Latest 2.5 star movies

  • The Giver

    ‘The Giver’ Review

    ‘The Giver’ movie is a surprisingly generic addition to the young adult film genre – especially for a story that champions individuality and self-expression.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 days ago7 Comments

  • The Expendables 3

    ‘The Expendables 3′ Review

    The Expendables 3 offers its share of old-school action thrills and fun, yet it has the same problems as its predecessors – and then some.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 6 days ago75 Comments

  • TMNT

    ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’ Review

    TMNT is shallow popcorn entertainment – but on the spectrum of reboots and remakes, it falls on the safe side of honorable.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 weeks ago165 Comments

  • Lucy

    ‘Lucy’ Review

    Lucy will not speak to a wide audience but those that fall within its target reach should be rewarded with thought-provoking science fiction.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 weeks ago47 Comments

  • Hercules

    ‘Hercules’ Review

    Basically, if the phrase Brett Ratner’s Hercules starring The Rock sounds like a fun movie to you, then you’ll get your money’s worth from the film.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 weeks ago53 Comments

  • The Purge: Anarchy

    ‘The Purge: Anarchy’ Review

    The Purge: Anarchy is a step down from the original in terms of narrative (and that’s saying something), but the basic promise of the series – thrills, kills, and mayhem – is still fulfilled in satisfying fashion.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 month ago18 Comments

  • Think Like A Man Too

    ‘Think Like A Man Too’ Review

    In the end, Think Like A Man Too is an obligatory sequel to an unexpected success ($96 million on a $12 million budget) that – unlike 22 Jump Street – is perfectly content to rest on its laurels.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 months ago15 Comments

  • A Million Ways to Die in the West

    ‘A Million Ways to Die in the West’ Review

    No doubt, there’s a market for films like A Million Ways to Die in the West and longtime MacFarlane fans (as well as raunch-comedy lovers) should find plenty to enjoy in the Western spoof.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 months ago36 Comments

  • Son of Batman

    ‘Son of Batman’ Review

    Son of Batman has action, it has fan-favorite character cameos, but it will be best enjoyed if expectations are tempered, and if one ill-voiced boy can be endured.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago66 Comments

  • Dom Hemingway

    ‘Dom Hemingway’ Review

    In spite of its shortcomings, moviegoers who appreciate an ensemble of oddball characters and tongue-in-cheek criminal drama will likely find enjoyment in Dom Hemingway.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago5 Comments

  • Oculus

    ‘Oculus’ Review

    For fans of the genre, the unique stylistic approach to haunted house horror will be a novelty of sorts – just don’t be disappointed when it all ends with a fizzle instead of a bang.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago12 Comments

  • Draft Day

    ‘Draft Day’ Review

    Thanks to a solid performance from Coster and some witty character beats, casual moviegoers should find adequate amusement in Reitman’s film.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago8 Comments

  • Rio 2

    ‘Rio 2′ Review

    The enjoyable music and traces of authentic Brazilian spirit in Rio 2 tip the quality scale towards good, providing enough decent material to compensate for the film’s derivative qualities.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago7 Comments

  • Divergent

    ‘Divergent’ Review

    Divergent, falls somewhere in a middle ground between high points of The Hunger Games and the low points of The Twilight Saga.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 5 months ago40 Comments

  • Need for Speed

    ‘Need for Speed’ Review

    Car lovers and films fans that are willing to switch off their brains should find Need for Speed offers (at the very least) an amusing ride.

    by Ben Kendrick | 5 months ago25 Comments

  • Non-Stop

    ‘Non-Stop’ Review

    With skilled and charismatic captains in the cockpit, and a solid flight crew helping things along, this in-flight movie turns out to be an okay ride for the ticket price.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 6 months ago35 Comments

  • Winter's Tale

    ‘Winter’s Tale’ Review

    If you’re willing to embrace (or, at the least, accept) Goldsman’s sentinmental approach, then you might find his new film to be a meaningful fantasy yarn about life and love.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 6 months ago11 Comments

  • RoboCop

    ‘RoboCop’ Review

    The film has plenty of flaws but should be entertaining for sci-fi action fans, thanks to interesting world-building, captivating existential ideas, and cool robo-action.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago87 Comments

  • Labor Day

    ‘Labor Day’ Review

    Labor Day is neither complete failure nor a real triumph, but something in-between, thanks to Reitman and his cast’s commitment to the (at the least, questionable) material.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago3 Comments

  • That Awkward Moment

    ‘That Awkward Moment’ Review

    That Awkward Moment doesn’t break any new ground in examining the complications of modern relationships, it does feature a few intriguing grains of truth that will be especially insightful.

    by Ben Kendrick | 7 months ago8 Comments

  • The Nut Job

    ‘The Nut Job’ Review

    To sum it all up: as a simple, but easy-going animated crime/caper pastiche, The Nut Job provides enough in the way of colorful entertainment.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago8 Comments

  • Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones

    ‘Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones’ Review

    despite improvements to the story experience, The Marked Ones proves that what we can actually see, no matter how dangerous, is significantly less terrifying.

    by Ben Kendrick | 8 months ago17 Comments

  • 47 Ronin

    ’47 Ronin’ Review

    47 Ronin is, ultimately, a harmless piece of action movie fluff married to a period epic.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 8 months ago61 Comments

  • Grudge Match

    ‘Grudge Match’ Review

    Read our ‘Grudge Match’ review and find out if the sports comedy – starring Sylvester Stallone and Robert De Niro – is more than ‘Grumpy Old Men’ with boxing.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 8 months ago5 Comments

  • Delivery Man

    ‘Delivery Man’ Review

    Read our ‘Delivery Man’ review to find out if director Ken Scott offers a fun and heartfelt American remake to his 2011 Canadian comedy ‘Starbuck.’

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago7 Comments

  • Last Vegas

    ‘Last Vegas’ Review

    Read our ‘Last Vegas’ movie review to find out if Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, Morgan Freeman, and Kevin Kline deliver a fun (elderly) twist on the ‘Hangover’ comedy formula.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months ago3 Comments

  • Man of Tai Chi

    ‘Man of Tai Chi’ Review

    Read our ‘Man of Tai Chi’ Review to find out if Keanu Reeves’ directorial debut is an action-packed martial arts thrill ride.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago13 Comments

  • All Is Lost

    ‘All Is Lost’ Review

    Read our ‘All Is Lost’ review and find out if Robert Redford’s survival at sea drama/thriller is an intense and thematically-rich man vs. nature tale.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago13 Comments

  • A.C.O.D.

    A.C.O.D. Review

    Read our ‘A.C.O.D.’ movie review to find out if director Stu Zicherman and star Adam Scott deliver a funny and insightful look at adult children of divorce.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months agoNo Comments

  • The Fifth Estate

    ‘The Fifth Estate’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Fifth Estate’ to find out if Oscar-winning director Bill Condon and star Benedict Cumberbatch turn the story of WikiLeaks and Julian Assange into a good cinematic thriller.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago16 Comments

  • Romeo and Juliet

    ‘Romeo and Juliet’ Review

    Read our ‘Romeo and Juliet’ review to find out if the film adapts Shakespeare’s classic tragedy play into a passionate tale of doomed romance.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago6 Comments

  • Closed Circuit

    ‘Closed Circuit’ Review

    Read our ‘Closed Circuit’ review to find out if the thriller starring Eric Bana offers exciting suspense and thought-provoking political drama.

    by Ben Kendrick | 12 months ago5 Comments

  • You're Next

    ‘You’re Next’ Review

    Read our ‘You’re Next’ review and find out if the film is a terrifying, funny and subversive take on the home-invasion thriller genre.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 12 months ago25 Comments

  • Lee Daniels' The Butler

    ‘Lee Daniels’ The Butler’ Review

    Read our ‘Lee Daniels’ The Butler’ review and find out if the film is a poignant and insightful historical drama, based on the real-life of former White House butler Eugene Allen.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago40 Comments

  • Elysium

    ‘Elysium’ Review

    Read our ‘Elysium’ review to find out if director Neil Blomkamp’s new sci-fi drama is as thought-provoking and exciting as his previous film, ‘District 9.’

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago233 Comments

  • Europa Report

    ‘Europa Report’ Review

    Is ‘Europa Report’ a good example of indie sci-fi in the found-footage format? Read our review to find out.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago24 Comments

  • Turbo

    ‘Turbo’ Review

    Read our ‘Turbo’ movie review and find out if the film – where Ryan Reynolds voices a fast-racing snail – is a fun and worthwhile offering from DreamWorks Animation.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago9 Comments

  • The Way, Way Back

    ‘The Way, Way Back’ Review

    Read our ‘The Way, Way Back’ review and find out if the film’s great cast makes this coming of age comedy/drama worth seeing in theaters.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago6 Comments

  • Maniac

    ‘Maniac’ Review

    Read our ‘Maniac’ (2013) review to find out if this Elijah Wood and Alexandre Aja slasher horror remake is a sick and twisted experiment in the use of first-person perspective.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago23 Comments

  • The Big Wedding

    ‘The Big Wedding’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Big Wedding’ to find out if this wedding comedy-drama lives up to the reputations of its star-studded cast.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago19 Comments

  • Pain & Gain

    ‘Pain & Gain’ Review

    Read our ‘Pain & Gain’ movie review to find out if Michael Bay’s ‘based on a true crime’ comedy delivers an entertaining stranger than fiction movie experience.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago44 Comments

  • Trance

    ‘Trance’ Review

    Read our ‘Trance’ review and find out if the Danny Boyle film is a slickly made neo-Noir thriller or an overly-contrived crime-drama.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago19 Comments

  • The Call

    ‘The Call’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Call’ to find out if Halle Berry and director Brad Anderson’s new film is a taut and gripping thriller.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago15 Comments

  • The Incredible Burt Wonderstone

    ‘The Incredible Burt Wonderstone’ Review

    Read ‘Incredible Burt Wonderstone’ review to find out if this Steve Carell and Jim Carrey magician’s tale provides worthwhile comedy magic.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago23 Comments

  • 21 and Over

    ’21 and Over’ Review

    Read our ’21 and Over’ review to find out if the writers of ‘The Hangover’ have made a funny and heart-warming college raunch comedy.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago10 Comments

  • Dark Skies

    ‘Dark Skies’ Review

    Read our ‘Dark Skies’ review to find out if the sci-fi horror/thriller is a worthwhile spin on genre conventions.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago15 Comments

  • Parker

    ‘Parker’ Review

    Read our ‘Parker’ review and find out if the crime-thriller makes for a memorable addition to Jason Statham’s filmography.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 years ago24 Comments

  • Mama

    ‘Mama’ Review

    Read our ‘Mama’ review to see if this Guillermo del Toro-produced horror tale offers enough thrills and chills to make it worth ticket price.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago24 Comments

  • Promised Land

    ‘Promised Land’ Review

    Read our ‘Promised Land’ review. Does the film, which reunites ‘Good Will Hunting’ pair Matt Damon and director Gus Van Sant, offer a thoughtful and engaging Capra-esque environmental tale?

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 years ago13 Comments

  • Parental Guidance

    ‘Parental Guidance’ Review

    Read our ‘Parental Guidance’ review to find out if the Billy Crystal and Bette Midler-starring film is a sweet and funny comedy for the whole family.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 years ago11 Comments

  • The Guilt Trip

    ‘The Guilt Trip’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Guilt Trip.’ Do Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand offer enough laughs and heartwarming drama for a memorable on-the-road comedy?

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago10 Comments

  • Red Dawn

    ‘Red Dawn’ Review

    Read our ‘Red Dawn’ review to find out if the story of young Americans battling invading forces is as effective in 2012 as it was in the Cold War era of the 1980s.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago39 Comments

  • The Bay

    ‘The Bay’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Bay’ to find out if director Barry Levinson has delivered a found footage eco-horror film that is both frightening and provocative.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago19 Comments

  • Silent Hill: Revelation 3D

    ‘Silent Hill: Revelation 3D’ Review

    Read our ‘Silent Hill: Revelation 3D’ review to find out if director Michael J. Bassett has delivered both an intriguing video game adaptation and a scary movie experience.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago25 Comments

  • Taken 2

    ‘Taken 2′ Review

    Read our ‘Taken 2′ review to find out if director Olivier Megaton has delivered a worthwhile follow-up – and plenty of satisfying Liam Neeson throat punches.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago111 Comments

  • V/H/S

    V/H/S Review

    Our ‘V/H/S’ review breaks down the found-footage horror anthology to see if its various parts equate to a terrifying whole.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago45 Comments

  • Hit & Run

    ‘Hit & Run’ Review

    Our ‘Hit & Run’ review reveals whether real-life couple Kristen Bell and Dax Shepard (and friends like Bradley Cooper) are able to bring some authentic chemistry to the big screen.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago8 Comments

  • The Campaign

    ‘The Campaign’ Review

    Read our review to find out if ‘The Campaign’ is a piece of funny, edgy, political satire, or a retread of old Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis schtick.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 years ago14 Comments

  • Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

    ‘Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter’ Review

    Is ‘Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter’ a successful mashup of historical drama and supernatural action/horror? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago91 Comments

  • Rock of Ages

    ‘Rock of Ages’ Review

    Adam Shankman (Hairspray) is back with another Broadway show turned movie musical but can ‘Rock of Ages’ satisfy song and dance enthusiasts as well as non-fan newcomers? Read our review.

    by Ben Kendrick | 2 years ago59 Comments

Be Social, Follow Us!!