Latest 2 star movies

  • The Giver

    ‘The Giver’ Review

    ‘The Giver’ movie is a surprisingly generic addition to the young adult film genre – especially for a story that champions individuality and self-expression.

    by Ben Kendrick | 5 days ago7 Comments

  • The Expendables 3

    ‘The Expendables 3′ Review

    The Expendables 3 offers its share of old-school action thrills and fun, yet it has the same problems as its predecessors – and then some.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 5 days ago75 Comments

  • Let's Be Cops

    ‘Let’s Be Cops’ Review

    Let’s Be Cops tries to offer coming-of-age gravitas, action movie thrills and comedic slapstick, but never excels at any one of them.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 6 days ago6 Comments

  • TMNT

    ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’ Review

    TMNT is shallow popcorn entertainment – but on the spectrum of reboots and remakes, it falls on the safe side of honorable.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 weeks ago165 Comments

  • Lucy

    ‘Lucy’ Review

    Lucy will not speak to a wide audience but those that fall within its target reach should be rewarded with thought-provoking science fiction.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 weeks ago47 Comments

  • Hercules

    ‘Hercules’ Review

    Basically, if the phrase Brett Ratner’s Hercules starring The Rock sounds like a fun movie to you, then you’ll get your money’s worth from the film.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 weeks ago53 Comments

  • The Purge: Anarchy

    ‘The Purge: Anarchy’ Review

    The Purge: Anarchy is a step down from the original in terms of narrative (and that’s saying something), but the basic promise of the series – thrills, kills, and mayhem – is still fulfilled in satisfying fashion.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 month ago18 Comments

  • Planes: Fire & Rescue

    ‘Planes: Fire & Rescue’ Review

    The short of it: Planes: Fire & Rescue is a better made film than its predecessor on a technical level, but otherwise just as generic (in some ways, more so) on a storytelling level.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 month ago17 Comments

  • Sex Tape

    ‘Sex Tape’ Review

    Despite an intriguing setup, Sex Tape squanders its clever premise with an underwhelming combination of cheap jokes and ham-fisted family drama.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 month ago6 Comments

  • Tammy

    ‘Tammy’ Review

    One the whole, Tammy is yet another effective demonstration of McCarthy’s comedic abilities – but much like its protagonist, the film is too jumbled and directionless for its own good.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 2 months ago22 Comments

  • Think Like A Man Too

    ‘Think Like A Man Too’ Review

    In the end, Think Like A Man Too is an obligatory sequel to an unexpected success ($96 million on a $12 million budget) that – unlike 22 Jump Street – is perfectly content to rest on its laurels.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 2 months ago15 Comments

  • A Million Ways to Die in the West

    ‘A Million Ways to Die in the West’ Review

    No doubt, there’s a market for films like A Million Ways to Die in the West and longtime MacFarlane fans (as well as raunch-comedy lovers) should find plenty to enjoy in the Western spoof.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 months ago36 Comments

  • Maleficent

    ‘Maleficent’ Review

    Maleficent is yet another old Disney product re-packaged with a big-name star and visionary director, in order to sell a “modern” fairy tale to audiences.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 3 months ago95 Comments

  • Blended

    ‘Blended’ Review

    The movie spends a lot of time venturing to develop a meaningful relationship between the two families and, at times, the filmmakers actually brush against a deeper (not to mention smarter) story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 3 months ago25 Comments

  • Son of Batman

    ‘Son of Batman’ Review

    Son of Batman has action, it has fan-favorite character cameos, but it will be best enjoyed if expectations are tempered, and if one ill-voiced boy can be endured.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago66 Comments

  • The Quiet Ones

    ‘The Quiet Ones’ Review

    The Quiet Ones isn’t a terrible film – just a hodgepodge of retro and modern horror elements that isn’t all that memorable.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago10 Comments

  • Dom Hemingway

    ‘Dom Hemingway’ Review

    In spite of its shortcomings, moviegoers who appreciate an ensemble of oddball characters and tongue-in-cheek criminal drama will likely find enjoyment in Dom Hemingway.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago5 Comments

  • Transcendence

    ‘Transcendence’ Review

    They must’ve titled this movie with total irony, because Transcendence stumbles hard in its attempt to rise above.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago80 Comments

  • Oculus

    ‘Oculus’ Review

    For fans of the genre, the unique stylistic approach to haunted house horror will be a novelty of sorts – just don’t be disappointed when it all ends with a fizzle instead of a bang.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 4 months ago12 Comments

  • Draft Day

    ‘Draft Day’ Review

    Thanks to a solid performance from Coster and some witty character beats, casual moviegoers should find adequate amusement in Reitman’s film.

    by Ben Kendrick | 4 months ago8 Comments

  • Rio 2

    ‘Rio 2′ Review

    The enjoyable music and traces of authentic Brazilian spirit in Rio 2 tip the quality scale towards good, providing enough decent material to compensate for the film’s derivative qualities.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 4 months ago7 Comments

  • Bad Words

    ‘Bad Words’ Review

    Bad Words plays out as a farce that (sadly) just isn’t all that insightful, witty, or creative with how it approaches its premise – one that is innately kind of funny, but only goes so far.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 5 months ago3 Comments

  • Divergent

    ‘Divergent’ Review

    Divergent, falls somewhere in a middle ground between high points of The Hunger Games and the low points of The Twilight Saga.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 5 months ago40 Comments

  • Need for Speed

    ‘Need for Speed’ Review

    Car lovers and films fans that are willing to switch off their brains should find Need for Speed offers (at the very least) an amusing ride.

    by Ben Kendrick | 5 months ago25 Comments

  • Non-Stop

    ‘Non-Stop’ Review

    With skilled and charismatic captains in the cockpit, and a solid flight crew helping things along, this in-flight movie turns out to be an okay ride for the ticket price.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 6 months ago35 Comments

  • 3 Days to Kill

    ’3 Days to Kill’ Review

    3 Days to Kill offers little substance that hasn’t been handled more effectively in previous Besson Euro-action/thrillers.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 6 months ago13 Comments

  • Winter's Tale

    ‘Winter’s Tale’ Review

    If you’re willing to embrace (or, at the least, accept) Goldsman’s sentinmental approach, then you might find his new film to be a meaningful fantasy yarn about life and love.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 6 months ago11 Comments

  • RoboCop

    ‘RoboCop’ Review

    The film has plenty of flaws but should be entertaining for sci-fi action fans, thanks to interesting world-building, captivating existential ideas, and cool robo-action.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago87 Comments

  • Vampire Academy

    ‘Vampire Academy’ Review

    Vampire Academy will probably only satisfy fans of the original books, who just want to see their favorite characters (and the world that they inhabit) brought to life.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 6 months ago52 Comments

  • The Monuments Men

    ‘The Monuments Men’ Review

    Fans of historical dramas will likely find enough reason to enjoy The Monuments Men but the movie wastes a powerful source material story.

    by Ben Kendrick | 6 months ago12 Comments

  • Labor Day

    ‘Labor Day’ Review

    Labor Day is neither complete failure nor a real triumph, but something in-between, thanks to Reitman and his cast’s commitment to the (at the least, questionable) material.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago3 Comments

  • That Awkward Moment

    ‘That Awkward Moment’ Review

    That Awkward Moment doesn’t break any new ground in examining the complications of modern relationships, it does feature a few intriguing grains of truth that will be especially insightful.

    by Ben Kendrick | 7 months ago8 Comments

  • I, Frankenstein

    ‘I, Frankenstein’ Review

    It doesn’t break new ground but I, Frankenstein is not the ridiculous train wreck that some hardcore movie buffs were expecting.

    by Ben Kendrick | 7 months ago43 Comments

  • Gimme Shelter

    ‘Gimme Shelter’ Review

    Whether or not you agree with Krauss’ political/philosophical leanings in Gimme Shelter, the film does generally have its heart in the right place.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago9 Comments

  • Ride Along

    ‘Ride Along’ Review

    Is mostly just a mashup of watered-down action/comedy tropes (think Rush Hour) and uninspired slapstick that is less imaginative than that featured in last year’s female buddy-cop comedy The Heat.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago31 Comments

  • The Nut Job

    ‘The Nut Job’ Review

    To sum it all up: as a simple, but easy-going animated crime/caper pastiche, The Nut Job provides enough in the way of colorful entertainment.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 7 months ago8 Comments

  • Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones

    ‘Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones’ Review

    despite improvements to the story experience, The Marked Ones proves that what we can actually see, no matter how dangerous, is significantly less terrifying.

    by Ben Kendrick | 8 months ago17 Comments

  • 47 Ronin

    ’47 Ronin’ Review

    47 Ronin is, ultimately, a harmless piece of action movie fluff married to a period epic.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 8 months ago61 Comments

  • Grudge Match

    ‘Grudge Match’ Review

    Read our ‘Grudge Match’ review and find out if the sports comedy – starring Sylvester Stallone and Robert De Niro – is more than ‘Grumpy Old Men’ with boxing.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 8 months ago5 Comments

  • Walking with Dinosaurs

    ‘Walking with Dinosaurs’ Review

    Read our ‘Walking with Dinosaurs’ review and find out if the 3D feature is a fun and informative prehistoric adventure for the whole family.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 8 months ago8 Comments

  • Delivery Man

    ‘Delivery Man’ Review

    Read our ‘Delivery Man’ review to find out if director Ken Scott offers a fun and heartfelt American remake to his 2011 Canadian comedy ‘Starbuck.’

    by Ben Kendrick | 9 months ago7 Comments

  • The Upper Footage

    ‘The Upper Footage’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Upper Footage’ to find out if this potentially controversial found-footage movie is worth the hype surrounding it.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 9 months ago17 Comments

  • Free Birds

    ‘Free Birds’ Review

    Read our ‘Free Birds’ movie review to find out if a 3D animated feature about time-traveling turkeys makes for good and whimsical family entertainment.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago12 Comments

  • Last Vegas

    ‘Last Vegas’ Review

    Read our ‘Last Vegas’ movie review to find out if Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, Morgan Freeman, and Kevin Kline deliver a fun (elderly) twist on the ‘Hangover’ comedy formula.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months ago3 Comments

  • Man of Tai Chi

    ‘Man of Tai Chi’ Review

    Read our ‘Man of Tai Chi’ Review to find out if Keanu Reeves’ directorial debut is an action-packed martial arts thrill ride.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago13 Comments

  • All Is Lost

    ‘All Is Lost’ Review

    Read our ‘All Is Lost’ review and find out if Robert Redford’s survival at sea drama/thriller is an intense and thematically-rich man vs. nature tale.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago13 Comments

  • A.C.O.D.

    A.C.O.D. Review

    Read our ‘A.C.O.D.’ movie review to find out if director Stu Zicherman and star Adam Scott deliver a funny and insightful look at adult children of divorce.

    by Ben Kendrick | 10 months agoNo Comments

  • The Fifth Estate

    ‘The Fifth Estate’ Review

    Read our review of ‘The Fifth Estate’ to find out if Oscar-winning director Bill Condon and star Benedict Cumberbatch turn the story of WikiLeaks and Julian Assange into a good cinematic thriller.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago16 Comments

  • Escape Plan

    ‘Escape Plan’ Review

    Read our ‘Escape Plan’ Review to find out if the teaming of Sylvester Stallone and Arnold Schwarzenegger is an epic and fun action movie experience.

    by Kofi Outlaw | 10 months ago34 Comments

  • Machete Kills

    ‘Machete Kills’ Review

    Read our ‘Machete Kills’ review and find out if the Robert Rodriguez sequel is a fun and cleverly self-aware celebration of schlock cinema.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago33 Comments

  • Romeo and Juliet

    ‘Romeo and Juliet’ Review

    Read our ‘Romeo and Juliet’ review to find out if the film adapts Shakespeare’s classic tragedy play into a passionate tale of doomed romance.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 10 months ago6 Comments

  • Runner Runner

    ‘Runner Runner’ Review

    Read our ‘Runner Runner’ review to find out if Justin Timberlake and Ben Affleck deliver a gambling drama that is both intelligent and entertaining.

    by Ben Kendrick | 11 months ago18 Comments

  • Baggage Claim

    ‘Baggage Claim’ Review

    Is ‘Baggage Claim’ a funny and charming romantic comedy, starring Paula Patton, Taye Diggs and… Adam Brody? Read our review and find out.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 11 months ago5 Comments

  • Closed Circuit

    ‘Closed Circuit’ Review

    Read our ‘Closed Circuit’ review to find out if the thriller starring Eric Bana offers exciting suspense and thought-provoking political drama.

    by Ben Kendrick | 12 months ago5 Comments

  • You're Next

    ‘You’re Next’ Review

    Read our ‘You’re Next’ review and find out if the film is a terrifying, funny and subversive take on the home-invasion thriller genre.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 12 months ago25 Comments

  • Lee Daniels' The Butler

    ‘Lee Daniels’ The Butler’ Review

    Read our ‘Lee Daniels’ The Butler’ review and find out if the film is a poignant and insightful historical drama, based on the real-life of former White House butler Eugene Allen.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago40 Comments

  • Jobs

    ‘Jobs’ Review

    Read our ‘Jobs’ movie review to find out if director Joshua Michael Stern and star Ashton Kutcher deliver an entertaining and insightful Steve Jobs biopic.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago19 Comments

  • Elysium

    ‘Elysium’ Review

    Read our ‘Elysium’ review to find out if director Neil Blomkamp’s new sci-fi drama is as thought-provoking and exciting as his previous film, ‘District 9.’

    by Kofi Outlaw | 1 year ago233 Comments

  • Planes

    ‘Planes’ Review

    Read our ‘Planes’ review and find out if the DisneyToon Studios movie is a fun and heartfelt 3D animated underdog sports flick.

    by Sandy Schaefer | 1 year ago22 Comments

  • Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

    ‘Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters’ Review

    Read our ‘Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters’ review to find out if the second installment in the family friendly adventure series is even better than the first.

    by Ben Kendrick | 1 year ago108 Comments

Be Social, Follow Us!!