9 Movies We’re Looking Forward To: March 2013

Published 1 year ago by This is a list post.

9 Movies We're Looking Forward To: March 2013

March 2013 Movie PreviewMarch has become a month that contains the first airs of summer – big budget blockbusters rubbing elbows with more genre-focused fare. That said, a few March releases like 300, Alice in Wonderland, and The Hunger Games, have ranked in the top 10 box office takes in their respective years. While there might not be a Hunger Games hidden among this bunch, there are one or two candidates that could do very well - while others are looking more like big disappointments. Here are 9 movies we're looking forward to in March 2013.

March 1st: Jack the Giant Slayer

March 2013 Preview - Jack Giant Slayer Although the film's marketing thus far hasn't exactly sold audiences on this reimagining of the classic fairy tale, there's still hope for Jack the Giant Slayer; there's also the possibility Jack will start March on a bad note. We don't want to see signs when they're might not be any, but it seems oddly counterproductive of Singer to hype his work on the much anticipated X-Men: Days of Future Past, mere weeks before Jack hits theaters. There's also some points of overlap between X-Men and Jack, namely the presence of Nicholas Hoult – who plays Jack in this film and a young Beast in X-Men. We'd like Jack and the Giant Slayer to be good - for Singer and Hoult's sake - but those really bad posters have made us very wary. Check out the trailer for Jack the Giant Slayer.

March 1st: The Last Exorcism: Part 2

March 2013 Preview - Last Exorcism Part 2 The fact that someone signed off on The Last Exorcism Part 2, at least from a titling perspective, is laughable. However, considering the original film grossed a reported $67 million off a budget of $1.5 million it's a little easier to see why. The found footage genre has taken a beating as of late – with Paranormal Activity 4 failing to reach the benchmarks of its predecessors – and as a result this sequel has chosen more traditional filmmaking techniques. And surprisingly, there is a story to followup on from the first Last Exorcism, as Nell Sweetzer discovers her first exorcism was not her last. The first film was a surprise hit even from a narrative perspective, but it's hard to imagine audiences were clamoring for a sequel. That said, horror films of all kinds are known to surprise us with solid opening weekends at the box office, so we've got our eye on this one. Check out the trailer for The Last Exorcism: Part 2.

March 8th: Oz the Great and Powerful

March 2013 Preview - Oz Great and Powerful We all know the story of Dorothy and Oz, but what came before the tornado and the Technicolor transition? Well, Oz the Great and Powerful seeks to answer some of those questions. In the film, James Franco plays Oscar Diggs, a magician who would go on to become the eponymous wizard. And like's Dorothy's journey, Oscar's includes encounters with witches (both good and bad) and flying monkeys. With Spider-Man director Sam Raimi at the helm, Oz the Great and Powerful could be something really special. It's been almost 80 years since the Wizard of Oz, but there's no reason Raimi couldn't easily capture the wonder and discovery associated with that classic film. We'll just have to wait to see if the return to Oz was worth the wait. Check out the trailer for Oz the Great and Powerful.

March 8th: Dead Man Down

March 2013 Preview - Dead Man Down Noomi Rapace reunites with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo director Niels Arden Oplev for Dead Man Down, a noir thriller also starring Colin Farrell. The basic premise focuses on a revenge plot involving Farell's character, a former enforcer, seeking revenge for the death of his wife and daughter. And, as it turns out, the man responsible for said deaths is his former boss, played by Terrence Howard. Things only get complicated from there as Farrell's character becomes involved with Beatrice (Rapace), a woman seeking her own vengeance. Dead Man Down might easily be passed over as a generic thriller with some decent talent, but the reunion of Ardev and Rapace has us intrigued. Check out the trailer for Dead Man Down.

March 15th: The Incredible Burt Wonderstone

March 2013 Preview - Incredible Burt Wonderstone A comedy titled The Incredible Burt Wonderstone, about rival magicians and starring Jim Carrey and Steve Carell, needs almost no introduction - nor does it need any marketing. The last film to feature the two actors as rivals – the 2003 comedy Bruce Almighty – went on to gross $484 million at the box office. It also spawned a sequel: the less liked, but still profitable Evan Almighty. Nevertheless, comedy fans are likely chomping at the bit to see this movie. As Burt Wonderstone, Carrell plays a traditional illusionist – a David Copperfield-esque type – while Carrey plays a new age magician, not unlike Cris Angel. Of course, as the two battle for popularity in the very niche market of magicians, things start to escalate well beyond card tricks and sleight of hand. Also, those wigs on Carell and Steve Buscemi, who plays Wonderstone's assistant in the film, are ridiculous. Check out the trailer for The Incredible Burt Wonderstone.

March 22nd: Admission

March 2013 Preview - Admission Loosely based on the novel by Jean Korelitz, Admission stars Tina Fey as a Princeton admissions officer who's a little too generous with her "deny" stamp. However, when she reconnects with a former classmate, played by Paul Rudd, her icy exterior begins to melt away. Admission has all the makings of a fairly basic romantic comedy, but Korelitz's novel touches upon some subject matter that the trailers don't overtly address. We don't want to give anything away, but know that this is more than the basic love story. That said, even if the film doesn't do the novel justice, the presence of Rudd and Fay in a comedy is likely enough for audiences to take notice. Check out the trailer for Admission.

March 22nd: Olympus Has Fallen

March 2013 Preview - Olympus Has Fallen One of two action films releasing this year set in or around the White House, Olympus Has Fallen features Gerard Butler as a disgraced Secret Service agent who is also the only man that can save the President. This movie has generic action film written all over it, but the presence of director Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) could put action fans in the seats. Additionally, we wouldn't be surprised if audiences made their way to the theaters thinking they were about to sit down for a film starring Jamie Foxx and Channing Tatum -- which could work in Olympus' favor. Just to be clear, this film features Aaron Eckhart as the President – the Foxx/Tatum flick is White House Down. Unfortunately, it's usually the first film out of the gate – the one that is rushed out to beat its competition – that performs the weakest at the box office. Check out the trailer for Olympus Has Fallen.

March 29th: G.I. Joe: Retaliation

March 2013 Preview - GI Joe Retaliation We'll be honest: After a delay into 2013 and talk of 3D post-conversion arose, things were not looking good for G.I. Joe: Retaliation. Whether it was bad test screenings, an unhappy studio, or any combination therein, something about Retaliation apparently wasn't up to snuff. Considering the first film was mostly panned by moviegoers and critics alike, things looked even worse. That said, there's still a large group of G.I Joe fans left out there who'd like to see this film get it right. And so Paramount is taking the "do-over" route – eliminating most of the first film's cast (save for Channing Tatum and a few others) and replacing them with The Rock and Bruce Willis. Will the gamble pay off? It's hard to tell, but at least ninjas fighting on the side of a mountain should look cool. Check out the trailer for G.I. Joe: Retaliation.

March 29th: The Host

March 2013 Preview - The Host Like the book on which it is based, a major draw for The Host is the involvement of Twilight author Stephenie Meyer. However, the parallels between The Host and the teen vampire franchise are few and far between. This film's story centers on a future where Earth has been colonized by a parasitic alien race called "Souls," which inhabit human bodies and control them. Saoirse Ronan plays Melanie in the film, a human that is "implanted" with a soul named Wanderer - but unlike most possessed humans, Melanie is different. Her feelings for a boy named Jared keep Wanderer from taking full control over her body, and preserves her humanity. With visionary director Andrew Niccol (Gattaca) behind the camera, and an intriguing premise, The Host could easily be a solid sci-fi film for young teens. However, with those aforementioned Twilight connections, it's hard not to dismiss the film outright. Check out the trailer for The Host.

9 Movies We're Looking Forward To: March 2013

GI Joe Retaliation Poster March looks to be a solid mix of big budget blockbusters, a few intriguing dramas, and two films about magicians. Although these are the March releases that caught our eye, there are a few other films releasing next month worth mentioning, including The Croods, The Call, 21 & Over, and Tyler Perry's Temptation: Confessions of a Marriage Counselor. With stiff competition between Jack the Giant Slayer, Oz the Great and Powerful, and G.I. Joe 2, which film do you think will win the month of March? Or will The Host use the Twilight fanbase to trump them all?
  • March 1: Jack the Giant Slayer, The Last Exorcism: Part 2
  • March 8: Oz the Great and Powerful, Dead Man Down
  • March 15: The Incredible Burt Wonderstone
  • March 22: Admission, Olympus Has Fallen
  • March 29: G.I. Joe: Retaliation, The Host
TAGS: admission, dead man down, gi joe 2, jack the giant killer, olympus has fallen, the great and powerful oz, the host, The Incredible Burt Wonderstone, the last exorcism 2

36 Comments

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

  1. I’ll be taking my daughter to Oz for her birthday. And then it looks like I’ll be seeing G.I. Joe for my birthday…but I just may change my mind and see the Incredible Burt Wonderstone instead. Decisions decisions…

    • I’ll see OZ and G.I. Joe as well, not sure about anything else.

      • I want to see all of them but admission, olympus, and the last exorcism.. All the rest interest me for one reason or another.

        • Seriously? ur skipping Olympus? Man, to me that looks epic… Ur opinion tho

  2. Looks like its going to be a weak months unless something suprises me

  3. GI Joe: Retaliation will be better than the first. But that’s not saying much. I don’t think it will be a movie anyone remembers unless for being bad.

    • I don’t know, I enjoyed GI Joe, though as a simple and fun movie as all Stephen Sommers films are (talking about The Mummy, even liked the Scorpion King when I watched it on TV), and I’m generally not easily impressed, though I’m not always looking for something like Inception in every movie. But yes, I’m not a GI Joe fan or anything, so I was simply watching it like any other movie, haha. It did have various issues, but a fun ride in the end.

  4. It’s a shame they couldn’t have made Oz a rated ‘G’ movie like the original Wizard of Oz.

    Also, it’s typical of Hollywood to simultaneously create not one, but two movies that will showcase the destruction of the White House; the greatest symbol of Democracy in the world. *sigh*

    I’ll probably even go see the Olympus Has Fallen movie, since I’m a fan of Gerard Butler, but still, why not pick on some other well known world political monument. It was refreshing seeing the Kremlin destroyed in Ghost Protocol, however I guess they figured it was time to get back to slapping America around again.

  5. I’ll be watching most of these, not The Host though. When I saw its trailer for the first time and the girl started speaking her lines in the background, I thought “wow, that’s some poor acting”. Then, the trailer said this was The Host by Stephenie Meyer, and it all fell into place – seems we’ll see poor acting on all movies made on her books. Even the acting by others in the trailer looked off.

    But I could be wrong, I’ll be waiting for reviews. But yeah, seems it will be more Twilight (which I can’t bear) than sci-fi.

  6. On the one hand, I don’t have much hope for The Host having a particularly interesting story or set of characters, even if it did have a premise less annoying than Twilight. But on the other, I really like Gattaca, and I wouldn’t like to think that Andrew Niccol would take up an unworthy project – I didn’t see In Time, but people seem to generally think it had a cool premise with the execution falling short.

  7. Olympus Has Fallen looks the best of the line-up. An action movie for adults.

    • Id say the worse of the bunch, horid cgi more asians taking over america, gerad butler cant act and it looks illogical and silly

      • Lol, sorry Adam but Trey is right. Even with the great Freeman in there, it looks cheesy as hell.

    • yeah dude olympus looks like a cheese-fest. I’m rooting for those 2 that come out on the 8th. Both of those look especially intriguing to me.

  8. Evan Almighty? Profitable? The movie BARELY made its money back.

    • wow yeah you’re right! if we trust boxofficemojo… its cuz that movie was not only terrible it was a terrible sequel. It was nothing like the original. What made the original good? jim carrey, raunchy jokes, funny skits with his powers. So you make a sequel without jim carrey, for kids, in which the protagonist is NOT truly almighty. I don’t know how they thought that would be profitable.

  9. Not really interested in any of these flicks. Guess I’ll wait for Screen Rant’s reviews before I check out any of these movies.

  10. Really hoping Dead Man Down is the first good movie post Oscars, but have a feeling it may disappoint.

    • It doesn’t ;)

  11. gonna see gi joe im one the few that liked the first one cant wait for this one. And maybe ill see jack the giant slayer that looks good

  12. G.I. Joe: Retaliation (One of the few who really liked the original)
    Olympus Has Fallen (Looks like a fun action film no matter how ridiculous the plot seems)
    The Incredible Burt Wonderstone (Jim Carrey and Olivia Wilde)
    Oz the Great and Powerful (Maybe)
    Jack the Giant Slayer (Maybe, the first teaser was really impressive, but everything since then seems cheesy)

  13. GI Joe and The Host opening the same weekend. UGH. That’s the weekend I AVOID theaters.

  14. Nobody should go see The Host.

  15. I’m going for Oz and that Gerard Butler flick simply because he didn’t look like his usual self.
    And is it just me, or the final MORE>> button links to the list of March 2012?

    • Whoops… apparently it’s just a random link to other page. My bad

  16. Dead Man Down and maybe Burt Wonderstone but the rest looks really bad! The Host has Saoirse Ronan Though and she’s always great!

  17. I am genuinely excited about G.I.Joe: Retaliation.
    The Incredible Burt Wonderstone looks just about like a can’t miss.
    I’m not an Oz fan, and not sure about James Franco, but a number of things about Oz the Great and Powerful do look compelling.
    Host could be good. Intriguing premise, Saoirse Ronan…Stephanie Meyer notwithstanding…I will wait for the home video on that one probably.
    That’s about it.

    Jack the Giant Slayer sure looks horrible.

  18. The trailers for Jack the Giant Slayer haven’t looked good but it’s been getting some decent reviews so I might check it out.

  19. I just wanna skip to Man of Steel. That is what I’m looking forward to.
    In the mean time, thank God Game Of Thrones is coming up soon, should get me close enough to MoS.

  20. The Incredible Burt Wonderstone: The Prestige on Laughing Gas

  21. Sure glad I read this might have missed ‘Dead Man Down’ My girls want to see ‘OZ’ on one of their birthdays so that’s a must. I want to see ‘G.I. Joe’ if for no other reason than to see The Rock act alongside Bruce but I think I’ll wait for a review…

  22. No Love for Tyler Perry’s Temptation?
    Out on 3/29/13

  23. The only two films on this list I’m really excited for are Oz and Dead Man Down. But even those I’m cautiously optimistic about. A lot of the films coming out in March look like they could go either way. I’m probably most excited for The Place Beyond the Pines personally, but I’m not sure if it’s getting a wide or limited release. Do you guys know?

  24. OK. Seriously?

    You compare Steve Carrell and Steve Buscemi to David Copperfield?

    Because when I watched the (wretchedly unfunny) trailer, all I could think was “Sigfried & Roy without a tiger”.

  25. DEAD MAN DOWN
    will be amazing!

  26. Almost all of the

    things you point out happens to be supprisingly

    precise and that makes me ponder the reason why
    I hadn’t

    looked at this in this light previously. This article truly did

    turn the light on for me as far as this

    subject matter goes. Nonetheless at this time there is actually 1 issue I am not necessarily too comfortable with

    so while I try to reconcile that with the central theme of the position, let me observe what the

    rest of the readers have to say.Well done.