in fulfilling its ambitions – offering a pleasant cinematic road trip, which also works as a palate cleanser for Favreau the filmmaker.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago13 Comments

  • Belle

    ‘Belle’ Review

    Belle might be a little too polite, for those who prefer their period dramas to be more souped up; at the same time, though, it has an intelligence that should make it more appealing.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago10 Comments

  • Locke

    ‘Locke’ Review

    Locke has its flaws, but manages to satisfy as a minimalist work of social realism that is both dramatically-rich and often quite engaging.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago9 Comments

  • Million Dollar Arm

    ‘Million Dollar Arm’ Review

    Million Dollar Arm features a strong cast, an accomplished screenwriter, and a quality director – who ultimately deliver a solid but unremarkable sports drama.

    by Ben Kendrick | 7 months ago12 Comments

  • Neighbors

    ‘Neighbors’ Review

    Neighbors is a smart blend of prior Stoller films – a likable mix of over-the-top comedy beats grounded with relatable characters and life scenarios.

    by Ben Kendrick | 7 months ago25 Comments

  • The Amazing Spider-Man 2

    ‘The Amazing Spider-Man 2′ Review

    All in all, this movie feels like a step in the right direction for the rebooted Spider-Man franchise – hopefully leading to better installments in the future.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 8 months ago234 Comments

  • The Other Woman

    ‘The Other Woman’ Review

    The Other Woman is a semi-successful femme comedy showcase hampered by its own rom-com conventions, which undercut any real intelligent or insightful thematic messages.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 8 months ago19 Comments

  • Under the Skin

    ‘Under the Skin’ Review

    For cinephiles that enjoy artistic debate more than concrete answers, the film allows an intriguing platform for discussion and reflection.

    by Ben Kendrick | 8 months ago53 Comments

  • The Raid 2

    ‘The Raid 2′ Review

    The Raid 2 leaves us somewhere in a middle ground: a slow and convoluted crime saga story to sift through in order to experience some bigger, bloodier, crazier action sequence highlights.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 8 months ago70 Comments

  • Muppets Most Wanted

    ‘Muppets Most Wanted’ Review

    Muppets Most Wanted isn’t likely to wow casual filmgoers who gave The Muppets a chance three years ago, it accomplishes its primary goal – providing another enjoyable adventure.

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago13 Comments

  • Veronica Mars

    ‘Veronica Mars’ Review

    The Veronica Mars movie is a win-win for fans and filmmakers alike and a fitting sendoff to the beloved series.

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago12 Comments

  • Mr. Peabody & Sherman

    ‘Mr. Peabody & Sherman’ Review

    Peabody has a heart and mind, but compared to something like The LEGO Movie, this is definitely a second-tier contender for your dollar.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago13 Comments

  • 300: Rise of an Empire

    ’300: Rise of an Empire’ Review

    It may not court casual moviegoers as easily as its predecessor, but Murro succeeds at delivering a 300 sequel that fans will enjoy watching.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months ago38 Comments

  • About Last Night

    ‘About Last Night’ Review

    About Last Night isn’t a movie one would necessarily need to rush out to a theater to see, but it is definitely something more unique than your average rom-com flick.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago5 Comments

  • Justice League: War

    ‘Justice League: War’ Review

    War is only slightly better than its slightly good source material – but hopefully it will serve as a good introduction for mainstream viewers.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 11 months ago113 Comments

  • Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit

    ‘Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit’ Review

    Shadow Recruit falls short of realizing the character’s full franchise potential – resulting in a good but not particularly groundbreaking spy movie effort.

    by Ben Kendrick | 11 months ago26 Comments

  • Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

    ‘Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom’ Review

    The film often feels like a homework assignment you’ve been required to watch – insightful, for sure, but something of a chore to sit through.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 12 months ago7 Comments

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

    ‘The Secret Life of Walter Mitty’ Review

    Despite any setbacks, Stiller’s adaptation is an inspiring and beautifully shot character adventure – one that even manages to get a worthwhile message across without becoming too preachy.

    by Ben Kendrick | 12 months ago23 Comments

  • Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues

    ‘Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues’ Review

    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues will likely fall short of certain viewer expectations, the followup is still slightly better than a lot of its contemporaries.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago30 Comments

  • Out of the Furnace

    ‘Out of the Furnace’ Review

    Out of the Furnace is definitely one of those mood movies where style trumps substance. However, it is a well-made and well-acted mood movie.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago14 Comments

  • Oldboy

    ‘Oldboy’ Review

    The Oldboy remake is second-fiddle in nearly every way to its South Korean inspiration (save performances).

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago37 Comments

  • Black Nativity

    ‘Black Nativity’ Review

    Moviegoers looking for seasonal entertainment that is accessible and family-friendly (without also being treacly and/or bland) – this is a Christmas show that you might want to check out.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago12 Comments