‘Iron Man 3′ Trailer Preview: New Hairstyle, New Armor, New Antagonist [Updated]

Published 1 year ago by , Updated October 23rd, 2012 at 12:23 am,

Barely a day after Robert Downey Jr. returned to the set of Iron Man 3 after suffering a leg injury which kept him away from production for over a month did we find out that it wouldn’t be long before fans would get their first official look at the film. And we’re not just talking about more production photos or promotional artwork. On Tuesday, October 23rd the first full-length Iron Man 3 trailer will be released by Disney and Marvel Studios, and the first sneak peek preview has surfaced a little early thanks to the support of eager fans.

For the last few days, users could go to the official Iron Man Facebook page and ‘like’ it in an effort to help re-energize Tony Stark’s Arc Reactor, and when that power bar hit 100%, a preview would release. That happened earlier today and we now get a glimpse at how Iron Man will play under the new direction of Shane Black. Although brief, many of the scenes are elements of larger clips presented at the Iron Man 3 Comic-Con presentation earlier this summer. Some of the scenes also match previously reported trailer descriptions, including of course, the new Extremis armor design, a look at Ben Kingsley’s Mandarin costume and the scene where Iron Man has to save a group of falling people.

[Update: Here is the second trailer preview, featuring Guy Pearce and Don Cheadle's faces]

In the few seconds of footage there are unfortunately no shots of War Machine and his new armor to be found, nor any of the other new key characters, including Guy Pearce’s Aldrich Killian and Rebecca Hall’s Maya Hansen. At least the new armor design plays well in live-action so hopefully that’ll ease skepticism about its color scheme. Stay tuned into Screen Rant for the full trailer release and our breakdown on Tuesday.

Official Iron Man 3 plot synopsis:

Marvel Studios’ “Iron Man 3″ pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man?

Iron Man 3 Trailer Logo Iron Man 3 Trailer Preview: New Hairstyle, New Armor, New Antagonist [Updated]

[Update: Watch the full Iron Man 3 trailer here.]

Iron Man 3 is directed by Shane Black based off of his and Drew Pearce’s screenplay, and stars Robert Downey Jr., Ben Kingsley, Don Cheadle, Gwyneth Paltrow, Guy Pearce, Jon Favreau, Rebecca Hall, William Sadler, James Badge Dale and the voice of Paul Bettany.

Iron Man 3 releases May 3, 2013, Thor: The Dark World on November 8, 2013, Captain America: The Winter Soldier on April 4, 2014, Guardians of the Galaxy on August 1, 2014The Avengers 2 on May 1, 2015 and Ant-Man on November 6, 2015.

-

Follow Rob on Twitter @rob_keyes.

TAGS: iron man, iron man 3

127 Comments

Post a Comment

  1. I like the new armor color scheme. I know I’m in the minority, but I’m a little tired of the usual gold and red palette. That brief part of Iron Man 2 where the Silver Centrioun armor was shown was awesome. I’d love to see, say, Cap’s U.S. Agent costume (red, white, and black) or Thor’s light blue armor. If they do it right, it could be totally cool and not look ridiculous.

    • Ironman looks like he plays for the San Francisco 49ers. lol.

      • LOL…yeah he does. Now starting at left tackle Tony Stark, the Invincible Iron Man lol

      • I have to admit, that is a near perfect analogy.

      • Aww man. Now this armor really sucks. lol.

    • that´s also his armour in the extremis series,not 1 to 1 but simmilaire to that. it looks fresh and cool.

  2. IT DID MORE THAN TEASE ME, SO I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO THE FULL TRAILER.

    • Thats what she said.

      • LOL

      • lol

  3. Looks awesome, I hope Iron Man shows his humanity more in this installment (something he should have done already in Iron Man 2, but Joss Whedon had to do it for Jon Favreau because the man I doubt even knew how).

    • IM2 was Marvel Studios fault. Jon Faverau had a much better, Tony Stark centered film planned.

      • Correctamundo!

    • How so?

      • Well Faverua wanted to create a very Tony Stark film – a new interpretation of Demon in the Bottle. He didn’t want War Machine, SHIELD, Black Widow and two villains in the film. That was all Marvel Studios doing. They should have just made a SHIELD movie instead of IM2, honestly.

    • I don’t get why everyone gives IM 2 a bad credit. It’s a cool movie.

      • I know. It was brought down a little trying too hard to set up Shield, Nick Fury, and Black Widow for the Avengers. But I actually gave it slightly more credit than the first Iron Man. Lots more good Iron Man action and a pretty solid storyline of him trying to rise above slowly dying and becoming alcoholic.

      • It wasn’t emotionally resonant. IM 1 was introducing Tony Stark, so it didn’t need to be powerful or anything. IM 2 was silly with some cool scenes, but why didn’t they explore Tony Stark? In The Avengers (when Joss Whedon had such little time to explore each character) had the decency to show that Tony Stark wasn’t selfish, and nearly sacrificed himself to save the whole city. Iron Man 2 should’ve done this, though it was a GREAT addition to The Avengers.

      • I liked IM2 and still like watching it. I consider it to be bridging type story and love quite a few scenes in it. If I changed anything, it would be to NOT have done Whiplash as they did, especially sticking him into armor, but I don’t have any real complaints :P

      • It is a cool movie. I consider it Avengers: Part 1. :-P

  4. So everyone was right. The suit colors do look better in motion. Lol I like it I can’t wait for Tuesday! And Monday we get the teaser poster correct?

    Loving the look of this movie very muchly! Can’t wait for the full trailer to give better insights!

  5. Cautiously optimistic after the debacle that was IM2. Shane Black’s involvement gives hope though. He was the one who helped create the first IronMan with some very important suggestions.

  6. Looks awesome!! Then agian it’s not that hard to make 17 seconds look awesome.

    • My wife would agree……WAIT!

      I think I went to far :P

  7. Yessss!! This looks so awesome.

  8. This movie will suck. In the comics, Iron Man isn’t played by Robert Downey Jr.

      • …wait..What?…lets just look at this a little longer and see if the logic slaps him in the face.

    • That doesn’t make any sense ahahaha

    • I agree, WHY CAN”T THEY CAST ACTORS INTO COMIC BOOKS!!!! DAMN YOU, MARVEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Lol They did with Samuel L. Jackson :)

    • Its just a joke people …lol

      • Hopefully…

    • Lol

  9. So… we’ve got a trailer of a trailer?

    • Apparently that a thing now man. Weird but it’s a thing.

    • Yeah, I find that pretty stupid. That said, I watched and enjoyed it. :-)

      • Me too.

    • It’s a teaser really

  10. This new preview for the trailer craze is stupid IMO.

    • i don´t wanna sound snobbish,but you mustn´t watch it. no offense :)

      • I didn’t watch it lol

  11. I HATE trailers for trailers!! And I hate myself for being a sucker and watching them!

    • I know dat feel bro

      • Translator online: I’m in total agreement with your assertion. My emotions are on the same level.

        :-D

        • Word.

          Translation: I agree with what was previously stated.

  12. I agree trailer previews are mega gay!! But it has wet my apetite, wasn’t a big fan of Iron Man 2, wasn’t epic enough for me

    • Not that there’s anything wrong with that. :-)

  13. I am so freakin’ excited for the full trailer!! Tuesday can’t come soon enough!

    I loved this!

  14. looks awesome!! after seeing this teaser i have a feeling that pepper might die <.<

  15. Sorry but how ridiculous it is with teasers of trailers, it’s a trend i loathe, now they are spoiling trailers for goodness sake. It’s marketing gone mad. I love trailers, but teasers of 3 min trailers is just Monty Python type stuff. It’s like they are running out out of marketing ideas and someone blurted out “i know, trailers….of…trailers!” at a brainstorming meeting.

    • and yet, here you are, talking about it, after, i’m assuming, watching the preview of the preview, so you are just as silly as the rest of us. :)

      • Oh yeah won’t deny that, i’m a sucker for things you click on, buts lets admit, we could really do without these 17 secs of nothing but money shots from the trailer.

    • Well, with the concept of advertising a date for the release of a trailer, the addition of a “commercial” for the trailer makes perfect sense. Marketing for films is just crazy nowadays, with everyone walking around with camera phones and people constantly leaking things onto the internet, I see this concept as the film makers trying to retake control over the sharing of the product.

      The whole idea of knowing when to first see a trailor for a movie is just mind-boggling to me. As a kid, the thrill of catching a preview on tv or even the radio for the first time was amazing – not even knowing the movie was coming out at all…

    • I don’t know. The teaser trailer for Star Trek (2009) really got me excited; so did the one for Iron Man. I am someone who is concerned for MoS, but the teaser showing him flying at mach speed calmed some of that ambivalence.

  16. bad***

  17. yes, cool i did made some screen-shots. at first,woow the suit,two words:just cool. and i did made a screenshot of -mandarin- from behind, he is wearing the iconic suit from the comics,but he has got no 10 rings on his fingers(grounded/realism),i just hope that they give us a genius villain with – the mandarin-.

    • I don’t think there is anything real about a hammer that controls lightning lol

      • Or a man that increases his mass (and strength) about 20 times in about 10 seconds.

        HULK SMASH REALISM!!!

        8-)

  18. Was it my imagination or did I saw a glimpse of Pepper ready to go in , or tested te Rescue Me suit!

    • Nah I think she is just in a harness so that she can’t run away. She doesn’t exactly look comfortable in the few seconds you see her. Kinda like she is being tortured or something.

  19. The new armor would work for me if it wasn’t such a bland yellow. Remember that brief scene in the first Iron Man, when Stark was working on the suit and on the computer there is a CGI model of it. Right before he says “and put a little hot-rod red in there” you see the armor, but just gold. If THAT was what the new armor looked like in this film (with a more shiney gold look) I think it would look cool. But, the yellow here is just really bland to me.

    • But he went on to say, a little ostentatious don’t you think? A bright and shiny gold like that would be really in your face compared to the duller gold. True I reckon they should have made the shade darker because this gold looks like the kind that you don’t want on your car.

    • Actually, the Mark II was silver. Not gold.

      • When he was working on the Mark III *on his computer* and was looking at the paint job it was going to be all gold. Then he said to put some hotrod red in it, which gave him the color scheme the Mark III ended up with. Thats what @Robert was saying.

  20. Do any of you guys recommend any Mandarin reads? or any that inspire the story in Iron Man 3? I know Extremis inspires the story, I’ve read it but is there a particular Mandarin story you guys would recommend to read?

    • There are multiple Iron Man mandarin storylines, but for something different, x-men 256-258, wolvie fights mandarin. nice, also an acts of vengence tie-in.

      • Thinks for the suggestion Pitt, sounds interesting. Would you recommend the story of Haunted?

    • A couple of good recent Mandarin stories are in The Invincible Iron Man Vol 7: My Monsters, and Iron Man: Director of SHIELD: Haunted, Arturo. The Mandarin tries to release the Extremis virus globally in the latter. IM: Enter The Mandarin is a 2007 rejigging of his first appearance. IM: Dragon Seed Saga is a more old school job from the early ’90s (this is the one the Mandarin loses his hands in). Ten Rings To Rule The World from Iron Man 95-100 established him as IM’s premier behind-the-scenes villain (at least until Justin Hammer), but I don’t think that storyline’s been collected yet.

      • Thanks dentist, they sound like good reads. I have been hearing good recommendations about Haunted and Ten Rings to Rule the World. Haunted sounds like it might have inspired some ideas to this film.

        • There’s definitely a lot of material in it they could fit into the movie without too much trouble, although by this point the Mandarin has artificial Stark-tech hands and the rings fused into his spine. Oh yeah, the previous volume (just called IM: Director of SHIELD) is worth getting as well. It sets up the Mandarin’s plan, shows Stark mishandling his directorship – leading to having to face him wearing his old outdated armour – and contains some nice backup reprints, including the Lee/Kirby first appearance of Nick Fury, Agent of SHIELD. Can’t be bad!

  21. The Mandarin (I assume) is cocking a gun and does not have any rings on. Anyone else catch that?

  22. looks like Tony has gained fame after the events in New York the Avengers. Maybe the press is trying to get a statement from him after his Malibu home is destroyed. Mandarin shot, he eventually takes Pepper Potts hostage, his new armor in the Avengers Tower armory, and finally him dive bombing towards the Mandarin’s “Army” of enhanced villains…

  23. Still not real stoked on the cream-colored armour.

  24. Wow. Look at all those people bitching about this teaser or the color of the suit. Those people will be the same ones drooling over the movie at the cinema and telling others how much it sucked on the internet afterwards, just like they did with the second one. And those people will be the first in line to buy the DVD or Blu Ray.

    • can you please stop it, to throw just negative comments here. i mean you are not commenting for a whole while,and then 1 or 3 times in a week you come in and you think your opinion stands over all other opinions or knowings about the things we talk.

  25. Wow. So now we have teaser trailers for teaser trailers

    • -wow.so now we have teaser trailers for teaser trailers- . 2.-this new preview for the trailer sake is terrible-. 3.- so,we have a trailer before a trailer-. alright, we have understand it now !

  26. Who cares if its a trailer for the trailer. The more revealed the better! I love the new armor design, its about time we get something more variated. I wished they would bring on the Hulkbuster armor or the stealth armor but oh well, this looks awesome.

  27. I can’t wait for the teaser of the teaser of the trailer of Thor 2, those 1.23 seconds are soooo gonna worth it!

    • I hear ya there. Out of the three sequel films coming, Thor: The Dark World is the one I’m looking forward to most.

    • I was being sarcastic,nothing against thor thou.

      • thor thou

        Is that a crack on our favorite Asgardian?

        “Shakespeare in the park”

        ;-)

  28. Loving the new do, Rob. I can’t believe I got so excited for less than 18 seconds of film.

  29. Looks like a creepy “MANDARIN” although I`m not sure lets just wait and see who he really is pretty sure is him.

    • I enjoy IM 2, It wasn’t as fresh as the IM but the new characters were well portrayed just like I expected

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

Be Social, Follow Us!!