4 Movies We’re Looking Forward To: June 2014

Published 2 months ago by , Updated June 1st, 2014 at 1:42 pm,

June Movie Preview 4 Movies Were Looking Forward To: June 2014

While the month of June might be decidedly light in terms of overall film selection, it more than makes up for that with some of the biggest releases of the entire year. May already set the tone with some big debuts, but we suspect that June has some worthy contenders not just for highest grossing movie of the year, but also the biggest opening weekend.

For our purposes, though, it’s about quality, and in that regard, June has us excited. Admittedly, the month is a little overstuffed with sequels, but for the most part these are sequels to some truly enjoyable films.

So, without further ado, here are the 4 movies we’re looking forward to this month:

-

Edge of Tomorrow (Release Date: June 6th)

June Preview Edge of Tomorrow 4 Movies Were Looking Forward To: June 2014

If there’s one truly bankable star left working in the business it’s Tom Cruise. While he may not always strike it big at the domestic box office, Cruise continues to kill it overseas. With that in mind, we expect big things from Edge of Tomorrow, Cruise’s first big-budget summer blockbuster in almost 5 years.

Boasting an intriguing, Groundhog Day-esque conceit, a talented director, and a strong female lead, Edge of Tomorrow has all the makings of another Tom Cruise hit. Sure, there are elements that feel borrowed from other movies (and even video games), but with Cruise in the driver’s seat it’s hard not be at least a tiny bit excited. Not to mention early reviews for the film peg it as perfect action movie fodder.

Check out the trailer for Edge of Tomorrow.

-

22 Jump Street (Release Date: June 13th)

June Preview 22 Jump Street 4 Movies Were Looking Forward To: June 2014

Two years ago, directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller hit it big with the action comedy 21 Jump Street, based on the ’80s TV series of the same name. The film was original in its execution, smart with its comedy, and had two strong leads in the form of Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill. Its sequel, the appropriately titled 22 Jump Street, looks to up the ante in all the right ways, with bigger stakes, bigger action, and presumably bigger laughs. More importantly, all of the original cast and crew are back on board to ensure this follow-up does right by its fans.

Where 21 Jump Street focused on the PG-13/R-rated debauchery of high school, 22 Jump Street sees Jenko (Tatum) and Schmidt (Hill) headed off to the solid R, possibly NC-17, world of college on a new undercover case. It might seem like a knock to say that we hope 22 Jump Street offers more of the same, but it’s a testament to the original film’s strong writing and acting. These are characters who can seemingly spin comedy gold out of almost any situation, and we can’t wait to see what their next adventure entails

Check out the trailer for 22 Jump Street.

-

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Release Date: June 13th)

June Preview How to Train Your Dragon 2 4 Movies Were Looking Forward To: June 2014

The first How to Train Your Dragon was, simply put, one of the best animated films to release in the last decade. It’s sweeping score, beautiful cinematography, and grounded story went way beyond what we expect from the genre and established a new tone for non-Pixar films moving forward. Unfortunately, the film fell short of winning the Best Animated film Oscar, despite many feeling it was the most deserving.

But, with no Pixar film to be found this year, How to Train Your Dragon 2 has a clear path to the podium, and should take home the gold if this sequel is even half as good as its predecessor. Of course, we’re just as eager to see the continued adventures of Hiccup and Toothless as the two delve deeper into dragon mythology. If you’re looking for the family-friendly hit of the summer, How to Train Your Dragon 2 looks to fit the bill nicely. And it should make big money at the box office.

Check out the trailer for How to Train Your Dragon 2.

-

Transformers: Age of Extinction (Release Date: June 27th)

June Preview Transformers 4 4 Movies Were Looking Forward To: June 2014

Easily the biggest release of the summer, if not the year, Transformers: Age of Extinction has big shoes to fill. But rather than play it safe and continue with the original trilogy’s storylines, director Michael Bay has decided to craft a new saga for the robots in disguise, one that sees the Transformers living in a time where their presence is detested. As you might expect, a new robotic threat forces Optimus and his crew out of hiding, and they find themselves teaming up with Mark Wahlberg’s character to once again save the planet.

While a new cast of Autobots and Decepticons should have fans excited, it is the first onscreen appearance of the Dinobots that has been garnering the most attention. It’s taken four movies for Bay to get there, but he is finally ready to deliver what the fans want. If the shots of Optimus riding Grimlock are any indication, Age of Extinction could very well be a fanboy’s dream brought to life.

Check out the trailer for Transformers: Age of Extinction.

-

Conclusion

edge tomorrow tom cruise reviews 4 Movies Were Looking Forward To: June 2014

Say what you will about Transformers as a franchise, but Michael Bay’s latest spectacle-filled blockbuster is poised to make the biggest splash in 2014. All three Transformers films have grossed more than $300 million domestic and over $700 million worldwide. In fact, the most recent release, Dark of the Moon, is a member of the $1 billion club. In other words, even if Age of Extinction falls short, it should have no problem leaving its mark.

That being said, we expect big things – both quality-wise and financially – out of all of four of these June releases. Each film has its own appeals, and three are follow-ups to hugely successful films. Could one, or even two, fall short of expectations? Sure, but it’s more likely that June stands out as another huge movie-going month.

There are also a handful of June releases that didn’t make our list, but might still be worth seeing in the theater. There’s the surefire tearjerker The Fault in Our Stars (June 6th), which has the star power of Shailene Woodley behind it. The Clint Eastwood-directed adaptation of the Tony Award-winning musical Jersey Boys (June 20th) is a risky bet, but it’s never wise to discount the power of the musical. And Think Like a Man Too (June 20th) has this year’s breakout star, Kevin Hart, so we wouldn’t be surprised to see this one make a play for the top spot in its opening weekend.

But what about you? Which June releases are you most looking forward to? Which film do you think will make the most money at the box office?

Once again, here are the 4 movies we’re looking forward to this month:

  • June 6: Edge of Tomorrow
  • June 13th: 22 Jump Street, How to Train Your Dragon 2
  • June 27th: Transformers: Age of Extinction

__________________________________________________

Follow Anthony on Twitter @ANTaormina

Get our free email alerts on the topics and author of this article:
TAGS: 22 Jump Street, edge of tomorrow, how to train your dragon 2, transformers 4

86 Comments

Post a Comment

  1. gonna skip this month on watching at the theatre but i would have been gladly to see edge of tomorrow and transformers

    july on the other hand has must sees at the show

  2. Edge of Tomorrow has already been released in Europe.
    I saw it last night in London.
    Edge of Tomorrow is an awesome film! I think i might have preferred it to Days of Future Past.
    The opening 2 thirds is super awesome. its the final act where it wobbles a bit, and i’m not sure i really get the logic behind the ending. like at all! I’m confused, and so are most other people who have seen it.
    Still a great film imho. 4 out of 5 stars from me!

    • Edge of tomorrow was certainly a fun film and well worth seeing. Tom Cruise is pretty good as is Emily Blunt. Good story good action sequences, but I disagree with you about it being better than Days of future past, that for me was the best blockbuster I have seen this year. Edge of tomorrow was certainly more entertaining than Godzilla, and way way better than Amazing Spiderman 2

  3. Well of course I’m going to say Snowpiercer. :)

  4. Jersey Boys….anyone?

    • Pirate I agree. Jersey Boys all the way. Always a fan of the Four Seasons.

  5. I’m sorry but Transformers 4 is not the biggest release of the summer. Especially for the year. Did they forget about X-Men: Days of Future Past? How about the upcoming Guardians of the Galaxy, which is in the Marvel cinematic universe? Which also had Captain America: Winter Solider. It was not released in the summer, but it did come out this year. Transformers 4 will definitely not be the biggest release of this summer or year. Such a bias article.

    • I see no bias. It is true. It is going to be one of the biggest, if not the biggest, film of the summer. Perhaps, even year, like they mentioned. The MCU may be popular now, but nothing within it besides The Avengers can stand up to Transformers.

    • …I think they are speaking from a financial standpoint. CA:TWS and DoFP have/will do gangbusters. But as the writer implies, the Transformers franchise has proven itself to go to the next level on ticket sales. There’s no argument on which movie is better than another … it’s all ’bout dem duckets, yo!

    • If the article was biased it would be based on what movie I personally think is the biggest movie of the summer. But, it’s not.

      Transformers 4 is expected to open with the highest total and have the biggest final box office tally when 2014 is over. It’s for those reasons that it should be labeled as the biggest release of the summer. Will it deliver? I have no idea, but some movie has to take the label.

      Just because Transformers has the highest gross for 2014 doesn’t mean those Marvel movies you clearly enjoy are any less good.

    • guardians of galaxy bigger than transformers 4? is that a joke

    • Only the Hunger Games: Mocking jay part 1 this fall will out gross T4 (HG over $400, T4 between $300 and $400)

  6. I think, especially in the vain of the Transformers franchise, we and you need to stop Praising movies as “leaving their mark” based on the amount of money they make. The Transformer Franchise thus far is an embarresment to something that should of been amazing. So many bad movies, mostly ones that are based on existing popular properites make tonnes of money but esentially are very terrible films. Money is Automatic these days when it comes to these types of films. Shouldnt a film be credited on leaving a mark on the merits of the acutal movie??? not the amount of money it makes!!!!

  7. Wow, if thats the best Hollywood has to offer, people need to be fired. Make a movie a family can go to that isn’t an animated film, like most of the films this media group seems to think were the wrong ten films to win Academy Awards. All that blowing up stuff is for imbeciles or adolescents. Make movies for intelligent people, please!

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

Be Social, Follow Us!!